select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
The Village at Overton Park ▷ Reviews
Back to Previous

The Village at Overton Park


Grade: of 75 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Feb 2019: Getting someone to actually take your call or return your call would constitute as a Miracle. They all pass the buck, Brittany Sangwin the GM and Mary Sauceda and Sara Kane have not resolved the easiest of problems for me. I continue to try to reach out to no end. I just want to be done. My son graduated 8/11 and we cleaned out his apt and returned his key and parking pass on 8/12 and today I got a bill for him not returning his key which we handed to Kayleigh on Aug 12th. Please parents read the fine print. Do not sign anything without truly reading the fine print. They push this property as student housing but they don't tell you that they rent to other and my son ended up with a 41 year old man as his roommate that was not a student which was not what we imagined when we moved him in. So be warned. I only gave it a 2 star rating du Review from Google
Dec 2018: I have been waiting to post a review in hopes that my mind would be changed... BUT DO NOT SIGN AT THE VILLAGES!!! This is my 3rd and final year here, and I have quite possibly the worst roommate ever and NOTHING has been done on their end. I have complained to the villages multiple times, even sat down for an hour long meeting with the manager, and still nothing has been done. I constantly get told "we will contact her" or "we will give her a warning" but the same things keep happening over and over. She has broken almost EVERY SINGLE lease violation and not even a fine was given. These include but are not limited to: throwing dog poop off of our balcony, leaving trash all around the apartment, putting trash in front of other people's doors and around the complex, having FOUR, not one, FOUR dogs in our tiny apartment at once, not locking the d Review from Google
Nov 2018: It’s a nice place to live and great location. But we’ve had water damage in our apartment for weeks now because of rain, when repair men come they literally walk in and say “yep there’s water damage”. But my main issue with this place is the WiFi IS ALWAYS DOWN. The WiFi randomly goes down for hours at a time, like right now, forcing me to go sit in Starbucks to do my home work instead of the comfort of my own home. This is unacceptable for 2018, most of school is online so it’s important for college housing apartment to have decent WiFi. Review from Google
Sep 2018: This is an extremely greedy place! They will take as much money as possible from you and they don't care that they are doing it. When we signed the lease, we were informed that the price would be going up the next day. This made us sign up immediately after she said this but we came back the next day and the rent had gone down 100 dollars. So basically we were screwed out of $1,200 over the year. We also got stuck with a fourth random roommate who was on the football team and always smoked weed. We brought this issue up to management several times and they never did anything. We also moved in and the living room and kitchen were so disgusting I couldn't even imagine it being any worse. We just moved out finally and just got charged around $300 for damages in the common area which we had put on our move in sheet was already damaged before hand. Review from Google
Sep 2018: RUN do not walk from this place! We had a terrible experience. Multiple issues with the A/C that took days to fix. At one point it was over 90 degrees in the apartment. There were overages in months we were not even at the apartment, sighting the fridge running during the summer caused the overages, and over christmas break it was because the energy is high in Lubbock. Drains clogged, Dishwasher, disposal AND cable issues that were never dealt with timely. BUT the worst part is when she had stuff stolen over the summer from someone with access to the apartment - and they refuse responsibilty and asked me to file on insurance! We had the place cleaned and they want to charge $75 for the bathroom and $175 for the bedroom cleaning!?? It was spotless! AGAIN runaway this place is crooked and a sham! Review from Google
Aug 2018: Managers are all incompetent, unwilling to help, and full of hot air. They make things way harder than they need to be. I don't even understand why they have people working in the office, they are literally no help at all. They never know anything. I dread calling them because I know they are going to make my life a living hell even over the simplest thing. It's almost as if they only hire people that lack common sense. I had never EVER experienced such bad customer service. Personally, I can't wait for their inevitable demise. I'm surprised their rating on here isn't lower. I didn't give them less than one star because I couldn't. Review from Google
Jun 2018: Y'all get 1 star for having a nice location. Everything else was a pain in the #$%. ACC, why do you charge US $20 for a "convenience fee?" isn't it a "convenience" for you to get our money faster/sooner? That's a two way street.. And why does it take 3 months to set up direct deposit??? I'm extremely disappointed and filled with regret from living here. Review from Google
Apr 2018: The Village at Overton Park is the best place to live as a student at Texas Tech! Yes, there may be other new properties in the area, however, The Village is literally RIGHT across from the stadium... and Starbucks! On game days I dont have to worry about where to park, instead, I can just walk right across the street. You seriously cannot get a better location than at The Village. Also, the pool is beautiful. 10/10 recommend. Review from Google
📃 News and FAQs Snippet
TEXAS-TECH Related Topics and Questions

Where is the best place to live near Texas Tech? In general it is better to rent a house in Tech Terrace or somewhere else. Sometimes is hard to find the right number of roommates, or singe rooms open. For apartments: 21 hundred: ~$500 new, close to Walmart, good co...read more

What is the difference between a sublease and a relet? The key difference between a sublease and a relet is the involvment of the original leasee. In a sublease, the original leasee is still responsible to the owner. This means there are two legal contracts, one with the original lease...read more

Jan 2018: I've never lived at better student complex, this is my second year living at The Village and I couldn't be happier. All of the staff is super helpful if you ever need anything even after hours there is always someone on call. My apartment is AMAZING!!! It is very large and spacious and was a very quality build. I have a reserved parking spot in the garage which is amazing (especially with this crazy Lubbock weather) If you are looking for housing The Village is the place to live! Review from Google
Jan 2018: Great location and staff! Easy 15 minute walk to anywhere on campus. Pet friendly. Attached parking garage and visitor parking passes that you can sign out for 3 days at a time. Nice pool area and workout gym. Everyone who worked at the front office was very helpful when I sublease my place. Actual apartments are nice but the appliances are a little run down. Even those they say utilities are free you will most likely have to pay an overcharge fee of $3-$9 dollars every month. Review from Google
Jan 2018: This is my first year living at The Village at Overton Park, but I have already renewed for next year and most likely will renew the for the following. I love living right across from campus and especially The Jones during football season. I have never had any problems with the staff. They are super friendly and always answer any questions I have. Having a parking garage is definitely a plus, as it protects your vehicle from the harsh Lubbock weather, minus the dust storms. There is no escaping a dusty vehicle! Overall a great place to live! Review from Google
Jan 2018: I have enjoyed living here at The Villages at Overton Park. Everyone is very friendly. Maintenance usually responds day of or the next day. Decent price for how great the location is. They offer a bus system to campus which is extremely convenient. The only flaws I have experienced is communication from the front desk about rent and sometimes I worry about the safety. Not all of the gates have key fob scanners to be let in but most do. Overall I have enjoyed living here and have resigned my lease for the following year. Review from Google
Jan 2018: Convenient location to campus and the football stadium. Lots of food places walking distance. Maintenance is usually punctual on coming to fix the orders placed. Small water heater, very easy to run out of hot water. The office staff can be helpful but also have a tendency to lose documents/checks and makes things harder than they need to be. The pool area and gym is really nice though. Review from Google
Jan 2018: I have lived here at the Villages for over a year and I won't be leaving anytime soon. I love how close we are to campus and to the Jones especially on game days. The rooms are great and quiet I never hear my roommates or the people around me. The staff in the office are friendly and always offer to help in anyway that they can. This is a great place for students to live. Review from Google
Jan 2018: I have lived at the Village at Overton Park for the past 4 years and have had no complaints. Apartments are clean and well kept. The staff is very friendly and willing to help any need or accommodations you may have. Maintenance is fast and timely and always willing to help. Gym is well cleaned as is the pool during the summer time. I would highly recommend the Village to anyone who is looking for an affordable and clean place to live that is across the street from campus. Review from Google
Aug 2017: If I could give this corrupt organization a ZERO I would. BUYER BEWARE. YOU'VE BEEN WARNED. 1. It looks good on the outside, and for the first week of school it will be clean to impress you, but the place is pretty much a dump afterward. As a parent, just about every time I visited there were broken beer bottles on the sidewalks, puke on stairways (that wasn't cleaned from month to month), dirty hallways, overflowing dumpster trash, broken elevators (in two years of visiting, they worked twice), and broken security bars in the parking garage. And those are the good things.... 2. After having zero issues paying the monthly rent for OVER A YEAR through my bank's BillPay, in October of last year I started getting these late payment nasty grams. The accountants and other office staff (Evan) blamed it on my bank sending it to the wrong address. So I belie
May 2017: First of all, don't make the mistake of living here. It's beautiful and close to campus; however, they are VERY crooked. 300/600 bedspaces at the Village got overages for the December 15-January 15th billing period for utilities. This is ironic because NO ONE is here during that time! The overages were also roughly $300. The apartment managers gave us the run around when we tried to figure out how, after never having an overage before when everyone was actually IN the apartment, we managed to get a $300 overage. One manager, Emmy, told both my roommate and I that the staff came into our apartment and turned up the AC well past 65' (which they told us to leave it at to avoid pipes busting). Then the other manager, XXXX, told us that Emmy was new and basically didn't know what she was talking about. Review from 5/17/17 on Google
Apr 2017: Absolute crap. There's not even enough room to explain everything bad here..so I'll give you a short list. 1) Charged for electricity before I even moved in. For two months. Oh and they sent me the wrong bill TWICE causing me to have a few of over $120...that I still had to pay...even though it was a clerical error that they admitted too. 2) They never have the gates closed so people will take your spot or come driving in drunk and cause a huge mess 3) The pool/hot tub area is bare of trees and it's surrounded by the complex so all noise bounces off the brick. Review from 4/3/17 on Google
Nov 2016: The whole staff is rude. They treat the whole process like a dorm, me and my four room mates came in and signed a lease together only to be informed that we were all split up when we moved in. The unita are the exact same as the surrounding student housing complexs but are 200-300 more a month than competitors. Maintenance crew has barged into our common area with no knock or prior warning and the security has been very keen on harassing me and my guests but can't seem to stop the huge amount of car break ins that take place. I live in the town home unit and pay $750 a month. Review from 11/12/16 on Google
Nov 2016: The Villages at Overton Park is the absolute worse choice for living. I have never written an online review before this, but I had to express how disgusted I am with the management. The apartment itself looks like a nice place to live, but the management makes living here a nightmare. They have no regard for the residents. They let us move in to a filthy apartment with black floors, pee stains all over the bathroom, and even left over belongings from past residents. They had the audacity to tell me they walked my apartment and it was "up to standard." Well, their standards are unbelievably low. They are unwilling to help with anything and should be fired immediately. I have gotten better service at a Mcdonalds. No amount of words can express my distain for this apartment complex. Review from 11/4/16 on Google
May 2016: Extremely rude and poor management. If something goes wrong with your unit, you will not be treated the same as others were. They refer to it as, "case by case", but it's really just unprofessional and unbelievable, really. I haven't talked to one person that enjoys living here. Everyone I've talked to that currently lives here is leaving and can't wait. The general manager is unbelievably rude and unhelpful. XXXXX is AWESOME. If it wasn't for her, I don't know what I would have done. The manager above her is single handedly the most unprofessional manager I've ever witnessed in any business setting, ever. Also, I payed $30 extra a month to park in the parking garage and multiple cars were broken into every month. Review from 5/30/16 on Google
Apr 2016: The best part about living at The Village is how nice the units are! I love the kitchen and the extra-large community couch in the living area, makes for a great social environment. The staff workers are always kind and always greet you when you walk through the front office! Cassie, Abby, and Victoria are my favorites! And the leasing manager Stefani Henderson is an absolute sweetheart! and even the bookkeeper Sylvia W. was nice enough to remove a late-fee charge for me once :) The worst part about living here is the parking garage. Lucky for me, I park on the first floor and don't have to deal with crazy speeding drivers who are driving down from the upper-levels, however majority of the time I still feel unsafe due to the lack of security cameras! Review from 4/28/16 on Google
Apr 2016: So I wanted to write a review because I have been seeing these ridiculous reviews about this property. I have been living here for 2 years and I have only had one problem during this time. Literally, if you pay your rent on time you will probably not hear from them at all. I have only had problems with the parking garage, but that has nothing to do with the property and everything to do with RESIDENTS running into it. I have actually left my apartment and parking garage was working and came back and it was bent due to someone running into it. I think it is annoying that some residents blame the management for that problem. When it did happen I went to office to ask and the CA's were incredibly friendly and told me that it had just happened and they need someone to come and take a look at it before it could get fixed. Review from 4/17/16 on Google
Feb 2015: Washer and dryer included. The Wi-fi is great here and the capable TV comes with HBO.Our apartment has a balcony which overlook the pool site; which is a beautiful sight both day and night. Need to Workout but the school recreational center is closed? Right down the hall of our unit is a 24 hour fitness facility with all the workout equipment anyone can ask for; not to mention free tanning beds that are useable during day hours. (current resident 2015)
Sep 2014: The villages are right across from Tech campus and the closest living space to Jones Stadium! I love these apartments, there is a workout facility, tanning bed, study lounge, and a huge pool. I think it's the best place to live in Lubbock! All utilities are included. (From a current resident)

Back to Previous

TEXAS-TECH The Village at Overton Park Ads & Subleases





About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap