select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
The Retreat at San Marcos ▷ Reviews

The Retreat at San Marcos


Grade: of 81 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Mar 2019: Don’t put your rent check in their rent drop box. They will claim your rent was late and charge you late fees for their incompetence. Tried to contact the bookkeeper but she never cared to reply.
Feb 2019: It was the worst 2 years of my life. The wiring in the house was so bad that the breaker would trip all the time and our outlets wouldn't work half the time. They tried to blame us for that. Plus the a/c heat never circulated properly and the downstairs was freezing while the upstairs was swealtering..I had terrible, filthy roommates. I could go on with all the issues I had but I won't. Just don't live at this overpriced place.
Feb 2019: I have lived here for two years. It has a slightly higher price tag than the surrounding apartments but you certainly get what you pay for. The staff is awesome. They are always laughing and kind and eager to help. I love going to the office to get a package and running into Toni. She always gives me tons of banter and its always a good time. Its also awesome seeing Kristi at our bus stop handing out free tacos, it definitely makes the day easier. Kelby is always trying to keep us in the know about different promotions that the retreat is doing. If the retreat is hooking up its residents, Kelby will make sure you're there. All of the staff is great. Even the maintenance crew is awesome! They all love to talk and play with my dog when we are out and about. They are quick to help and real efficient. I have loved my two years here at the Retreat. Review from Google
Dec 2018: Thought this would be a great place for my son to live. My son was in a wreck and totaled his vehicle. The night we bought him a new car it was late and he didn't get a parking permit from the Retreat's office. He woke up to his brand new car being towed. The general manager, Evan Clark, was an absolute jerk. I told him we would be moving apartments after this semester. He had the nerve to tell me he was willing to work with me but if this is the way it was going to go, we can just pay the fine. How utterly unprofessional and pathetic. I say avoid the Retreat. They look nice, but you child will not be happy here. Review from Google
Aug 2018: Do not move here. Many issues and hidden fees they won't tell you about. The worst part was receiving my final move out bill for cleaning etc. which I know they didn't do because we helped clean the unit with our boys. As a matter of fact, when we moved in last year, it was dirty so hence the comment. Stay away and as far as a response from The Retreat don't bother for we moved on. I just don't want anyone else to go through that... Review from Google
Aug 2018: As of right I am giving the retreat a one star because I have contacted them on multiple occasions and I keep getting the same girl, Honyay (not sure if that’s how you spell her name). Anyways, this young lady is extremely rude and hasn’t been any help to me at all. I’m pretty sure this isn’t how all the workers are, but just my luck I continue to get the same girl when I call and when I ask to speak to someone else she continues to give me the run around. I haven’t even moved in yet and my experience is already terrible because I can never get the information or respect I need and deserve whenever I call the office. Very disappointed. Review from Google
Apr 2018: just renewed my lease after living here for a year! Absolutely love my huge apartment and amazing roommates! Staff is amazing and so are the amenities. This is definitely THE place for a Texas State bobcat to live! Review from Google
Apr 2018: All of the negative reviews are accurate and relatable to me. I have lived here for about 8 months now. I’ll say the positive things first. The amenities are nice and really nothing to complain about there. I love the full size washer/dryer and common area is pretty big. Bus route is nice and comes very often. The side of town is nice. Now with the negative things. When touring this place, I was given very high expectations that this place doesn’t live up to. In my unit, there’s things constantly going wrong left and right from our stove acting weird and possibly being hazardous, to our dish washer not working properly and sometimes not at all (might as well not even have the dishwasher). Maintenance team responds fast, but they half-ass fix things instead of spending the time to fix things right. The bathrooms are small. The apartment d Review from Google
Mar 2018: I am a student and when first looking into apartments the Retreat seems like a nice place to live. However, after living there for 8 months I have realized my first impression was completely wrong. Yes, living in a town home is nice and the living space is large. But, management/the quality of the home is terrible. We have had our water turned off about 10 times since we have moved there. Sometimes they have given notice, sometimes you go to wash your hands and you realize the water is off. The dishwasher doesn't clean any dishes. The water that comes out of the sink has stuff in it. Our thermostat doesn't regulate temperature correctly, the bottom floor is at least 5 degrees different from the top floor. So, when I walk up stairs I sweat and when I go downstairs I freeze. And now they are shutting down the pool for a month during the one mont Review from Google
Feb 2018: ***They pay residents in gift cards for good reviews so beware*** I would recommend not living here. Matience takes a very long time to fix anything. There is NO visitor parking available. The gym equipment is not kept up with. When I moved in the carpet was covered in dog hair and the couch smelled of dog pee. We asked to get the couch replaced on several occasions, but that never happened. They will charge you for putting holes in your wall, like nails and screws. Couches are made of a plastic leather lookalike material that WILL crack and then you have to pay to replace the cushion. One of the only pros is that it does not flood. Review from Google
Jan 2018: I’ve been living at The Retreat for almost a year and I absolutely love my house. The staff is always so helpful and very kind. Maintenance can sometimes be quick but usually will show up to fix your problem asap. Brand new floors just got put into all houses and it definitely makes the house look more modern inside and very home-like. Review from Google
Jan 2018: Love the overall environment. Great place to stay if You attend Texas State. The bus route is amazing and fast. Even a walk to campus isn’t too far. The people at the front desk are always willing to help you out with any problems or answer any questions. Maintenance usually comes the after you put in a work order. I really love it here and am excited to sign again for next year! Review from Google
Jan 2018: This is my first year living here, so far it has been fun i have met many great people both being the staff and other residents living here. All the facilities around the property are always well maintained and clean and any maintenance requests that are made are taken care of almost immediately. The staff is always reaching out to the residents with fun opportunities and events to make there stay fun and unique, while also trying to find ways to make the complex better for the residents Review from Google
Jan 2018: I love the Retreat so much! I decided to live here at first because I had many friends that recommended the Retreat and wanted to live closer to my friends and the pool is my favorite part! I’m now resigning again to live here because it’s so convenient to go to class with the only 5 minute bus ride to campus. There is never traffic in this area and it’s the perfect off campus location for school. People at the front desk are so friendly and nice. I am glad I get to live here again next year. Review from Google
Jan 2018: The Retreat is very convenient, especially if you have a pet. I prefer this community in comparison to a normal apartment complex. It's nice to have parking spots that lead up to your front or back door, as well as having a yard. My layout is great, and is very spacious. Paying rent is made easy online, as well as placing work orders. The only complaint I have that work orders are not always taken care of quickly, or are not completed. Review from Google
Jan 2018: The office staff is is not helpful. They will lease your unit out from under you for the next year with no notice. They get their money and that's all they care about. The unit was dirty when we moved in, had to call multiple times to get them to come clean it properly. Carpet was dirty. Trash left in back of the house. Furniture that was suppose to be there was missing. Obviously had not been inspected. To bad they are so incompetent, it could be a nice place to live.
Jul 2017: The overall place of the retreat is nice! I don't think the amount of money you pay a month is worth what you get. The bathrooms are small and the bedroom also. I have lived somewhere way cheaper with bigger size rooms. The front desk staff are very nice but the BOOK KEEPER JoAnna to be exact is very rude no matter how nice you are. This place is also money hungry and the amount of money you pay a month or giveaway prizes that they do can be used somewhere useful like a gated community or cameras in the Parkin lot. This place has had many unsolved incidents that they are well aware of and I just don't think it's that safe for students.
Feb 2017: The retreat is a very clean, nice, and a quiet community. I love my house now, it has plenty of space and my closet and room are amazing. The location is also great, you can walk to campus from here. Review from 2/26/17 on Google
Feb 2017: This is one of the best places to live at when first starting out on hot college adventure. About less then 5 minute drive to school. Two convenient bus stops nearby to take you to and from school. Beautiful pool, spaces bedrooms, and a great place to get your work out on. Very pet friendly. This a very clean and well kept community. Staff always there to help answer any questions and make leasing fun/easy. What more can you ask for. Review from 2/25/17 on Google
Feb 2017: Living here is Amazing! Not only are the houses gorgeous and the entire as well, but the staff is also extremely helpful. Work orders are completed within the week, and the staff at the front office is always willing to help with any other problems you have. It is also really close to campus which makes commuting a breeze. Review from 2/22/17 on Google
Feb 2017: This was my first time living on my own/off campus and this was the perfect place. It has all the amenities a college student might need. The staff are always helpful when there's a problem and super nice. There are lots of events to keep the community connected. One of the best places in SM! Review from 2/10/17 on Google
Nov 2016: DO NOT live here. I lived here for a year and it was terrible. The maintenance is slow, it took them almost two weeks to fix three of our chairs. By the time they fixed them I had already put in 4 work orders. While I was living there, there were 3 shootings, and I almost witnessed a gang fight right in front of my apartment. Their staff is not helpful at all. They are rude and half the time they don't even know what they are talking about. I would ask a question and almost every time they didn't know the answer. I ended up moving out early because I hate it. Review from 11/17/16 on Google
Nov 2016: Too many pool party fights. Fraternity Hot spot. You should google " retreat san marcos texas pool fights." Review from 11/3/16 on Google
Jun 2016: The grounds look amazing, but once you get inside it becomes clear that the maintenance team simply doesn't care or else they don't know what they're doing at the least. There's water damage in my apartment that was just painted over with paint that doesn't even match and paint drop on the carpet, hardwood floors and kitchen counters. My maintenance requests were responded to in a timely manner albeit not resolved in the least. Everybody I've spoken to has had similar problems. Review from 6/9/16 on Google
Apr 2016: All in all one of the better apartment complex to live in. The apartments are nice with very few problems and granite counter tops in the kitchen. The staff is friendly and helpful and is usually really quick in response to problems. Its close to campus and I've never had problems with the bus. I would definitely recommend living here. Review from 4/19/16 on Google



TEXAS-STATE The Retreat at San Marcos Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap