select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

The Heights


Grade: of 61 reviews

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Sep 2019: Things they couldve done better (like not charging $225 after I moved out) ......NOT change management 3 times within 6 months ....NOT charge $60 for a cleaning fee when you *introduce* very unclean apartments to people who move in. Dusty, murky counters, putrid-smelling dishwashers, moldy refrigerators and freezers, clogged showers, holes in the wall, LOOSE tile in the kitchen and loose tile/laminate separators, leftover belongings from previous tenants AND white paint covering furniture and the buckled laminate flooring? VERY different depiction from the model apartment (I would say "within reason" but it's far from reasoning the contrast in the two) ......NOT have broken and fallen down parking lot lights for over 2 months, when this apartment complex gets reported for break-ins a couple of times a month and students have to walk in the dark from cl
Sep 2019: The community is pretty nice. It’s nothing too fancy but it’s not bad either. It’s like perfect for a college student. The people here are nice and helpful. Review from Google
Sep 2019: Rough start but Kristen and upper management ended up working it out and moving us into a new complete unit! they were willing to let us out of our lease if we weren't satisfied with our apartment. After giving them time to fix it..... I am completely satisfied and staying ! Thank you for helping us find a solution! Review from Google
Aug 2019: My new apartment is beautiful! New carpet and a fresh coat of paint always makes me feel like home. I know there are many people who have complaints but my experience has been positive and uplifting. The people here are extremely busy but friendly and hard working. Thanks Kristin! Review from Google
Aug 2019: This apartment complex is not what what you think it is. They show you a nice demo apartment and when you move in, it looks nothing like it. They say they have new management but are really unorganized when it comes to moving in and having the right keys for people’s apartments. My key didn’t work for the front door. They called someone to make a new key but I would have to wait to get a copy. I waited for three hours and they couldn’t find the copy of the key they made. Even have all the master keys to all the rooms they couldn’t even open my door and told me I had to wait for one of my roommates to get back in order to get into my apartment. Would not recommend staying here. Review from Google
Jul 2019: This rating is more like -5 stars. Buildings are dirty. Management is useless. Leasing manger has an attitude & raises their voice when you ask questions. There’s always a new leasing manger. They always say “new management” but it’s been almost a year and nothing has changed so they need to stop saying that. 3 different management over a small period and they’re all the same. Don’t live here. -5 star rating Review from Google
Jul 2019: My stay at the heights was filled with unexpected bug visitors each and every night followed by some who stayed the whole time trying to convert our living room into a place to feed on other insects. When we moved in there was nothing but problem after the next, which with time, we fixed. Broken chairs, kitchen drawers off the track and unable to be opened, broken light fixture the list goes on. I can't deny this place has its positives but they all have nothing to do with the units themselves. The location is quite nice as it is out of the way and borders Blanco shoals park which is nice for trail walking. The pools are not too bad when they are clean. The weight room seemed to have something missing or broken every so often. However, they did replace the treadmill and fix a machine but it took quite some time. On move in day, the rooms were coated in dog hair and had red carpet stains that were questionable Review from Google
Jun 2019: I’ve been living at the Heights for over a year and honestly my expectations have never been high but this newest management has been by far THE WORST! The staff in the front always had an attitude, on numerous occasions I’ve gone to get my mail and every single mailbox is left wide open and I’ve have several pieces of important mail that has never made its way to me I’m assuming because of this issue, and it always takes weeks for maintenance requests to be taken care of because they are incredibly short staffed. The management company doesn’t seem to care to resolve these issues because I know for a fact I’m not the first to voice my complaint. Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

Where are water, TPs, and sanitizers? Please help others. Hi everyone, https://www.livesomewhere.com/communities/uploadedpbi/fl/2013-jul-21/cr10/pb20/sec421/21587njpg To help minimize people driving to stores and it already sold out, if you or someon...read more

Who finds the person to sublease my apartment? The general idea is you must find the person who is going to sublease your apartment. Your apartment community may help, but this depends heavily on how full the community is. If they are full, you may get a few people refered, if they are not ful...read more

Jun 2019: Sure it doesn’t look as elegant as other complexes, and there are some technical issues that occur from time to time, but the price point is worth it. Additionally, such technical issues will occur no matter where you live. Think of it this way, do you value saving $1000-$3000 (many other apartments are easily $100 a month more) a year by choosing this location, or do you value more aesthetic appeal and possibly a few more short term inconveniences than average. I’d choose such a large monetary amount of savings, anyday personally, do you? Review from Google
Jun 2019: New management has been a huge disappointment. My husband and I have had multiple pieces of mail (some important!) that have not made it to us. Come to find out that our entire building has had an unlocked, open, and accessible mailbox for over at least a week now. I have called and left messages and no one has contacted me or fixed the problem. I wish there was a way for me to attach the pictures I have to show the 30+ open boxes. Review from Google
May 2019: Every single chance the management had to take advantage of us, they did. They were extremely unprofessional throughout every interaction I had with them personally. The maintenance crew last year consisted of one guy responsible for every unit on the property. Our unit had mold everywhere and was not even cleaned when we moved in. We moved out August 1 and received a bill for utilities going to August 28. I wouldn't recommend this place to you even if I hated you. I don't see how they are still in business. Review from Google
May 2019: Every single chance the management had to take advantage of us, they did. They were extremely unprofessional throughout every interaction I had with them personally. The maintenance crew last year consisted of one guy responsible for every unit on the property. Our unit had mold everywhere and was not even cleaned when we moved in. We moved out August 1 and received a bill for utilities going to August 28. I wouldn't recommend this place to you even if I hated you. I don't see how they are still in business. Review from Google
Apr 2019: The only reason this place gets a 1 and not a 0 is because of the rent. If you are looking for a place to just stay the night and not spend any other time at your apartment, this might be an option for you. Otherwise the front desk management, maintenance and the apartments condition are all terrible. You can go and tell the front desk an issue you have with your apartment and they will not pay much attention unless you consistently go. Then there’s the issue with maintenance. You put in a request for something to get fixed, like a plumbing issue that is slowly causing water to flood. Or something more major in Texas being AC units, the AC at your apartment could be blowing only hot air. Once again they will not pay much attention to it until you go several times, which to get their attention and for them to take action, it usually takes at least 5 business days to 2 weeks. Also if you walk in and there’s no one to help you, the assistant manager Joanna, will not pay any attention to you unless some time has passed, and then when she manages to get off her phone, she will proceed to pretend like she wants to help you solve your problems Review from Google
Apr 2019: The only reason this place gets a 1 and not a 0 is because of the rent. If you are looking for a place to just stay the night and not spend any other time at your apartment, this might be an option for you. Otherwise the front desk management, maintenance and the apartments condition are all terrible. You can go and tell the front desk an issue you have with your apartment and they will not pay much attention unless you consistently go. Then there’s the issue with maintenance. You put in a request for something to get fixed, like a plumbing issue that is slowly causing water to flood. Or something more major in Texas being AC units, the AC at your apartment could be blowing only hot air. Once again they will not pay much attention to it until you go several times, which to get their attention and for them to take action, it usually takes at least 5 business days to 2 weeks. Also if you walk in and there’s no one to help you, the assistant manager Joanna, will not pay any attention to you unless some time has passed, and then when she manages to get off her phone, she will proceed to pretend like she wants to help you solve your problems Review from Google
Apr 2019: When I moved into my unit it was SO dirty. We spent 2-3 hours cleaning before we even moved anything in. The apartment smelled like cigarette smoke (still does and neither me or my roommate smoke) and had paint all over the furniture. Since moving in management has changed at least 3 times and with the current management things have only worsened. Staff is SO rude and can never help you with your situation. It’s always someone else’s problem. If you do have an issue and call and ask the office they’ll tell you it’s getting fixed and it never does. I originally moved here because of a referral from a friend and really enjoyed being a gated community. The summer after my first lease the gates were taken off and not replaced (never got a notice). I had to submit documents several times because they were not organized and kept losing my paperwork which is ridiculous considering the amount of staff I see in the front office always on their phones Review from Google
Apr 2019: When I moved into my unit it was SO dirty. We spent 2-3 hours cleaning before we even moved anything in. The apartment smelled like cigarette smoke (still does and neither me or my roommate smoke) and had paint all over the furniture. Since moving in management has changed at least 3 times and with the current management things have only worsened. Staff is SO rude and can never help you with your situation. It’s always someone else’s problem. If you do have an issue and call and ask the office they’ll tell you it’s getting fixed and it never does. I originally moved here because of a referral from a friend and really enjoyed being a gated community. The summer after my first lease the gates were taken off and not replaced (never got a notice). I had to submit documents several times because they were not organized and kept losing my paperwork which is ridiculous considering the amount of staff I see in the front office always on their phones Review from Google
Mar 2019: If I could give this place zero stars I would. This has to be the worst place to live in San Marcos. Everyone in the office seems like they have no idea what they're doing and you constantly have to harass them in order to get something fixed/replaced in your apartment. It's almost as if you're babying them and they cant seem to get it together. It's pathetic. DO NOT LIVE AT THE HEIGHTS BY ALL MEANS!!! Update: It's been six months since I posted this review and literally nothing has changed. Maintenance flooded my apartment and pretty much expected me to be homeless for the next two weeks. It also took them six freaking months to fix my dryer. It's a constant battle trying to get the staff members to help me with problems in my unit. Like I said before, you have to baby them in order to get them to do their job. DO. NOT. MOVE. HERE! Review from Google
Mar 2019: My initial post was more positive but ONCE AGAIN management has changed and this time it got worse. They lock their doors 10 minutes before they close (this was the only available time I had in several days to pick my package that I cannot pick up until next week now), management does not seem to care about the trash and dog poop everywhere or that people park wherever they want. I pay for a covered parking space and majority of the people around my building just park in a covered spot because they want to. When I asked about it, they said they were not sure when they would be able to get a tow company to take care of it. Everyone in the office does not seem to want to be there. There are bugs all over my apartment. They have not changed any air filters since I moved in. My neighbors scream at each other all night and the person above me has bricks for feet. When I have talked to the office staff about it, they say they will talk to them but they never have Review from Google
Feb 2019: I haven't lived at The Heights long, but so far it is great! Sure, there are minor things to fix..but every property goes through it. For a college student, this place is perfect. It's affordable, on campus bus route and safe! Review from Google
Feb 2019: If you’re looking for a cheap affordable place to live the heights is for you! The staff is very nice here and since they got new management this year it has been good! They’ve been making a lot of new improvements to make our stay better! Review from Google
Feb 2019: The Heights is a good affordable apartment for a student. The Office Staff is really nice, friendly and helpful. Since getting new management The Heights community has changed to better the lives of its residents. Review from Google
Feb 2019: The heights have been a great apartment for me as a student. The apartment has plenty of room for four people to live in comfortably and is a pretty quiet place overall. The office staff is great and motivated to turn the complex around for the better. Review from Google
Feb 2019: I’ve lived at the Heights for almost a year now. While there are many faults, you can’t beat the price. These faults are things that can be lived with, your home is what you make of it. I love our placement in San Marcos and the bus routes are nice short and sweet. We have a beautiful park right in our backyard (Blanco Shoals Park) with a great trail indulged in nature. I’m the end you really can’t beat the price (: Review from Google
Jan 2019: I can not describe to you how terrible this place is. Always late on maintenance. Terrible with wifi. I got charged a late fee for rent because of THEIR mistake and still haven’t gotten a refund. It’s been about 5 months. Every week our wifi goes out they say “we have someone coming in two days” the two days go by and then it’s another day. Awful awful awful. Don’t recommend to anyone ! I would put zero stars but google doesn’t let me tell the truth. Review from Google
Dec 2018: This is the worst apartment complex in San Marcos, the staff is all young they act dumb they act like they don’t know nothing, if anything go wrong with your apartment they take forever to get fix they have no 24 emergency service to fix stuff, my place have been without heat for since Thursday nobody haven’t came yet to fix they say Monday but it probably want happen. If you cus them out they get stuff done faster but yet they want they rent money on time but can’t fix stuff on time, I will not renew no lease here or recommend anybody to live here what ever you do please don’t stay here, I currently live here now I hate it so much so ready for my lease to be over for I can leave. WHATEVER YOU DO DONT STAY HERE IM TELLIING YOU NOT TO STAY HERE TRUST ME. Review from Google

Back to Previous

If you like The Heights reviews or think they are acceptable, check out The Heights ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near TEXAS-STATE.

Page One Reviews | Next Page Reviews, Page 2





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap