select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
The Avenue at San Marcos ▷ Reviews
Back to Previous

The Avenue at San Marcos


Grade: of 40 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Feb 2019: since we had moved in. We had to fight with the avenue to reimburse us due to the incompetence of their maintenance team. On top of this our electricity went out about four times a day. We asked them to see why this would have been the problem and they blamed It on the fact that we had a mini fridge plugged in also. We took It upon ourselves to then unplug the mini fridge and see if that fixed the problem It DID NOT. It took them 4MONTHS to replace our breaker after calling a trillion times for them to come and get the electricity back on. You CANNOT TRUST maintenance to fix anything. David the manager said he would call back or get back to you and he NEVER does. You will be their least priority living here. Our lock on the door didn't properly lock right for a MONTH 1/2. THAT should have been the first thing they checked before re-subletting an apartment out.
Feb 2019: We had previously asked maintenance to come and check to see if our toilets were running, because we had thought they were. Maintenance reassured us that they were not. After receiving our water bill of $75 dollars per person, I contacted David the manager and asked him why our water bill was so high and he responded with "well are you leaving the faucet on". Acted like I was dumb and just letting the water run. We had maintenance come and check twice to see yet again if our water was running and they concluded YET again that It was not. I could even tell that the toilets were leaking myself. After calling the office everyday David finally said that he would have the water company come and check It out. That took about a month and half for that to happen. The guy from the water company concluded that two out of the three toilets had been leaking the entire time
Feb 2019: DO NOT MOVE HERE. I REPEAT It WILL BE ONE OF THE WORST DECISIONS that you make. When I moved in the apartment was filthy, there were cigarette burn holes all throughout the couches and the carpet in my room. There were two broken fridge handles, tacks on the floor of my roommate's room and many other broken things. It became very obvious to my roommates and I that the manager of the apartment had never stepped foot into It before leasing It out to new attendants. Less than a month into living there our acc went out. It took them eights days to fix our ACC because the maintenance guy didn't fix It right the first time. Let me remind you that It was August and It was over a 100 degrees outside. They could have cared less. The first month we lived there our utilities were 150 dollars a person. For three people that totaled to be 450 dollars for one unit.
Feb 2019: We had PROBLEM after PROBLEM with our appliances including the dishwasher leaking/ the washer and dryer leaking/ my bathroom sink leaking. There is no reason that I should of had to go up to the office or put in a work order everyday because one thing after another was breaking/ needed attention. My friends warned me not to live here and I should have listened. WORST mistake I have ever made was not listening to them. It will be your BIGGEST MISTAKE to live here. The Avenue could care less about your safety and well being. DO NOT LET your child live here. If you do, you will be dealing with unprofessional staff who doesn't call you back and lies to you. SAVE yourself the TROUBLE!!!
Feb 2019: DO NOT MOVE HERE. I REPEAT It WILL BE ONE OF THE WORST DECISIONS that you make. When I moved in the apartment was filthy, there were cigarette burn holes all throughout the couches and the carpet in my room. There were two broken fridge handles, tacks on the floor of my roommate's room and many other broken things. It became very obvious to my roommates and I that the manager of the apartment had never stepped foot into It before leasing It out to new attendants. Less than a month into living there our acc went out. It took them eights days to fix our ACC because the maintenance guy didn't fix It right the first time. Let me remind you that It was August and It was over a 100 degrees outside. They could have cared less. The first month we lived there our utilities were 150 dollars a person. For three people that totaled to be 450 dollars for one unit.
Feb 2019: Rats on location. AC breaks often, electricity goes out 4 times a day. Maintenance will never fix anything. Running toliets equal 75 water bills every month. David the manager is dishonest, disrespectful, and just down right a horrible human being. Review from Google
Dec 2018: Wow! I can’t believe the reviews for this place are so low. I’ve lived here for two years and I love it. The only reason why I’m moving is because I have a new job in North Austin. From the good gym to big spacious bedrooms and great front desk staff… I have been happy with it all. Last year I got into a car wreck though because the people had been driving too fast right in front of my apartment and I requested speed bumps. I was told by the manager David that we would see them in the following October but I wasn’t sure he would really follow through. Sure enough! We got speed bumps and I am so happy about it. So thank you staff for making this such an enjoyable experience and an apartment complex I’ll actually miss. If you’re nervous about signing here then my vote is vote is to do it! Review from Google
Nov 2018: DO NOT SIGN AT THE AVE !!! i cannot stress that enough. This place is complete trash. Our apartment is infested with crickets, cockroaches, and spiders and when they came here to spray they walked in without knocking !! And even though they did spray, all of the bugs are still here and they only sprayed the living room. The maintenance is terrible. So bad i fact that it took 2 weeks for them to come and LOOK at the fridge when it was leaking all over the floor and they ordered a part for it without even looking at what was broken !! Our water heater has now gone out 5 times and it is only November (i moved into my apartment in August). The manager does absolutely nothing and is never even on the property and the people who work in the front office are students who have to sense of professionalism. All of the positive reviews on here are FAKE a Review from Google
📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

What is the benefit of a relet over a sublease? A relet is a much cleaner agreement. The original leasee is no longer liable for any unpaid rent, or damages. This means there is a clean cut-over and has much less risk to the original leasee. While there is usually a little cost involved with th...read more

Am I allowed to sublease my apartment? It depends. In many general apartments, being allowed to sublease is common. In student housing, the opposite is true. Since student housing involves renting by the room, who lives in an apartment has a large effect on the others sharing common sp...read more

Oct 2018: The Avenue was my first apartment, and I lived here for two years in a one bedroom. Here, my closest friends became my neighbors, and I grew quite close with the office staff! David is the property manager, and he is phenomenal. I have yet to find an apartment manager as available, caring, and involved in the community as David. Having this as my first home was an amazing experience, and I miss my incredibly spacious one bedroom more and more everyday. I believe you get the most bang for your buck at the Ave (just compare the size and price of their 1 bedroom to most complexes in San Marcos, and you won even come close to the same quality for as low of a price). The amenities are convenient, and the office is always hosting exciting resident events! 10/10 recommend the Ave to anyone looking for a place in San Marcos. Most of the people leaving Review from Google
Oct 2018: Do not live here don’t do it it’s a trap ! Don’t let these high ratings fool you these are from the staff and people who work in the office. This place is steak from you any chance they get ! I lived in a 3 bed 3 bath but only 2 of us lived there not to mention my friend stayed with her boyfriend five days out of the week so it was basically only me and I was always at work or school. Tell me why my roommate and I were paying $89 for our water bill each !!!! My parents live in a two story house with 5 boys and don’t even pay that much. When I told them I had the $50 cap they tried to tell me my roommate and I used $70 extra worth of water. If you do live here do not get the water cap because you will always go over even if no one is there !!! They will try and blame it on water leaks but when they go check they say nothing is wrong. Th Review from Google
Sep 2018: This apartment is just a big scam to get as much money from you as possible. The apartment constantly needed repairs and maintenance was slow. We had food in our cabinets and pantry upon move-in And mold around the vents in the rooms. Everyone I know was charged a $70 cleaning fee on move out, I asked for proof the apartment was cleaned and was sent a picture of printer paper with our room number scribbled on it. I would recommend looking elsewhere for an apartment. Review from Google
Sep 2018: Not the best but definitely not the worst. One downside is the walls are extremely thin. The property manager, David, is super sweet! I definitely do regret moving to Capstone Cottages. The Avenues were way better and way more professional!! When I moved into the avenues the unit was spotless and super clean! Whereas, Capstone was filthy upon move in! Wish I could go back. Review from Google
May 2018: This Place will steal you delivered Packages! Do NOT stay here!!! I received a notification that my package was delivered by FedEx. I also received a Notification FROM THE AVENUE that my package was in there front office. When I went to pick it up “ It got lost or misplaced” aka Someone stole it!! Do NOT Live here, unless you want your stuff stolen
May 2018: I had a great year here at the Avenue! Bus rides to campus are short, pool’s great, and the people are all friendly! Maintenance has fixed any requests we’ve submitted and they’re always happy to help. Towing is enforced, so you will never have to worry about not getting a spot in front of your apartment. Review from Google
Apr 2018: This was my first year living here at the Ave. The Ave has friendly staff and are more than happy to listen to their residents. I like how much space that I have in a 4x4. Everything is well kept (mind you I got lucky with random roommates). The only things I don’t like about the Ave is limited visitor parking spots due to the party bus on the weekends and the amount of dog poop that surrounds the complex. Other than that, everything is pretty nice. This is the nicest place I’ve signed at and I also resigned as well and I’ve lived in SM for 4 years. Just keep in mind you are living in a college apt so nothing nice is guanteed. Hope this helps! Review from Google
Feb 2018: I have lived at The Avenue at San Marcos for going about two years now. Both years being extremely different views. The first year was an overall good/okay experience. I didn’t have problems with anything dealing with my own apartment, but the all around feeling safe was a really big concern. Student living is easier to have problems due to how many young residents that come in and out of San Marcos to go to Texas State which is safe to say their first time having an apartment. This being said, my second year at The Avenue was an amazing experience. The Avenue really step up in a big way with security and hosting Resident Events. The staff is always very helpful and really caring when you go in. There hasn’t ever been a time where I didn’t feel like they didn’t care about me even if they are super busy they always apologize and get to Review from Google
Feb 2018: This is my first year living here, I like living at the Ave. The staff is always nice and friendly to me, and my roommates and neighbors are all nice and friendly. My only problem living here is the visitor parking is very limited. Residents park in the visitor spots making it much harder for visitors to find a spot, also resident parking is hard if you come back home after 10 pm. But overall I like living here, and would recommend it to other people. Review from Google
Feb 2018: The apartment when I moved in had already been occupied by two girls. They kept up with the apartment nicely and I've never had a problem. Although upon arriving to move in, my walls in my room had gaping holes in every wall and scratches all over the furniture, I guess whoever lived there before me had a dog or something. A little disappointed I didn't get new furniture but overall I haven't had any problems with maintenance, staff, utilities, etc. I've heard rumors about drug dealers and people getting murdered but I haven't had an issue with neighbors. Over all I enjoy living at the Ave and even resigned for another year. The apartment gym is awesome and the pool is great. I would recommend this apartment complex. What makes it four stars and not five is the fact that visitor parking is like nonexistent. My fiancé has been towed and there Review from Google
Feb 2018: I lived at the Avenue for two years & it was an overall great experience. Large bedrooms, two closets, & tons of space & storage in your bathroom. Pet friendly. Awesome amenities. A large 24hr gym, a pool & hot-tub. Free perks like fitness classes, printing & Starbucks coffee. Fun resident appreciation events (like Taco Tuesday). Maintenance is super helpful and responsive to requests. Keep in mind this is a very large property & requests sometimes need to be prioritized in other apartments. But overall my requests were always met as promptly as possible. The furniture package at the Avenue is great. It’s good quality for student living. Remember to report any previous damage at move-in if there is any. Take pictures. Take care of it. Yes, you get charged when you move-out if is damaged & has to be replaced for the next resident. You can alw Review from Google
Feb 2018: I took a chance after touring the avenue and i really enjoyed it! The Property Manager David was a great catalyst in really helping me not only move in quickly but really make this a great place to live. The Staff are really friendly and compassionate, especially when I need help, some of the best people I've ever had to deal with. Maintenance is also very quick to solve problems Review from Google
Feb 2018: DO NOT LIVE HERE!!!!! I thought I would give The Ave a try because of the nice sized rooms and nice living area: BOY WAS I FOOLED! Nobody every knows what is going on. Staff is RUDE and never know where the property manager is. Unprofessional and try to charge you for every little thing. Drug dealers live here and they do NOTHING ABOUT IT, yet if your late on rent they are up your butt about it. My electricity goes on and off all the time. DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE AND LIVE HERE!!! Review from Google
Jan 2018: My girl friend live here and we love it. Not sure of the reviews below but you can’t please everyone in this world. Review from Google
Jan 2018: Somebody should really do something about all the loose dogs! You cant really go outside without having them chasing you. I'm talking about big dogs that are running loose and pooping everywhere (near the pool area) UNSUPERVISED!!! I dont want to have to run to my vehicle with fear of getting bitten! Review from Google
Dec 2017: My son lived in this pathetic place last year and he and his roommates discovered heavy mold in the AC closet and went down to the office and reported it immediately. The person who they spoke to in the office tried to down play it and said, "oh I doubt it's mold. It's probably just dirt or whatever." They did send someone down a couple days later and knocked the wall out which was a common wall between that closet and my son's bathroom. That afternoon when my son came home from classes he noticed that his bathroom counter top had a long crack through it. Unfortunately he didn't say anything about it initially and by the time he did, they said he did it and hit him with an $803 charge. I called management up and they wouldn't even talk to me. They had already turned it in into a collection agency. His jeep was broken into numerous times and Review from Google
Nov 2017: NEVER had problems with other complexes. EXCEPT THIS ONE!! When you move out, they will fine you with all kinds of things that you cannot prove and they cannot prove, but you are still responsible for. They will also throw in fines for fleas and such, that oddly enough, NEVER existed when you lived there, but miraculously they find when you move out. Also, they ignore the fact that there are nests of wasps and yellow jackets lurking at every corner and rail around the complex. Due to unprofessional work ethic, they wait until someone gets stung for the 3rd time in a few days and someone constantly bitching and forcing them to send someone to get rid of the nests, before they do anything. They are also slow on maintenance and when they do come, they rarely fix the issue. So if you want to live in a place where everything is your fault and you s Review from Google

Back to Previous

TEXAS-STATE The Avenue at San Marcos Ads & Subleases





About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap