select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

The Avenue at San Marcos


Grade: of 53 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Oct 2019: I love living at the ave, the people at the front office are super nice and willing to work with you on stuff. Ive lived here two years and had awful roommates at first and the ave helped me and were able to switch me into a new apt and I love my new roommates now :) They also have huge rooms and a nice gym and pool. Review from Google
Oct 2019: The apartment is big and nice looking. The pool and gym are fancy- but that is where all the rent goes. This is the only positive thing about this apartment complex that can be said. I pointed out mold when we moved in and over a week and a half later they finally came in and PAINTED over it right in front of me. Then months later it was back and they refused to fix the mold issue throughout our entire apartment for over a month and even tried to convince us it was “probably dust”. Our roommate got sick because of it- a doctor told her that was the reason. They wouldn’t fix our washer for over a week when it was filled with dirty water and wouldn’t finish a cycle or drain. The complex did a giveaway if you left a POSITIVE Google review, not just a review. That’s why there are a ton of bad reviews then suddenly a bunch of good ones. The staff 9/10 doesn’t know what is going on, but I’m sure it’s because they aren’t given adequate training or information and not personal fault Review from Google
Oct 2019: The Avenue has really friendly and helpful staff. Maintenance always makes sure to come check out the problem in a timely manner. The pool has a great beach feel to it. Lastly, the overall complex environment feels safe because police live on site. Review from Google
Oct 2019: I really like the ave. The apartments are huge. Especially the rooms. There’s apartment matching and they try their best to put you with like minded people which is nice. The walls are pretty thin and you can hear everything. There is no maintenance at night even after calling. Great amenities and with the bus stop right next to the ave you don’t need to get a parking pass (unless you want to). Review from Google
Oct 2019: This is my second year living at The Ave and I honestly love it from the beginning. I put in a maintenance request today and they came in less then 30 min. The front office is always welcoming and nice and will always have an answer to any question you ask. The only issue is the wifi isn’t good all around and would stop working at times I would recommend people to come and live at The Ave though. Review from Google
Oct 2019: I love living here! My apartment is amazing, all the space and the homelike furniture makes it really easy to make it feel like a home. Not to mention how cool it is to have such a large patio! Everyone in the office is friendly. The pool is amazing! Even the residents are nice. Couldn't be happier with this place! Review from Google
Oct 2019: I love it here at The Avenue! There is so much space in our living area and in our rooms. The office is always hosting activities and giving out prizes to the residents who live here. It’s a great place to live, especially as a college student! Review from Google
Sep 2019: I have really enjoyed living here! There’s plenty of space in my unit, all the furniture is pretty modern, and super nice to have the split level town home style with even a half bath downstairs. The gym is incredibly nice and we’ve already used the pool for a birthday party which was perfect! Although upon move in there were a couple damages and mishaps I was so impressed by the fact that when my roommate and I walked in to notify the office the person in charge of maintenance talked to us himself and fixed the issue within the next day. All the people in the clubhouse have been so helpful and sweet as well! They make an effort to get to know you and make sure your experience living at the Ave is great. Overall, I’m very pleased with my experience and I’m so glad I chose to live in this complex! Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

Where are water, TPs, and sanitizers? Please help others. Hi everyone, https://www.livesomewhere.com/communities/uploadedpbi/fl/2013-jul-21/cr10/pb20/sec421/21587njpg To help minimize people driving to stores and it already sold out, if you or someon...read more

Who finds the person to sublease my apartment? The general idea is you must find the person who is going to sublease your apartment. Your apartment community may help, but this depends heavily on how full the community is. If they are full, you may get a few people refered, if they are not ful...read more

Aug 2019: My move-in went pretty smooth for the most part. When I first went into my unit the apartment was extremely dirty and the walls were full of stains, obviously they hadn’t been painted. The move-in procedure at the office went fast and smooths, I received my keys, paid rent, etc. all within 5 min. I went to the office to address the condition of the unit and the property manager was readily available to inspect the unit with me and take the necessary measures to alleviate the issue. By far, he was the most caring and hands-on property manager I’ve had. Within 10 minutes cleaner and painters began working on the unit. The rooms are big and very spacious. I love the two closets as well. The bathrooms are pretty small but all the cabinet space in them and the room size, totally makes up for it! I just moved in about 2 weeks ago so I haven’t lived here long which is the reason I’m rating it 4, but it’s def been a 5 star so far. Very happy at the Avenue now. Review from Google
Jun 2019: Do not live here. They will show you around the nice community center and show you a awesome show room. But once you move in you realize it was all a very fake. They will put you in a apartment that is either beat to crap, or the maintenance crew did a crap job of covering the damage done before you. If you decide to move in, TAKE PICTURES OF LITERALLY EVERYTHING. If you don't they will do inspections at the end of the year and claim that you damaged it and want you to pay for the damage that was obviously done before you. Thankfully, we had photos to prove that they were wrong. If you are found to have broken something, they will put the amount owed on your rental portal, and proceed to send multiple emails over and over saying that they will charge you for late fees if you don't pay the amount. This is fine, except for the fact they will threaten you at the middle of the month almost a week and a half after you have already paid rent Review from Google
Jun 2019: The Avenue is the worst apartment I've ever lived at. They are extremely unprofessional and do the bare minimum for their residents. I moved in on a sublease and my room was infested with fleas and I was told I needed to pay $50 to get rid of them because the apartment was "as is". I'm sorry but those are unacceptable living conditions, so their claim "as is" isn't valid. My car was towed twice, AS A RESIDENT!!! They refused to give me a temporary sticker for my rental car while mine was in the shop. I was told I could park in front of the office by one of the staff members. Clearly, that was misinformation, as my car wasn't there a few hours later. I had a serious mold problem in my bathroom and around the windows, I called maintenance and nothing was done. Our washer and dryer was constantly breaking. The maintenance crew would "fix it" and it wouldn't work the following week. They were too cheap to replace the broken unit and wasted time "repairing" it Review from Google
Jun 2019: Huge rooms! Great amenities and staff is always super helpful! Review from Google
May 2019: These apartments are horrible and overprice for no reason. The beds are uncomfortable feel like jail cell beds . The rent is not the standard price they tell you. I honestly hate these apartments and can't wait to move out !!!! Review from Google
Feb 2019: since we had moved in. We had to fight with the avenue to reimburse us due to the incompetence of their maintenance team. On top of this our electricity went out about four times a day. We asked them to see why this would have been the problem and they blamed It on the fact that we had a mini fridge plugged in also. We took It upon ourselves to then unplug the mini fridge and see if that fixed the problem It DID NOT. It took them 4MONTHS to replace our breaker after calling a trillion times for them to come and get the electricity back on. You CANNOT TRUST maintenance to fix anything. David the manager said he would call back or get back to you and he NEVER does. You will be their least priority living here. Our lock on the door didn't properly lock right for a MONTH 1/2. THAT should have been the first thing they checked before re-subletting an apartment out.
Feb 2019: We had previously asked maintenance to come and check to see if our toilets were running, because we had thought they were. Maintenance reassured us that they were not. After receiving our water bill of $75 dollars per person, I contacted David the manager and asked him why our water bill was so high and he responded with "well are you leaving the faucet on". Acted like I was dumb and just letting the water run. We had maintenance come and check twice to see yet again if our water was running and they concluded YET again that It was not. I could even tell that the toilets were leaking myself. After calling the office everyday David finally said that he would have the water company come and check It out. That took about a month and half for that to happen. The guy from the water company concluded that two out of the three toilets had been leaking the entire time
Feb 2019: DO NOT MOVE HERE. I REPEAT It WILL BE ONE OF THE WORST DECISIONS that you make. When I moved in the apartment was filthy, there were cigarette burn holes all throughout the couches and the carpet in my room. There were two broken fridge handles, tacks on the floor of my roommate's room and many other broken things. It became very obvious to my roommates and I that the manager of the apartment had never stepped foot into It before leasing It out to new attendants. Less than a month into living there our acc went out. It took them eights days to fix our ACC because the maintenance guy didn't fix It right the first time. Let me remind you that It was August and It was over a 100 degrees outside. They could have cared less. The first month we lived there our utilities were 150 dollars a person. For three people that totaled to be 450 dollars for one unit.
Feb 2019: We had PROBLEM after PROBLEM with our appliances including the dishwasher leaking/ the washer and dryer leaking/ my bathroom sink leaking. There is no reason that I should of had to go up to the office or put in a work order everyday because one thing after another was breaking/ needed attention. My friends warned me not to live here and I should have listened. WORST mistake I have ever made was not listening to them. It will be your BIGGEST MISTAKE to live here. The Avenue could care less about your safety and well being. DO NOT LET your child live here. If you do, you will be dealing with unprofessional staff who doesn't call you back and lies to you. SAVE yourself the TROUBLE!!!
Feb 2019: DO NOT MOVE HERE. I REPEAT It WILL BE ONE OF THE WORST DECISIONS that you make. When I moved in the apartment was filthy, there were cigarette burn holes all throughout the couches and the carpet in my room. There were two broken fridge handles, tacks on the floor of my roommate's room and many other broken things. It became very obvious to my roommates and I that the manager of the apartment had never stepped foot into It before leasing It out to new attendants. Less than a month into living there our acc went out. It took them eights days to fix our ACC because the maintenance guy didn't fix It right the first time. Let me remind you that It was August and It was over a 100 degrees outside. They could have cared less. The first month we lived there our utilities were 150 dollars a person. For three people that totaled to be 450 dollars for one unit.
Feb 2019: Rats on location. AC breaks often, electricity goes out 4 times a day. Maintenance will never fix anything. Running toliets equal 75 water bills every month. David the manager is dishonest, disrespectful, and just down right a horrible human being. Review from Google
Dec 2018: Wow! I can’t believe the reviews for this place are so low. I’ve lived here for two years and I love it. The only reason why I’m moving is because I have a new job in North Austin. From the good gym to big spacious bedrooms and great front desk staff… I have been happy with it all. Last year I got into a car wreck though because the people had been driving too fast right in front of my apartment and I requested speed bumps. I was told by the manager David that we would see them in the following October but I wasn’t sure he would really follow through. Sure enough! We got speed bumps and I am so happy about it. So thank you staff for making this such an enjoyable experience and an apartment complex I’ll actually miss. If you’re nervous about signing here then my vote is vote is to do it! Review from Google
Nov 2018: DO NOT SIGN AT THE AVE !!! i cannot stress that enough. This place is complete trash. Our apartment is infested with crickets, cockroaches, and spiders and when they came here to spray they walked in without knocking !! And even though they did spray, all of the bugs are still here and they only sprayed the living room. The maintenance is terrible. So bad i fact that it took 2 weeks for them to come and LOOK at the fridge when it was leaking all over the floor and they ordered a part for it without even looking at what was broken !! Our water heater has now gone out 5 times and it is only November (i moved into my apartment in August). The manager does absolutely nothing and is never even on the property and the people who work in the front office are students who have to sense of professionalism. All of the positive reviews on here are FAKE a Review from Google
Oct 2018: The Avenue was my first apartment, and I lived here for two years in a one bedroom. Here, my closest friends became my neighbors, and I grew quite close with the office staff! David is the property manager, and he is phenomenal. I have yet to find an apartment manager as available, caring, and involved in the community as David. Having this as my first home was an amazing experience, and I miss my incredibly spacious one bedroom more and more everyday. I believe you get the most bang for your buck at the Ave (just compare the size and price of their 1 bedroom to most complexes in San Marcos, and you won even come close to the same quality for as low of a price). The amenities are convenient, and the office is always hosting exciting resident events! 10/10 recommend the Ave to anyone looking for a place in San Marcos. Most of the people leaving Review from Google
Oct 2018: Do not live here don’t do it it’s a trap ! Don’t let these high ratings fool you these are from the staff and people who work in the office. This place is steak from you any chance they get ! I lived in a 3 bed 3 bath but only 2 of us lived there not to mention my friend stayed with her boyfriend five days out of the week so it was basically only me and I was always at work or school. Tell me why my roommate and I were paying $89 for our water bill each !!!! My parents live in a two story house with 5 boys and don’t even pay that much. When I told them I had the $50 cap they tried to tell me my roommate and I used $70 extra worth of water. If you do live here do not get the water cap because you will always go over even if no one is there !!! They will try and blame it on water leaks but when they go check they say nothing is wrong. Th Review from Google
Sep 2018: This apartment is just a big scam to get as much money from you as possible. The apartment constantly needed repairs and maintenance was slow. We had food in our cabinets and pantry upon move-in And mold around the vents in the rooms. Everyone I know was charged a $70 cleaning fee on move out, I asked for proof the apartment was cleaned and was sent a picture of printer paper with our room number scribbled on it. I would recommend looking elsewhere for an apartment. Review from Google
Sep 2018: Not the best but definitely not the worst. One downside is the walls are extremely thin. The property manager, David, is super sweet! I definitely do regret moving to Capstone Cottages. The Avenues were way better and way more professional!! When I moved into the avenues the unit was spotless and super clean! Whereas, Capstone was filthy upon move in! Wish I could go back. Review from Google

Back to Previous

If you like The Avenue at San Marcos reviews or think they are acceptable, check out The Avenue at San Marcos ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near TEXAS-STATE.

Page One Reviews | Next Page Reviews, Page 2





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap