select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

Hillside Ranch


Grade: of 48 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Jan 2021: We love HSR! The front office staff is very available, friendly and informed. They have the residents' best interest at heart. Parents are welcome to contact them with questions. The grounds are kept neat. If you make a suggestion to the office they look into it immediately. The apartments are serviced quick by the maintenance members. John & Johnny keep things working and keep an eye out on the students. They are very personable. There is very little noise except the normal. The apartments are super close to the campus! Walking distance and on the bus route. We have never felt unsafe here. Pet friendly Overall we are very satisfied! Check them out! I am not an employee and I have not received any compensation for this post. Just a resident who is happy.
Oct 2019: Apartment is alright. Neighbor above is horrible and LOUD. Has a caged dog that's digging into the floor and howling barking all throughout the day and at night. I hate being at home; I can't do homework, watch tv, or sleep because of this dog. As far as I know, the office has been doing everything they can to change it. Idk. I'm starting to think it's a combination of poor insulation and a just loud, lonely dog. If you want to live here, try to get an apartment on the top floor or you'll hear everything above you. Review from Google
Sep 2019: The internet is awful. If you like to play video games, move litterally anywhere but here. Not to mention my front door doesn't work and I've had several other difficulties. Review from Google
Sep 2019: My experience with HSR was poor at best. From the beginning I was placed with an individual who is allergic to dogs, I happen to have a dog and listed this on the matching app HSR provides. To me this demonstrates a lack in attention to detail. As a result I was offered an apartment which was not renovated and still had to pay the same amount of rent. I asked on several occasions when I could expect for my apartment to be renovated, the answer was they will not while my roommate and me occupy it. Again the issue of my dog would have been avoided if the staff in the front office would pay attention to detail over deadlines. I was promised, per the lease, a remodeled apartment but it never happened. Answering an email or retuning a call is nearly impossible, one example would be when inquiring about my rent which I wanted to know if I could pay it in two installments. It took them over three days to even initially respond to my email which I sent to Katie (works in the front office) Review from Google
Aug 2019: I just moved in and I love it here so far. The parking is great, my unit is clean and upgraded and nice! Review from Google
Jul 2019: Third floor with a view- resigned because we love the apt, complex and location so much!! Maintenance is always on top of things and the front office has never let us down. Best complex I have lived in since moving to San Mo! Review from Google
Jul 2019: One of the most overpriced and underwhelming apartments I've seen in San Marcos. You also cannot invite anyone over to see this sad looking apartment due to having to camp out for 3 business days in order to catch an open visitor's parking spot. If you take time to read your lease agreement, you'll see how absurd and greedy this whole operation can get. I've been counting down the days until I'm done with this lease since the day I moved in and it took 6 hours in the office to get my keys. Before you sign a lease with these people as an impressionable 18-year-old college freshman, ask yourself what you'd rather be doing with $800 a month. Review from Google
Jul 2019: One of the most overpriced and underwhelming apartments I've seen in San Marcos. You also cannot invite anyone over to see this sad looking apartment due to having to camp out for 3 business days in order to catch an open visitor's parking spot. If you take time to read your lease agreement, you'll see how absurd and greedy this whole operation can get. I've been counting down the days until I'm done with this lease since the day I moved in and it took 6 hours in the office to get my keys. Before you sign a lease with these people as an impressionable 18-year-old college freshman, ask yourself what you'd rather be doing with $800 a month. Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

Where are water, TPs, and sanitizers? Please help others. Hi everyone, https://www.livesomewhere.com/communities/uploadedpbi/fl/2013-jul-21/cr10/pb20/sec421/21587njpg To help minimize people driving to stores and it already sold out, if you or someon...read more

Who finds the person to sublease my apartment? The general idea is you must find the person who is going to sublease your apartment. Your apartment community may help, but this depends heavily on how full the community is. If they are full, you may get a few people refered, if they are not ful...read more

Apr 2019: The only good thing about this place is the location. The apartment manager—Julian—is AWFUL and inappropriate with the residents by being aggressive and threatening for no apparent reason!! Customer service does not exist here whatsoever. They won’t respond to work order requests whatsoever. I’ve lived here for 2 years and the dishwasher has NEVER worked and they won’t fix it. The ice machine broke-they won’t fix it. Mold in the AC vents-they don’t care. Dog poop EVERYWHERE. Management is the WORST here. Unresponsive and aggressive and they’ll take you’re money with made up fines. If you want to live in peace, don’t chose Hillside. Julian might try to fight you for no apparent reason. Review from Google
Mar 2019: This place is GREAT if you love smelling pit through the thin walls of the apartments, if you like to step on dog poop every three feet, if you like rude leasing staff, if you like to have mail stolen out of your mailbox because your box has been broken and the office was notified over three weeks ago. Live here if you want to park on the other side of the complex. Live here if you want to be cat called by people. Live here if you want to pay close to $1000 For a 500 sq. ft. Apartment that has no storage or functionality. My lease is up at the end of July. The only good thing about Hillside is Julian. I'm not one to bash but this place is horrible and I hate coming home here every day. Review from Google
Feb 2019: Love this place!! Staff is so friendly. Jaemie and Katie go out of their way to make sure your concerns and questions are addressed. Service team is always on top of work orders and gets them done quickly. Location to campus can't be beat. Parking is going to be tight anywhere close to campus. It comes with the territory. Truthfully, there isn't much the front office can do about it, so yelling at them, or getting your parents to, won't magically make more parking appear. Next time maybe take this into consideration as one of your needs for your next apartment. You'll find yourself paying a pretty premium or farther from campus. They have awesome amenities. The gym and pool/grills are my favorite!! Review from Google
Feb 2019: I have lived at Hillside for about a year and it has been nothing but amazing! Before moving in, I had looked at many other living spaces in San Marcos and Hillside by far has the best rates & staff! I would recommend living here to anyone! Review from Google
Feb 2019: Sick location. It’s a great place to feel at home. Beautiful to the eye, and the staff is super chill. Review from Google
Feb 2019: I have lived here since August 2018 and I love it. They are always so sweet in the office and are constantly coming up with ways to have resident involvement. While it is slightly pricey I believe it to be completely worth the money and love being a resident. Review from Google
Feb 2019: This place was a great first apartment for me and my boyfriend! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Definitely one of the cheaper places to live in San Marcos! Only think I wish is that they had a bigger dog park and that the apartment side units were a little more updated! Review from Google
Jan 2019: It's not cheep, but they'd be fair to charge WAYYY more (And I say that on my own making minimum). The only way you don't give this place five stars is if you've never lived anywhere else and you're under the impression that magical fairy pixies clean everything up and keep everything in order and even then the maintenance people would give them a run for their money. The office staff is consistently nice and friendly. We've always been treated with respect by them and have had pretty much 0 issues with them. The only complaints we have had is that there was a change in the floor colors from the model to the apartment we received (more of an issue with the Fiance than me) and it's something that doesn't even put a dent in the seriously supreme effort put in by the maintenance staffs speed and the office staffs effort. There are events hos Review from Google
Jan 2019: So far I’ve lived here for almost a year and I love it no problems with anything the parking sucks but that’s about it. Review from Google
Jan 2019: I absolutely love hillside!!! its very close to campus and not only is it a pretty place but the staff is awesome, always very helpful! :) Review from Google
Nov 2018: If I could rate no stars I would! Worst expierence I’ve ever had. I do not feel welcome here when paying legal residents aren’t guaranteed parking spots. The office is well aware of the problem yet fail to offer any solution. For the most part they tell you tough luck. When asking for suggestions for future reference they told my girl friend to park her car with hazards on walk around the parking lot at 4:00 in the morning and find illegally parked cars. Then proceed to call a towing company wait till they came out and towed the car to find a parking spot. There is so many things wrong with this never would I ever want a women to walk around at that time of night alone, nor call a stranger to meet her at this time of night to tow a car for her. Review from Google
Nov 2018: The parking here is kind of annoying, especially during the first month of move in. Having friends over is really hard in terms of finding them a parking spot, and for most apartments it's pretty far away. Not too far from campus, and I've never had any issue with the bus. There's a lot of parties that go on here and they leave a huge mess all over the complex (and are super loud), but that seems to be typical for san marcos. Rent is pretty expensive, and they add a lot of weird fees every month. Review from Google
Oct 2018: The apartments themselves are nice and the location is really great for school. The only somewhat bad part is parking (which is occasionally impossible) but otherwise it's a really good place to live. Review from Google
Oct 2018: Loved this complex! Maintenence and staff were always friendly and accommodating!
Sep 2018: I've changed my review to 1 star as 3 months after I moved out, I'm now getting rude calls from a debt collector. They said they are calling on behalf of hillside, and have spammed call me 7 times in the past hour without leaving a voicemail Then when I did answer, they said that my account has been sent to collections and they sent a letter August 4th 1) Hillside has never attempted to call me to inform me that I owe any money 2) I have received nothing in the mail When I asked the debt collector for a copy of the bill in writing, she specifically said "Now why would I help you if you aren't resolving it right now" This is a dirty practice to target college students like this, and with no formal process of collecting any debts before affecting their credit score. When I reached out to my roommates, they received similar bills in the mail Review from Google
Sep 2018: Hillside is continually disappointing. The apartments are big, and everything inside the apartments is nice, but the parking is an absolute disaster. It's a big complex with a lot of parking, but if you have to drive somewhere late, you're most likely not getting a spot. I work late, and I've had to stay at someone else's apartment multiple times because there's absolutely no parking. For the price I'm paying for this apartment, I expect to at least be able to park my car and sleep at my own apartment, but so far, it seems that's too much to ask. Review from Google
Jun 2018: Horrible rude office staff. Maintenance workers are great though. They made me pay a late fee of $45 because they forgot to process my payment. Also, don't expect to get any of the referral money they promise you. My entire experience living here has been a huge let down. Review from Google

Back to Previous

If you like Hillside Ranch reviews or think they are acceptable, check out Hillside Ranch ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near TEXAS-STATE.

Page One Reviews | Next Page Reviews, Page 2





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap