select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
Cottages of San Marcos ▷ Reviews

Cottages of San Marcos


Grade: of 37 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Feb 2019: The Cottages is a great place to stay! I love their response time to maintenance and the area is Ana amazing view. Review from Google
Feb 2019: I have lived at the Cottages since August. My roommate and I wish we would have lived here all 3 years instead of our last. When we moved in the place was clean the only problem was that our washer wasn’t working but we put in a maintenance request and it was fixed in 2 days! Highly recommend. Review from Google
Feb 2019: If I could zero stars I would. My sons truck was STOLEN from the complex. When I called the complex to ask if they had cameras the girl said no they just have fake cameras up, so no gate and fake cameras! I called again and asked how we could get a parking pass for the rental car. They said well we need a police report. So I stay on the phone and email the card with the officers number and case number to Michele, then Michele says no we need the actual report. Well in San Marcos you have to go in person to get the report. I tell them my son is working from 7am -6pm that day and the police station closes at 5pm. Guess what, they tow the rental that night. My son goes in to find out what is going onand gets a “oh sorry”from Brooks. I call raise all kinds of hell and then he offers visitor parking???? Why didn’t they offer that in the first Review from Google
Jan 2019: The cottages have to be the best homes to live in. The staff is always ready to lend a helping hand! Review from Google
Jan 2019: I would highly recommend! The staff is amazing and they really care about making your living experience here great. Only complaint is it is a little pricy to live here, but that is like most complexes in San Marcos. Review from Google
Jan 2019: The cottages is such a great place to live. The new management is so nice and friendly. They have great amenities and are always giving their residents the best treatment! Review from Google
Dec 2018: Do not listen to any positive reviews from December 4th. They are giving away free tacos only IF you leave a 5 star review. Review from Google
Nov 2018: Lived here for two years and I loved it! Private shuttle to campus and great community. Review from Google
📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

When should I start looking for student housing? Student housing is very different than most apartments. In most apartments you would start looking two months or so before you want to move. In student housing the search starts in October of the year before....read more

What is the benefit of a relet over a sublease? A relet is a much cleaner agreement. The original leasee is no longer liable for any unpaid rent, or damages. This means there is a clean cut-over and has much less risk to the original leasee. While there is usually a little cost involved with th...read more

Oct 2018: This is a great apartment complex, that has great management. I know from past reviews that management has been an issue, but they are apart of Cardinal Management group now and the staff is very helpful and sweet, never had a problem, nothing but good experiences! Maintenance is always very fast, roommate matching was great and i got similar personality roommates. Highly recommend! Review from Google
Sep 2018: I lived here for 2 years, the first year when it was managed by Capstone and the second when it changed management to Cardinal Managing group. The new management is a complete joke. If you want anything done don’t bother calling their number unless you love automated messages. When you go up to the office you are greeted by a very friendly staff, but when real problems arise (which they do a lot) the management does the minimal effort to deal with your problems. I would recommend living elsewhere. Review from Google
Aug 2018: Be weary of all the 5 star reviews, there were a few occasions when the clubhouse offered a "free food party" event, etc but would not allow you to participate till you gave them a 5 star review and proved it to them. Quite a phony thing to do. The house itself is very outdated and dirty, AC does not work well, and there are few parking spots for visitors unless you live on one certain side of the property. The trash dumpster is also located on only the left side of the property, very inconvenient for the entire other side of residents. Lived with 3 other energy-efficient roommates and still paid at least $60 a month (per person) on utilities, and on one occasion paid over $100. Regardless of making an effort to turn all the lights off when not in use and even stopped using the dishwasher, we continued to receive ridiculous bills for utilities Review from Google
Jun 2018: This seems like a great place to live until you actually live here. The apartments are not clean upon move-in, maintenance half-fixes things every time, and the amenities are often not working. They make you give them positive reviews online in order to receive food at resident events and care more about getting new leases than caring for their current residents. Review from Google
Jun 2018: I’ve been living here since August ‘17 before they changed management.. new owners made no difference in anything. The staff is rude, the electricity goes out, walls are too thin, constantly shutting down the pool, no one cleans after their dogs outside, AC is always going out in the summer. over priced for what they have to offer. I wouldnt waste your money here. I lived at the Retreat for two years & wish I wouldve stayed for a third Review from Google
May 2018: Management has completely changed over the past year. Jason and his team have drastically changed how things are handled and their quick response on work orders and issues are greatly appreciated. I couldn't be more pleased with their professional service, their followups and great customer service. Great job, keep it up. Review from Google
May 2018: When I signed my lease, I put "absooutely no dogs," yet I was put into a house with two dogs. The house was trashed on the day that I moved in (they hadn't cleaned since the last residents). Everything was disguisting and the carpets were completely stained with animal urine (My roommates and I had to do the cleaning). Also, there were several holes in the walls throughout the house and light fixtures that did not work. At the beginning of the year my roommate had the tires stolen off of his truck right in front of our house. It's the least safe place I've lived at in four years of college. They also offered incentives to residents who leave them positive reviews to falsely inflate their online ratings. All of the office employees are super friendly and helpful but the managers are the opposite. Live here at your own risk! Review from Google
Apr 2018: I enjoy livin here! Nice student apartments and it’s close to campus. It also has a private shuttle so that’s convenient instead of waiting for a campus bus. Review from Google
Apr 2018: Great place to live only downside is the private shuttle is not very reliable. Consistently breaks down and rountrip from cottages to campus tends to be 30-40 minutes (depending on the driver: they will sit at the bus stop to smoke a cigarette or use the phone and you can argue that they are allocating time for students to arrive to the bus stop but again this behavior is inconsistent.) when Cottages is only a 5 minute drive from campus. I know there is a mapped out schedule the driver is told to follow but it is not operated accordingly. Management has recently changed and they have fixed a lot of issues and improvements continue to show, but the shuttle service continues to be neglected. Review from Google
Mar 2018: My daughter lived there for 2 years and we had a great experience.The Management team was super accommodating and the amenities were also wonderful! My daughter especially enjoyed the Sauna and steam room! I highly recommend these cottages for any student looking for fabulous housing! Review from Google
Mar 2018: New management! Amazing staff! always willing to help and fix any issues you have. Been living here for a while and can say I always see grounds keepers out making sure grounds are clean. Pool is HUGE! There’s also a clubhouse with arcade games, pool table, TVs, gym, yoga room, sauna, and tanning bed...bacisally everything you need. Review from Google
Mar 2018: Definitely not what I expected (my expectations weren’t even high to begin with). When I moved in there were problems on top of problems. For instance, there was a huge hole kicked into my door, stains all over my carpet, our windows downstairs wouldn’t lock (they told us they’d come by to look at it but never showed) the windows don’t have screens so it’s easy for someone so just open the window and come in. Those were just a few problems. They told us that we wouldn’t have to pay for furniture throughout the year (the deal we signed up for) but they end up charging you for it anyway. I signed up to pay $599 a month plus utilities but now it’s $700+ a month. Don’t waste your time with this place. It’s not worth your money. They have a nice pool and it looks nice but they something is always broken in the gym, and the bus breaks down every other
Mar 2018: Don’t believe the comments that say positive things because it’s probably the staff posting them. They don’t care about their residents like places I’ve lived in before. The only good thing about this place is the pool and the fact that it’s not too far from school. Other than that I suggest a different place because you will waste your time and money here
Nov 2017: This place is honestly not what I signed up for. As soon as I walked in to my unit on moving day, I had to deal with scuffs and stains on my walls, furniture and mattress. My roommates and I have had to put in maintenance orders almost every week because of how often things break or just stop working. Also, the bus shuttle is honestly the worse. First off, I do not feel safe riding it since most of the drivers are reckless. Secondly, this bus shuttle is not reliable at all. It has broken down multiple times, the a/c doesn't work and it sometimes takes 30-45 minutes to make a round trip. Thirdly, it doesn't pick up from campus from 12:30-1:15 everyday, so your basically out of luck and stuck on campus if your class gets out at 12:20. New management is really uptight and has a lot of residents feeling like if they're living in dorms again. My Review from Google
Nov 2017: During my stay in San Marcos, i lived in Capstone for 2 years, and it was the best living situation i had ever received. The rooms were amazing, my roommates were incredible. My entire house was immaculate. I got mine furnished, and it was better quality than i had expected. The pool and gym however were my favorite parts. During the tour, the staff members took us first through the gym and then upstairs to get a birds eyeview of the pool and it was an instant yes. I had looked at multiple apartments while hunting, and this one was by far the only one that felt like home. But most importantly, the staff made living here as comfortable and easy for a college student as they possibly could. Any issue i had, the team at the clubhouse would help me with the most quickness and efficiency i probably have ever seen. The customer service is pretty imp Review from Google
Nov 2017: This is my third year living at Capstone and there’s a reason I’ve chosen to stay for so long. For student living, it is better than most other places in San Marcos. I’ve heard horror stories, and I haven’t had any issues that can compare. Most of the issues I’ve had have been maintenance issues and have been resolved. Ariana has been the most help to me while living at Capstone. She always treats me kindly and respectfully, whether I call for information, stop by the front desk to pick up packages, voice concerns, etc, she always attends me with a smile and cheery attitude. It’s refreshing to have a young staff that is respectful and not improper or ill-trained. The cottages are a great place to live if you’re looking for STUDENT LIVING (emphasis on student living because you’ll probably hate it otherwise.) Love the look of Review from Google
Oct 2017: Definitely one of the best housing options around! The living spaces are super nice and the pool is amazing. All the neighbors have been very friendly and the management/staff Is excellent, especially Weston Kirk, who was super helpful during the leasing process and with any problems I had while living there. Would definitely recommend! Review from Google



TEXAS-STATE Cottages of San Marcos Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap