select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

West 20


Grade: of 35 reviews

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Aug 2019: After two years of living at West 20, unfortunately I will not be recommending this place to anyone. Management changes every year. Mosquito infestations, roaches, clogged showers, and maintenance requests that don’t fix them. We had a fridge that didn’t work and spoiled our food and they refused to get us a new one for so long. I’ve had the ceiling fan light bulb come unscrewed after maintenance replaced the bulb and shattered glass in my bedroom. For a time period our AC was broken and we still got charged heavily on utilities. Once they “accidentally” double charged all residents for utilities. After move-in they informed residents they were dropping cable services, without reducing the rent. The online portal was shut down for a period where you couldn’t pay your bills online and had to send a check. This place is also relatively far from campus. You can try to rely on the bus system but as this is the last stop most buses are full and will skip the stop especially in the morning Review from Google
Aug 2019: I’ve lived at West 20 for two years, my overall experience did not meet my expectations. While the units in general were decent looking, I wasn’t a fan of the vinyl wood flooring and the thin walls. I’d prefer not to hear other residents’ conversations when I’m studying or just relaxing. My biggest complaint above all is their management, some of the more qualified employees that used to work for West 20 are no longer there so it’s mainly comprised of new people who aren’t very sure of what they’re supposed to be doing. Every time I’ve called them about an issue with my unit or my resident portal, they were either insanely rude or just very lazy and did not seem to be interested in resolving my specific problem. At the beginning of my 2018-19 leasing year with this complex, Conservice double-charged me for utilities and the management did nothing to resolve the inaccurate fees Review from Google
Jul 2019: A nice place to live, decent prices, and relaxed community. They don’t take out the recycle trash too often though, not a huge deal, but can definitely get a little frustrating at times. Overall, good place to live. Review from Google
Jul 2019: Samantha was super helpful from the jump and answered all of our questions perfectly! She was completely honest about our options which can be hard to find when you are buying/renting from a company. Completely recommend handling any kind of business with her, I watched her handle different situations with flawless ease while still staying level-headed. Review from Google
Jul 2019: I’ve been a resident at West 20 for the last two years and I have to say that my experience here was awful most of the time. The apartment units in general aren’t that bad, but the management is by the worst I’ve ever seen. They’re usually pretty friendly if you catch them on a good day, but they are extremely disorganized and unqualified. They’ve lost or stolen at least two packages of mine these last two years and when a package actually arrives at their office it could be days before you get a delivery notice saying that your package has been delivered. They are impossible to cooperate with if you are reporting any issues or concerns over the phone, you have to actually walk into their office and confront them directly about a problem you’re having with your unit, otherwise they won’t do anything about it. Which is very infuriating. Luckily, I’m moving out this week and switching apartments so I’m hoping my student living experience will improve tremendously knowing I won’t have to deal with West 20 ever again Review from Google
Jun 2019: Although West 20 is ok to live at, be careful when you move out because you might notice an abundance of random charges from management like I did. The fact they have changed management twice in the time I lived there(2 years) should be a big enough hint that management probably doesn't have their stuff together and are eager to make a quick buck off you. don't live here unless you are expecting to pay for stuff like I had to such as $175 for a tiny hole in the mattress that was already on it when you moved in and a "dusting fee" when you move out. Also, have fun paying for an extra security fee included in the monthly rent when in reality the apartment gate is broken every other week. I have included the image of the mattress they charged me for below. Review from Google
Jun 2019: Although West 20 is ok to live at, be careful when you move out because you might notice an abundance of random charges from management like I did. The fact they have changed management twice in the time I lived there(2 years) should be a big enough hint that management probably doesn't have their stuff together and are eager to make a quick buck off you. don't live here unless you are expecting to pay for stuff like I had to such as $175 for a tiny hole in the mattress that was already on it when you moved in and a "dusting fee" when you move out. Also, have fun paying for an extra security fee included in the monthly rent when in reality the apartment gate is broken every other week. I have included the image of the mattress they charged me for below. Review from Google
Apr 2019: Great prices and not too far from campus. The staff is great and always help you with what you need. The new management has been doing a great job! Every maintenance request is fulfilled quickly and they have been renovating the property a lot! Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

Renting a college apartment vs renting a house In this series of answers, we will mention a couple of key differences and continue the discussion in a multipart answer because there are lots of differences and somethings might not be as easily noticeable. Apartments generally have a lot of ame...read more

What is FAFSA? And why does it matter? According to Wikipedia FAFSA is a way for students to get financial aid. It can significantly reduce your college cost. Check it out. The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA...read more

Apr 2019: Great prices and not too far from campus. The staff is great and always help you with what you need. The new management has been doing a great job! Every maintenance request is fulfilled quickly and they have been renovating the property a lot! Review from Google
Mar 2019: Roland and the West20 management have been extremely accommodating. I'm very grateful that Roland was able to take care of my situation. I definitely recommend living here. The community is nice. Proximity to campus and grocery stores and restaurants is excellent. And, it's affordable. Thank you Roland for helping and working with me! Review from Google
Mar 2019: Roland and the West20 management have been extremely accommodating. I'm very grateful that Roland was able to take care of my situation. I definitely recommend living here. The community is nice. Proximity to campus and grocery stores and restaurants is excellent. And, it's affordable. Thank you Roland for helping and working with me! Review from Google
Mar 2019: West 20’s management is unorganized, dishonest, and rude. Their office people are kind but not very trained students. Their good location and clean property does not outweigh the bad customer service. West 20’s website said that they were offering a promotional visa gift card for early signers. When I decided to sign, I called to confirm that I would receive the promotion and asked when I would receive it, and they told me it would be given upon completion of the signing. After signing, I called again and they stated that I would receive it within 30 days of move-in. I even e-signed a paper posted onto my account confirming the reward. When I visited the office with my family, I reviewed the lease information and they confirmed that I would receive the promotion. However, they deleted the file from my account without informing me and did not respond to my emails. When I called and asked, management rudely stated that I hadn’t signed during the promotional period and condescendingly spoke down to me trying to explain how promotions work Review from Google
Mar 2019: West 20’s management is unorganized, dishonest, and rude. Their office people are kind but not very trained students. Their good location and clean property does not outweigh the bad customer service. West 20’s website said that they were offering a promotional visa gift card for early signers. When I decided to sign, I called to confirm that I would receive the promotion and asked when I would receive it, and they told me it would be given upon completion of the signing. After signing, I called again and they stated that I would receive it within 30 days of move-in. I even e-signed a paper posted onto my account confirming the reward. When I visited the office with my family, I reviewed the lease information and they confirmed that I would receive the promotion. However, they deleted the file from my account without informing me and did not respond to my emails. When I called and asked, management rudely stated that I hadn’t signed during the promotional period and condescendingly spoke down to me trying to explain how promotions work Review from Google
Jan 2019: I truly believe that West 20 is trying to set a record for worst rated apartment complex ever. Whenever I think management cannot be any worse, they go out and prove me wrong. They're nothing if not determined. At the start of the semester we found out that West 20 would be dropping our cable. Do you think they lowered our rent price? NO! The hot tub and basketball lights haven't been working all semester. How is this possible? I'm honestly not sure what it is that maintenance does all day, but I know what they don't do, maintenance. To make matters worse the West 20 portal is down, so I can no longer pay my rent online but I have to pay with either a check or a money order. I've always wondered what it's like to live in 1980, but now I know. West 20 continuously finds new ways to tarnish my apartment experience. I used to get mad when they would "West 20" it up, but I honestly find enjoyment from it now, and I always wonder how they continue to top their previous screw ups. Review from Google
Jan 2019: I truly believe that West 20 is trying to set a record for worst rated apartment complex ever. Whenever I think management cannot be any worse, they go out and prove me wrong. They're nothing if not determined. At the start of the semester we found out that West 20 would be dropping our cable. Do you think they lowered our rent price? NO! The hot tub and basketball lights haven't been working all semester. How is this possible? I'm honestly not sure what it is that maintenance does all day, but I know what they don't do, maintenance. To make matters worse the West 20 portal is down, so I can no longer pay my rent online but I have to pay with either a check or a money order. I've always wondered what it's like to live in 1980, but now I know. West 20 continuously finds new ways to tarnish my apartment experience. I used to get mad when they would "West 20" it up, but I honestly find enjoyment from it now, and I always wonder how they continue to top their previous screw ups. Review from Google
Jun 2018: Staff is comprised for college students who are just looking for a pay check and do not follow procedures. Sounds easy and great, except it screws over the tenants. The result is I was changed repeatedly for things that were processed incorrectly by the staff. A year after I moved out, debt collections has notified me that West 20 charged me fees and never notified me. Of course there is no paperwork on file, every member of the staff is new because no one stays longer than 6 months. The exception is Kayla, the regional manager. She’s sweet and easy to work with. However, I’ll never recommend this complex to anyone if they value there time and money. Review from Google
Apr 2018: Its been 2 years since I left West 20 from my 2/2 apartment and I've gone back and forth about posting this review several times and today I felt it needed to be heard. I lived there for 2 years before I left in November of 2016. The complex is great as far as location, very convenient to get to UF, the grocery store, and the other shopping area is a quick 10 min walk or 5 min drive to Archer Plaza. The community staff and maintenance team were always helpful, nice and great to have around probably the best part about living there to be honest. I can not say the same about the leasing staff. Since I moved in in 2014 (when the complex was still the Estates) the leasing staff has gotten worse every year. They are unprofessional, unhelpful with roommate issues, and are really only concerned about you paying your rent on time. The rates increased Review from Google
Apr 2018: I have lived at West 20 for almost three years, and it has been an amazing experience to say the least. It all begins with the staff. The staff is so incredibly helpful and is always on your side if you have questions or concerns. For example, they never lose your packages and always respond to maintenance requests. Every interaction is met with a cheerful attitude and a smiling face. As for amenities, where do I begin! The A/C is completely mold free, and I'm sure if there was some mold there, the staff would get it fixed for you in an instant. The dryer works amazingly well, the sink is always fully functional, and the gate.... the gate is easily one of the best pieces of equipment on the premises. I can't emphasize how well that thing works, and it is so quiet! Nothing has ever been so soundless at 2 in the morning. It really is incredibl Review from Google
Mar 2018: Out of all the apartments that I've toured around the UF area, West 20 has been the best bang for your buck at a great location near Campus. The buses to get to campus are frequent so there is no worrying about ever getting to class on time. The staff are very helpful when retrieving large packages from the main office. Whenever I have a maintenance problem in my apartment, the process to address it is super fast and easy and they fix it surprisingly quickly. I have been living here for about a year and I already signed my lease for next year as well. I definitely recommend living here. Review from Google
Mar 2018: West 20 is everything you would ever expect from a college living complex- rowdy neighbors, great proximity to campus, amenities that are always clean and fitting for collegiate residents, and young management. A few things worth noting are that since management is young, the few times that I personally have had any grand issues with my apt (my AC was broken for a week) I had to contact the company that owns West 20 to truly see action and maintenance do a good job. On that note, the younger management does do a great job at advertising and hosting events for the complex, which residents reap the benefits from. Aside from management, the only other reason this review isnt 5/5 stars is because all around my apartment, each one of my neighbors are typical college students who host parties until 3 am and/or feel privileged enough to come banging Review from Google
Mar 2018: Overall good experience, close to SW Rec and all of the popular Archer Road restaurants. Also a great selection of grocery stores in butler plaza. Excellent bus service routes 20, 21, and 28. I think the one issue I have is that amenities (water, electricity and starting soon, TV) are not included. My experience with work orders are good, never takes long. Review from Google
Mar 2018: I left West-20 last summer and have thought many times about writing this review. I'm typically not one to complain in a forum like this, but it has reached a point that their poor service has pushed me to review. In my two years living at West-20, management consistently demonstrated a lack of professionalism and competency. Pros: Maintenance was typically quick in my experience, buses to campus come frequently. Cons: Upon moving out, I was assessed a $30 cleaning fee for a supposedly dirty shower/tub. I would gladly pay this charge if I had not engaged in a pre-move-out walk-through with their staff. This did in fact occur, and their staff member told me everything looked good - this led me to believe I would not be charged for anything within my unit. At the beginning of the following fall, I received the charge and called the office to Review from Google
Feb 2018: This apartment complex is absolutely horrible. Everything is cheaply built and often malfunctions, which I can live with, but I cannot live with the poor management. The office is supposedly open until 6 on weekdays. However, they close and open sporadically often ignoring the schedule posted, making picking up packages and talking to staff nearly impossible. The manager is very rude and often ignores complaints or blows us off entirely. Many of the amenities that are promised upon signing are not actually available. The free gift-cards for signing early have never been delivered despite reminding staff constantly about them. I am convinced that they are nonexistent. Also, the internet connection is absolute trash despite the many "upgrades" they have gone through. I call the office for connection problems then they send me to the internet pro Review from Google
Dec 2017: If I could give this place a zero I could. My sister lives here and she hasn’t had a working washer or dryer since the 6 months she has been living there. She complained of a weird smell and noises multiple times and was made fun of by mangers saying she was the girl hearing things in the walls. It turns out they had a bat infestation and didn’t tell anyone. They also had a malfunction with the fire alarm sprinklers that soaked her whole apartment and ruined all of her belongs that they refused to replace. They also wouldn’t allow her to break the lease after all of this. Mind you, we had to clear out all of her belongings in one day, on her birthday. It took all day and they will not replace a single thing. Horrible place, horrible people👎🏼 Review from Google
Dec 2017: When I first moved in, there were a few things I was worried about and Jason and Ronard worked with me to alleviate those problems. Since then, I have been very pleased with West 20 and have decided to renew for next year. My maintenance requests are taken care of very quickly and the staff is very friendly. The price is great for the location and proximity to campus are some of the biggest pros about living here, but the apartments are nice and spacious as well. All in all, my roommates and I have made our apartment very homey and I plan to live here for the next two years until I graduate! Review from Google

Back to Previous

If you like West 20 reviews or think they are acceptable, check out West 20 ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near SFCOLLEGE.





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap