select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu] West 20 ▷ Reviews

West 20

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Jun 2018: Staff is comprised for college students who are just looking for a pay check and do not follow procedures. Sounds easy and great, except it screws over the tenants. The result is I was changed repeatedly for things that were processed incorrectly by the staff. A year after I moved out, debt collections has notified me that West 20 charged me fees and never notified me. Of course there is no paperwork on file, every member of the staff is new because no one stays longer than 6 months. The exception is Kayla, the regional manager. She’s sweet and easy to work with. However, I’ll never recommend this complex to anyone if they value there time and money. Review from Google
Apr 2018: Its been 2 years since I left West 20 from my 2/2 apartment and I've gone back and forth about posting this review several times and today I felt it needed to be heard. I lived there for 2 years before I left in November of 2016. The complex is great as far as location, very convenient to get to UF, the grocery store, and the other shopping area is a quick 10 min walk or 5 min drive to Archer Plaza. The community staff and maintenance team were always helpful, nice and great to have around probably the best part about living there to be honest. I can not say the same about the leasing staff. Since I moved in in 2014 (when the complex was still the Estates) the leasing staff has gotten worse every year. They are unprofessional, unhelpful with roommate issues, and are really only concerned about you paying your rent on time. The rates increased Review from Google
Apr 2018: I have lived at West 20 for almost three years, and it has been an amazing experience to say the least. It all begins with the staff. The staff is so incredibly helpful and is always on your side if you have questions or concerns. For example, they never lose your packages and always respond to maintenance requests. Every interaction is met with a cheerful attitude and a smiling face. As for amenities, where do I begin! The A/C is completely mold free, and I'm sure if there was some mold there, the staff would get it fixed for you in an instant. The dryer works amazingly well, the sink is always fully functional, and the gate.... the gate is easily one of the best pieces of equipment on the premises. I can't emphasize how well that thing works, and it is so quiet! Nothing has ever been so soundless at 2 in the morning. It really is incredibl Review from Google
Mar 2018: Out of all the apartments that I've toured around the UF area, West 20 has been the best bang for your buck at a great location near Campus. The buses to get to campus are frequent so there is no worrying about ever getting to class on time. The staff are very helpful when retrieving large packages from the main office. Whenever I have a maintenance problem in my apartment, the process to address it is super fast and easy and they fix it surprisingly quickly. I have been living here for about a year and I already signed my lease for next year as well. I definitely recommend living here. Review from Google
Mar 2018: West 20 is everything you would ever expect from a college living complex- rowdy neighbors, great proximity to campus, amenities that are always clean and fitting for collegiate residents, and young management. A few things worth noting are that since management is young, the few times that I personally have had any grand issues with my apt (my AC was broken for a week) I had to contact the company that owns West 20 to truly see action and maintenance do a good job. On that note, the younger management does do a great job at advertising and hosting events for the complex, which residents reap the benefits from. Aside from management, the only other reason this review isnt 5/5 stars is because all around my apartment, each one of my neighbors are typical college students who host parties until 3 am and/or feel privileged enough to come banging Review from Google
Mar 2018: Overall good experience, close to SW Rec and all of the popular Archer Road restaurants. Also a great selection of grocery stores in butler plaza. Excellent bus service routes 20, 21, and 28. I think the one issue I have is that amenities (water, electricity and starting soon, TV) are not included. My experience with work orders are good, never takes long. Review from Google
Mar 2018: I left West-20 last summer and have thought many times about writing this review. I'm typically not one to complain in a forum like this, but it has reached a point that their poor service has pushed me to review. In my two years living at West-20, management consistently demonstrated a lack of professionalism and competency. Pros: Maintenance was typically quick in my experience, buses to campus come frequently. Cons: Upon moving out, I was assessed a $30 cleaning fee for a supposedly dirty shower/tub. I would gladly pay this charge if I had not engaged in a pre-move-out walk-through with their staff. This did in fact occur, and their staff member told me everything looked good - this led me to believe I would not be charged for anything within my unit. At the beginning of the following fall, I received the charge and called the office to Review from Google
Feb 2018: This apartment complex is absolutely horrible. Everything is cheaply built and often malfunctions, which I can live with, but I cannot live with the poor management. The office is supposedly open until 6 on weekdays. However, they close and open sporadically often ignoring the schedule posted, making picking up packages and talking to staff nearly impossible. The manager is very rude and often ignores complaints or blows us off entirely. Many of the amenities that are promised upon signing are not actually available. The free gift-cards for signing early have never been delivered despite reminding staff constantly about them. I am convinced that they are nonexistent. Also, the internet connection is absolute trash despite the many "upgrades" they have gone through. I call the office for connection problems then they send me to the internet pro Review from Google
Dec 2017: If I could give this place a zero I could. My sister lives here and she hasn’t had a working washer or dryer since the 6 months she has been living there. She complained of a weird smell and noises multiple times and was made fun of by mangers saying she was the girl hearing things in the walls. It turns out they had a bat infestation and didn’t tell anyone. They also had a malfunction with the fire alarm sprinklers that soaked her whole apartment and ruined all of her belongs that they refused to replace. They also wouldn’t allow her to break the lease after all of this. Mind you, we had to clear out all of her belongings in one day, on her birthday. It took all day and they will not replace a single thing. Horrible place, horrible people👎🏼 Review from Google
Dec 2017: When I first moved in, there were a few things I was worried about and Jason and Ronard worked with me to alleviate those problems. Since then, I have been very pleased with West 20 and have decided to renew for next year. My maintenance requests are taken care of very quickly and the staff is very friendly. The price is great for the location and proximity to campus are some of the biggest pros about living here, but the apartments are nice and spacious as well. All in all, my roommates and I have made our apartment very homey and I plan to live here for the next two years until I graduate! Review from Google
Dec 2017: First, the manager Jason needs to be fired. I've considered starting a petition even after leaving with all my friends who still live there hating his management, but honestly just call Scion directly and hopefully someone wakes up over there someday. He is ridiculously rude and shows zero compassion for residents and he deserves none from Scion. They are super nice to get you to sign on the line, then as soon as that happens get ready to have a lawyer on standby which at one point I did. I moved out of this place and pay less in midtown now with a property manager who let's me live in peace, imagine that! When there are issues did you know you could get it resolved in less than 3 visits to the office? Maintenance is GREAT notice all good reviews are toward them, but the office is so incompetent I pray for those maintenance guys sanity. In fac Review from Google
Nov 2017: This place is awful!!!!! DO NOT MOVE HERE! This place wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't for the terrible management. Jason (manager) is the most rude person you will ever meet. I haven't even moved in yet and I'm already having problems with them! (EDIT: Jason called me out on the fact that I wrote a bad review and when I had to move in, my apartment wasn't even ready. I had to wait two days to finally move in to my apartment. Jason is the worst manager I have ever seen and I don't understand how he still has this job. He won't care if you have a problem so say goodbye to any help once you sign a lease here! I cannot wait to move out) Review from Google
Oct 2017: They are extremely unprofessional. They act as if college aged renters are children and they do not give them any respect. It’s absolutely ridiculous. They make us pay for a gated community however there is at least one gate open at all times. They didn’t order enough fobs, which does not make sense considering they knew the exact amount of people moving in, so many of us had to go weeks without the amenities we are paying for and there are still people without fobs. I’ve filed maintaince requests for the multiple outlets in my room that don’t work and for the bathroom fan. They come and say nothings wrong and don’t fix the issue. Only 5 of my 10 outlets work. They think they can get over on us because we are not “adults”. I can not wait to move out of west 20 Review from Google
Jul 2017: My experience at West 20 has been beyond amazing. I normally don't review anything, but I think good service should sometimes be recognized. Upon moving in, I was helped by a very welcoming staff who ensured me that they would help make my time at West 20 as enjoyable as possible. Whenever I went into the office, the housing consultants were very professional and kind. Besides the fantastic management, the maintenance team does a great job at getting my work orders done in a timely fashion. This will be my second year living at West 20 and I honestly wouldn't trade it for any other complex. If you're looking for an affordable new place to call your home, look into West 20. I promise you, you wont regret it! Review from 7/21/17 on Yelp
Apr 2017: My experience here started off better than its ending. Living here is fine. The bus system is good. My room is pretty cozy. I enjoy my roommates. I don't like sharing a wall. My AC isn't very strong in my room and I have to use my fan to stay cool. Review from 4/25/17 on Google
Apr 2017: Before you read this, just know that all of the people who gave this place 4-5 stars works in the office of west 20. Here are a few things you should know before you sign a lease here.... I never have problems with noise or nasty neighbors. They just installed new furniture and wood flooring, which is really nice, and they are soon to add new appliances as well (fridge, microwave, dishwasher...but no washer/dryer changes). Additionally, the maintenance workers are absolutely fabulous. HOWEVER, my only complaint is the overall managing of this complex, which is a very big problem. Managers are extremely rude and their "upgrades" seem to be too much for them to handle. Review from 4/13/17 on Google
Apr 2017: This place was okay. I lived here for three years, two of which it was still The Estates. The last year I lived with West 20, and honestly the change of management was a nightmare. For example, one day I was stepping into the shower and I hear a knock on my bedroom door and someone yelling "Strip your bed, we're taking your mattress!" So I had someone with no warning take my normal, decent, comfortable mattress and replace it with a hard, uncomfortable, dorm style bed. They also replaced a medium sized desk with shelving with a small table that they tried to pass off as a desk, and a five drawer dresser with a newer and smaller four drawer one. Review from 4/3/17 on Google
Mar 2017: Lived there a year ago, horrible place. They keep raising the rent so it's not worth it. First off, the utilities are insane. Overage no matter if you and roommates have unplugged and turned off everything. The air conditioner is a joke, expect the front room to never receive any air. You can report it all you want, just expect somebody to tell you they looked at it, topped it off. Never will it be fixed. Never live in building six as you won't have water pressure, once again they say they fix it but the shower will squeal and put out very little water on good days. The bad days you don't get to take a shower. The gate will always be broken, should just be removed. Review from 3/28/17 on Google
Feb 2017: So terrible I wouldn't bother. Staff is very rude and unable to compromise or help. When moving in, the apartment was disguising with old dried up food and dog food laying on the floor. The floors were full of dirt, my room had stains and bugs and the sink also had bugs. They Never came in to clean it even tho they claimed they did. The new appliances came in late and after they installed them, the people threw the food back in, breaking all the eggs, not to mention they left old water bottles on the couches. They also used all of our paper towels to clean up their mess and even though the office claimed it was wrong and was going to help us, we never heard back from them about the incident. After numerous service requests, the gates never seem to work and are very loud especially at night when I try to sleep. Review from 2/14/17 on Google
Feb 2017: The rooms are good, I'm living in a double on the third floor. You get your own bathroom, closet and bedroom (obviously). Community is great they have little parties in the pool occasionally, so that can be good or bad depending on who you are... Gym could be a little better, but still awesome. Not far from UF either by bus or car, so I'm pretty damn happy here. Review from 2/11/17 on Google

SFCOLLEGE West 20 Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap