select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu] University Oaks ▷ Reviews

University Oaks

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Jan 2019: This place is definitely a great place to live in for incoming UTSA or college freshman. The apartment dues already include water, electricity, cable, and gas so that lessens the stress that many others have to deal with. The staff helps greatly if you’re respectful and are needing assistance. There are programs all year long where residents can come learn or do fun stuff and win prizes. The apartments aren’t nearly as modern as the new ones around UTSA, but if you get creative like me, you can really updo a place by cleaning and adding/using temporary items to make the place feel and look like home. They allow pets which is another plus. I lived here when I was at UTSA, and now that I’m at UT Health I came right back due to not having to worry about extra bills, my pet, the great location, and just the right amount of space for the pric Review from Google
Dec 2018: I put in a work order and Don fixed it the very next day! Very good and fast work orders and service! --UPDATE---- The Wi-Fi has been out for several hours, and we don't know when it will be back. Given that this is an complex intended for college students, internet access is vital and this is unacceptable. Review from Google
Dec 2018: The logics of their front desk is flawless. I reported the constant internet disruption when trying to stream netflix, their solution is to tell me not to watch netflix. The maintenance person slam at your door in the morning without advanced notice, and will BREAK IN the place you pay rent for if you are too sleepy to answer it. Spend a whole day cleaning up the place before move out. It looks 10 times neater than the condition before i came there , and i was still imposed a $60 fee for not cleaning it properly.The dispute response turns out to be senseless as they wont tell you the details about where the stain is .Guess this is just another cash grab for them. Review from Google
Oct 2018: I stayed here over the summer and it was a mistake. They allowed me to move in to a completely dirty apartment and promised someone would come by to clean. That never happened and I ended up having to clean the apartment myself. The maintenance staff were slow to respond and half the time left before they finished. Please do not move here because there are better apartments all around. Choose anyone of the apartments in the area and you won’t have the issues I had. Review from Google
Sep 2018: Honestly, it has its perks (such as utilities are paid for, and its close to campus), but if you want to have your pet in your room, it has to be a cat or dog (only those two options), and they cannot weigh more than 30 lbs, which in my opinion the limit should be higher, at least for the people living in the bottom apartments. They can also reject pets if their breed is deemed as “too aggressive.” The room (at least the one I had) had damaged walls, making it seem a bit pricy. The thing that also makes this place great is that a majority of the staff is very friendly, and they have social events if you are into that sort of thing. Review from Google
Aug 2018: Literally the worst dorms ever, nasty industrial carpets, sewer tap water, AC was broken and took three times to fix, showers are dirty, dishwasher not unable, Yellow/White lighting(inconsistent), Student employees which are clueless, Maintenance are hire on's with little to no experience and are unprofessional, The bigger side completely floods due to the sprinkler system, laundry mats are a joke and everything kinda works. Finally they are too expensive, you can get much nicer living closer for cheaper. Review from Google
Aug 2018: I moved here in May and have enjoyed the atmosphere. The staff is friendly and helpful as well as the campus police. I also like it is a quick walk to class Review from Google
Jun 2018: I'm giving it a 1 star rating only because the RA's took so much flack from students and tried their hardest to fix situations because the actual workers couldn't do their jobs.. You get what you pay for here. I lived in a 4 bedroom and never stayed in it due to how disgusting it was when I arrived. The apartment smelt horrible, there was mold in the shower that had never been cleaned prior to us moving in, bugs in the carpet and around our window seals, and quite frankly the workers (not students), are of no help when asked questions or if you have concerns. Spend the extra $100 and move across the street to The Outpost. You or your son or daughter will thank me. Review from Google
Jun 2018: The buildings are in terrible condition, even after they refurbished the one I live in. Just a WARNING, once you sign that lease, you are required by law to pay that rent. So, examine your options carefully before deciding to come here. Update: After spending an additional year here since I didn't have elsewhere to stay due to the lease, the charges got worse. No matter what you clean, they'll charge you for it. For instance, we did have a damaged drip pan, but we replaced it and the other were clean, but they still charged for damages. They also charged me for damages and cleaning that I already listed on the move in inspection sheet, but they still charged for it. To me, this felt like I got scammed and I would rate this with 0 stars if that were possible. If you are looking for a place to stay at UTSA, I highly recommend not coming here. Review from Google
Jun 2018: TERRIBLE PLACE!!! DO NOT MOVE HERE!! The RAs are nice and thats it. Besides everything Constantly breaking and the roaches you cant even have any visitors. Im a handicapped individual and require nurses to visit and check on me, and all of them recieved multiple $100 fines for parking in front of my building. Keep im mind they are providing me medical care and were told they couldn’t park anywhere near my apartment. They have ZERO visitor parking. My AC broke in the summer and they tried not to do anything about it until i had my ADA lawyer call them and inform them IT WAS ILLEGAL FOR THEM TO NOT FIX IT. It was only after this that they put a temporary ac unit in my place. The place is deplorable and one of my nurses suggested me not to even stay there recovering from surgery because of the pest problem they have. One of the reasons i even Review from Google
May 2018: I've lived here for 3 years. Close to school and cheap and amenities included but the quality is terrible for the price you pay. You're better off going somewhere else given the recent upgrades other apartments are doing and the price increase of University oaks. The worst wifi you could ever get, even after buying my own router to boost the signal. You might as well move back to 1998. Windows are extremely drafty, I constantly feel a breeze on my face. AC blows in my room fine, but the heat is hardly usable. Laundry is $2 per load, which isn't TERRIBLE but other places provide free laundry. It's improved since I've moved here (hot water outages used to be common, very disorganized, one clubhouse was empty, very disorganized staff) but it's still awful. Walls are thin, rooms are either too hot or too cold. I got lucky with a working AC and i Review from Google
Apr 2018: University Oaks was not bad as others talk about it on here. The only complain I have is the slow WiFi but it’s like that at all the dorms in UTSA. I was EXTREMELY happy to get a queen bed. I love that everything is included in the rent. Review from Google
Apr 2018: THEY WILL LURE YOU AND THEN CHARGE YOU I ignored all reviews and signed a lease with University oaks from Summer 2014 to August 2015. Everything was good until my lease ended. OAKS MANAGEMENT SHOWED THEIR TRUE COLORS when I decided to move out. I cleaned the whole apartment but they still charged me. I used to live in a 4bed 2bath apartment. As per lease I share bathroom with a guy and since that guy was renewing his lease they put all cleaning charges on my account. One of my other room mates ended up paying 300$ in addition to security deposit (150$). OAKS MANAGEMENT DONT GIVE A S*** ABOUT YOU ONCE YOUR LEASE ENDS. Review from Google
Apr 2018: University Oaks is decent, my RA Larissa was amazing always answering my messages, and other RA's are always helping when I lock myself out and all. Maintenance is FAST! They are there the day you request most of the times, DONT NOT LIVE ON FIRST FLOOR! Get the top floor cause you can hear everything, them walking above and all. Nice place. Review from Google
Mar 2018: The overall setup of the dorm is nice, however, if you move here you will realize how internet dependent everyday life is for the modern day college student. The internet services provided by the University Oaks is abysmal. I have run internet speed tests throughout the day and in times when the internet is more likely not being used it maxes out at 5 mbps. Don’t expect to have a good time trying to do homework and turn in assignments. In what takes me 30 mins-1hr with campus WiFi, takes me at least 2 hours here. The toilets flood frequently but besides that, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Room assistant staff is nice and helpful as well. Besides that, if you have the money to go for better options, I recommend to explore those options. Review from Google
Mar 2018: STAY AWAY !! DO NOT FALL FOR " OH IT'S ON CAMPUS, EASY ACCESS TO SCHOOL, BLA! BLA!! BLA!!! IF YOU GET AN APARTMENT UP TO 5-10 MILES FROM SCHOOL, YOU won't EVEN FEEL IT. The school bus is optima plus, YOU WILL BE SAVING ON AVERAGE 10-20% OFF RENT just by renting any other apartment but Oaks. you have to pay a ridiculous $162 to park your car in your APARTMENT or you will get a ticket. First thing they will do is to accuse me of being a paid reviewer but I guarantee you I'm a current resident. I got this apartment because I thought that my scholarship will not cover housing outside of school, but that was wrong and I only found that out after my lease already began. I met with "management to tell them that the space is too small for me, and they asked me to pay 2 months plus a current month of rent to be able to cancel. Firstly.They will propagate that
Mar 2018: The Internet is to slow to use, there is not enough parking, the walls and windows are very thin and have no insulation. Ants are present in the dorms and the A.C. doesn't work that well. The dorm begins to have a burning smell when the heater is turned on. My RA is very nice but some of the other RA's in the office are very rude and unprofessional. The worst part is there is no privacy. My roommates toilet flooded the dorm and maintenance came about a month later to replace the carpet with no notice at around 9 am, I had just come out the shower and he opened my door and came in when I was naked. And when they moved on to my roommate's room they dropped his T.V. when moving the furniture. Completely unprofessional, I don't recommend this place. Review from Google
Feb 2018: Staff is ok to work with but the apartments are just HORRIBLE! Price is well affordable which includes utilities, but it’s affordable because everything it’s furnished with is CHEAP! IT WILL BREAK ON YOU! My fridge and freezer broke a few times, in which I had to throw food away, my key to open the door didn’t work so I was locked out midway through the night (fixed it 5 times and it’s barely Feb.), & lastly, the washers and dryers are $1 every use for each machine && MY CLOTHES GOT STOLEN FROM MY WASHER AND THERE WAS NOTHING UNIVERSITY OAKS COULD DO! This apartment complex is HORRIBLE! First year student and didn’t get a good experience at all. Parents looking for an apartment complex for their children, DO NOT LET THEM LIVE HERE! PAY THE FEW EXTRA $$ TO LIVE SOMEWHERE ELSE BECAUSE ITS ALMOST GUARENTEED THE FURNITURE WONT BREAK! Review from Google
Feb 2018: the living is decent, just enough to get you by but nothing great. The staff has the worst communication and do not care to help the students. The internet provided is awful and you can’t even do homework on it, when you ask them about it all they can say is go pay for one of your own. Same thing with the cable provided. Laundry rooms you have to pay a 1$ for each machine per use. Windows are so drafty that the air from outside gets in, which was awful during the winter and I had to put pillows or towels at my window to keep some air out. I highly suggest to NOT live here. I regret it. You can pay the same price somewhere for a updated look with better staff and amenities. Review from Google
Jan 2018: Please listen to the reviews!! I ignored the reviews and now regret sending my daughter here!! These dorms are DIRTY! Everything is broken. The air conditioning doesn’t work. Dishwasher broke. Internet doesn’t work. The floor had pieces gouged out. Paint all over everything. No smoke detectors. Scratch that. They had smoke detectors that were left on the counter that the staff was suppose to install and never did despite multiple calls to them. They said we were not allowed to install them, they had to do it. The gates are always open so I’m not sure what the point was in having those. The lease does state that if they withdraw they are responsible for providing a 60 day notice...which is impossible if they find out in January that they are unable to attend classes!! I agree to pay the 2 months rent and 25% of the rest of the lease jus Review from Google
Jan 2018: Look elsewhere until they run new lines for internet. Internet is main downfall of U-Oaks. You can't do anything school related (downloading PDFs is impossible and most of the time fail). The current setup was not meant for all the bandwidth. Please upgrade the lines etc, or drop Airwave. They are garbage and its absolutely ridiculous that we can't even do school work at our apartment. Also if you call the office complaining they will just say "its not us its Airwave, here's their number". Then Airwave will very clearly tell you that the complex just needs to upgrade and they won't. So this is U-Oaks fault, fix it. Until that's fixed I really cannot recommend this place to anyone. You NEED good internet for school work and walking to school all the time blows. Review from Google
Jan 2018: This place is alright. Good place for a college student to experience college life. Although there is an RA here that has the worst attitude of all! Tall guy, blondish hair and wears glasses. No emotion. I stood in the rain outside the office because it was locked. No notification saying it's closed and he's just sitting there on the computer...so done with him! But the apartment overall is good. Review from Google
Dec 2017: 0 star. bad service , the room smell like moldy. they like to charge you fee for different things. The AC and the refrigerator broke a couple times in a year. Review from Google
Nov 2017: My daughter was planning on going to UTSA the 2017-2018 school year and we signed the lease in July right after her orientation. However, my daughter decided to stay in Houston and go to UH instead. So we contacted the university oaks office and had to fill out a cancellation form and we were NOT notified by anyone at the management office that we had to pay almost $3000 for canceling the apartment mind you we filled out the cancellation application a week after school started which means in August. The management notified us that we had to pay the money late in October!!! We had to negotiate with them and they lowered the price however we weren’t satisfied with how late they told us we had to pay and i’m glad my daughter didn’t go to the university oaks!! Review from Google
Nov 2017: University oaks.. where do I begin. This has to be the most ignorant decision I’ve ever made. The management was horrendous. They do nothing for the residents. They profile people , and conspire to get certain residents evicted. The rent is astronomical for the little that you get. For the price they charge , you could get a way better place. Laundry room included in the home, fitness center, actual space to live in. IM SO HAPPY I MOVED. HIGH VIEW PLACE IS WAY BETTER Review from Google

UTSA University Oaks Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap