select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu] The Edge Charlotte ▷ Reviews
Ads & Subleases

The Edge Charlotte

Grade: of 69 reviews
Price Level: $ $ $

Hi, Loading...

May 2017: I lived here for 4 years. Pros: Close to campus, gym is decent. Cons: Everything else. Extremely thin walls. You will hear every party, all music, conversations and everything else. Makes it impossible to sleep. Most of the people that live here are students, and therefore about 20 years old. This is the worst case scenario roommate. Expect a constantly dirty kitchen, them not cleaning their messes, loud, up at all hours of the night, and just general immature behavior, including smoking weed. Remember that you will have to pay when your roommates break furniture, or otherwise cause damage. Live with people you know. Review from 5/26/17 on Google
May 2017: Some of these reviews are really over dramatic, The Edge is a great place to stay. They did great roommate matching, I have pretty chill roommates. All of the staff is friendly, and maintenance is quick and efficient. The location is perfect for UNCC students, about a 5 minute walk to class for me, and the shuttle picks up right outside the gate. The rooms are nice sizes and the common area is huge. Nice furniture as well. The gym is has nice equipment and stays clean, a long with the pool. I definitely plan on staying here until graduation. Review from 5/20/17 on Google
May 2017: This was my very first apartment I've ever signed for and it has definitely been a great experience! Living without my parents was scary at first but The Edge really made me feel at home. I have never had an issue with safety. The staff and maintenance team has been very helpful as well! Review from 5/12/17 on Google
Apr 2017: Lived here for 3 years. Super close to campus, so no $500 parking pass needed. Also the maintenance staff is super nice! The Club House staff is always there to help. Love the fact that there are 4 separate leases because then you do not get kicked out if your roommates do not pay. Could use a little more of a warning system with the parking infraction service and better parking spaces would be nice! Overall this has been a nice place to call my temporary home for 3 years! Review from 4/12/17 on Google
Apr 2017: Okay, well first...The walls are way too thin. I can hear the guy in the other apartment loud and clear. They have virtually no security. I have called the office literally 10 times in regards to a noise complaint and nothing has happened. A lot of the parking spaces are too small and the guy at the gate lets EVERYONE in. The apartments smell like weed even if you don't smoke. The people at the office are "okay". It is right beside the school which is the only reason I even thought about this place. The renovated apartments DO NOT make up for the bad quality. Review from 4/3/17 on Google
Feb 2017: I decided to write this review because I was frustrated with all the overly dramatic reviews on the place. First off it isn't nearly as bad as all the other reviews say. Yeah the gate to get in through campus is broken so anyone can come in, but that's not really a bad thing. The place is safe And shouldn't be a big concern. Yeah you will see the occasional parking lot fight break out. But it's fun to watch from the comforts of my back porch and these only occur late at night. Review from 2/23/17 on Google
Feb 2017: Overall I've had a great experience at the edge. Maintenance is quick and polite. The staff at the front desk have always been polite and answered any questions I've had. It has the typical apartment complex problems like tight parking and thin walls, but all in all I've enjoyed my time here. Review from 2/16/17 on Google
Feb 2017: I'm going to give an honest review because some of these are dramatic. I haven't had any issues in this neighborhood since I've moved here. One thing that I really like is that maintenance is fast with their repairs. My toilet broke randomly and they came the exact same day to fix it. Even educated me on how toilets work lol (no not just flushing). The office staff is very polite. However, if I ask to speak to my leasing manager, I expect to speak with him or her directly. Review from 2/14/17 on Google
Feb 2017: I haven't had any bad experiences living here, I did roommate matching and got pretty decent roommates. I enjoy having my own bathroom and walk-in closet. The counter top in the bathrooms are very nice and there is a lot of room/shelfs space in the closet and drawers also come in the room as well so there is more then enough room for cloths. The living area is large enough to spend time with roommates and friends and the kitchen is nice too with the new upgrades done. There is a decent amount of cabinet space in the kitchen and having the dishwasher is a plus. Review from 2/12/17 on Google
Dec 2016: If you are thinking about living here DO NOT. The past two years have been the worst for me and my three roommates. We want to move out but we can't, the lease is not flexible at all and the edge is not helping us. We have ran into countless problems with no help. The answer we constantly get is "sorry you've signed a lease" the edge claims they are always trying to help enhance "student life" but this morning is about the 20th time I've been woken up before 8 am because of VERY loud construction going on right next to my bedroom. Another instance where my student life was impacted happened during finals week.. my friend and I were taking an online final, and there was no visitor parking left.. she got towed and it costed $200. Review from 12/26/16 on Google
Dec 2016: This place is a scam. They don't make any effort to match you with roommates who are similar. Every month we go over on energy when I'm barely even here. Maintenance has walked in on me while I have been sleeping in my room (when I have never personally called them). The renovations and apartments themselves are definitely not worth the monthly price. The list is endless. Review from 12/11/16 on Google
Dec 2016: Everything is plain ole white, no color anywhere. Maintenance is the best thing they get things done within 24 hours. I lived there for two years and it was horrible. Would not recommend this place to anyone. Review from 12/7/16 on Google
May 2016: Absolutely the worst place imaginable to live. These people are complete liars and do not take care of the tenants. If I could give a fraction of a star I would. Only place that is two months behind of the electricity accommodations. The rooms are nice, but the management is a bunch of jack asses that will lie to you and smile in your face. Worst renting experience ever!!!!!!!!!!! Review from 5/2/16 on Google
Apr 2016: Smh ...the thin walls. You can hear everything the neighbors do. Also, the parking spaces are small. Roommates were digusting and threw trash on the floor instead of changing the trash bag . That's really my only problem other than that its an okay place to live for temporary residence. They tried to charge you for something that wasnt your fault just b/c its on your side of the room. Rip off Review from 4/10/16 on Google
Feb 2016: I'm going to tell you this, if you don't have a car and need to go to campus, this is the place for you. Other than that expect no parking spots to be available for you at all because everyone parks their car and don't move it for weeks. and the parking spaces are so small, you can easily get your car hit (I have multiple times) they say the "new" improvements for fall 2016 includes new applicances etc, but the drains will continue to clog, the fire alarms will go off for no reason, the wifi works when it wants, and Jesus if I can find a parking spot so I can even go home, the pipes are busted. don't let their advertising fool you, this place is very old and their covering it up with minor new things. the "hardwood" floors their putting in? not even wood. not even the "granite" countertops.... can't wait for my lease to end!!! Review from 2/27/16 on Google
Sep 2015: DO NOT SIGN HERE! I do not wish to attack anyone personally, but the way I have been treated by the Edge management is disrespectful and rude. I recently moved out to pursue a more affordable living situation. Upon moving out I was charged $215.00 for a 1 inch cut in the mattress and "missing shelf hardware". None of these damages were at the fault of myself or anyone else but the Edge. The cut was from the bed frame (which they supplied) and anyone with a brain could tell that there was no hardware ever present in the closet due to no screw holes in the walls, but in college apartment language the fault is with the student. Not all college students are reckless idiots like they would assume. Review from 9/25/2015 on Apartment Ratings
Aug 2015: This is an absolutely awful place to live. I will not discuss roommates and other tenants noise levels because I feel these are things that maybe an issue anywhere and slightly reflect on management but I will discuss management. This place is horrible because of how you are treated. You never know when anyone from management could come in and was woken many times by management before I had to go to work. I paid for new carpet after my first year because there was an incident which I took responsibility for and the next year on move out I am being charged again for new carpet for something that has absolutely nothing to do with me. Review from 8/26/15 on Apartment Ratings
Feb 2015: I wish I could give this complex a negative review. Maintenance comes in whenever and I mean WHENEVER they want. I was woken up by carpet cleaning and vacuums outside my bedroom door at 8am after a roommate moved out. They come in randomly to check filters and stupid crap like that. They just come walking in whenever the hell they feel like it. Completely disrespectful of their tenants' privacy. Prices are ridiculous for the quality you get. Roommates are constantly tattling on each other and the office takes whoevers side they hear first. They charge for EVERYTHING when you move out. Review from 2/12/15 on Apartment Ratings
Jan 2015: DO NOT MOVE HERE!! The rent (2,000 a month for a 4 bed/4bath) was outrageous for the tiny living space and outdated appliances. I could barely fit my furniture in my room. Half of the appliances in the apartment did not work. Dish washer left dishes dirty, tv blacked out all the time, dryer left lint ALL over clothes, and maintenance wouldn't fix anything. On top of all of that, I had a roommate who was using drugs, had her thug boyfriend living with her (against the lease), and threatening me. Management wouldn't do anything about any of those problems. Overall this complex is outrageously expensive, incompetent at handling issues with residents, and rude. You will dig your own grave by moving there. Review from 1/05/15 on Apartment Ratings
Nov 2013: I saw this headline in the news. I'm very glad that this issue has been made public. Everything in this article are things I already know from living here. The concerns & crimes that are talked about all strongly apply to The Edge. As a resident I've encountered everything that is mentioned except assault. I am sure it's due to luck & the fact that I'm very afraid here, so I am also very cautious about every little thing. Like the student in said in the link - I never would've chosen to live here had I been informed, and also wish I had received some guidance. http://m.wsoctv.com/news/news/local/9-investigates-uncc-cmpd-work-safer-student-housin/nbmk9/ Review from 11/09/2013 on Apartment Ratings
Nov 2013: I just renewed my lease with the edge for another year! I haven't had any problems here and every time I go into the office they are very nice. I recently received candy at my door and a phone call from them about renewing my lease. I honestly hadn't thought much about where I was going to be staying next year but after talking it over with my parents and roommates we all decided we would stay for the next year. The fitness center is one of my favorite parts about the edge because you can work out whenever you want! I will recommend this place to a few of my friends who are looking for housing next year. Review from 11/01/2013 on Apartment Ratings
Oct 2013: I heard a lot of different things about the edge before I moved in over the summer. I did look at other places around the area but ultimately decided to move in because I felt welcomed and it was the closest location to campus so that I wouldn t have to buy a parking permit. The roommates I had over the summer were gone most of the time leaving me to myself which I was fine with. When they moved out in August, I was placed with 3 other roommates which has gone great. I am not normally the type to write reviews for places but I feel that this apartment complex does a good job with matching people and keeping the property clean. Review from 10/01/2013 on Apartment Ratings

UNCC Apt Videos

Let's help someone live somewhere. | Premium Services | About Us | Tips & FAQs
| Sitemap