select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
The Edge Charlotte ▷ Reviews
Back to Previous

The Edge Charlotte


Grade: of 42 reviews 🏆Top Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Apr 2019: If you are a parent do NOT let your child live here. Residents are not students and my daughter and her two friends had a fourth random roommate move in whose abusive boyfriend moved in with her. Verbally and physically abusive. Both smoked weed all day long. Neither were students. Office said they couldn't do anything about it. Call the police. The roommate wasn't even paying her rent. Our three daughters were cowered in their rooms with doors locked worried about this abusive boyfriend hurting THEM. Office didn't lift a finger to do anything -- citing the "rights" of this girl and indicating they'd be afraid of a law suit from her. Said OUR girls could move but they'd each have to pay a $250 fee to move. DO NOT MOVE HERE. Dangerous, dangerous, dangerous.
Mar 2019: Unsafe! My son has lived there for almost 3 years. So many things happen there that I don't even feel it's safe for him anymore. Friday night, a girl was shot in the chest! On a weekly basis, fire trucks, paramedics, and/or cops are there for various reasons. We were told only UNCC students lived in the complex and it's obvious that isn't true. DO NOT ALLOW ANYONE YOU CARE ABOUT TO LIVE IN THIS COMPLEX! Also, rent goes up each year and there are overages on utilites every month. RUN! DO NOT LEASE AN APARTMENT HERE! I would give 0 stars if I could. Review from Google
Mar 2019: Gotta give these guys one star. Security guards treat certain people differently than they do others and crime here is a big problem. Last night someone got shot and 12 squad cars were outside, we ask management what happened and they said they didn't know. A month before that, swat armed with assault rifles were about to knock down someone's door. The semester before that, the guy who said he was going to shoot up uncc was arrested here. The shocking thing about all of this is that it never makes the news and we never get emailed about it.... go figure!!! Review from Google
Mar 2019: My grandson has applied to stay at The Edge for the 2019-2020 year. I see a LOT of negatives. Visited the model along with my grandson and it looks very good. I'm concerned now about security, parking, thin walls, non-students living there, black mold, rude staff, etc. I noticed that there was no one in the gate office when we were there. The charge of $2,516/month for each apartment seems would cover all of these issues? I am now having second thoughts. What kind of guarantee is offered that what you see is what you get? SIGNED: VERY CONCERNED GRANDMOTHER Review from Google
Feb 2019: I would NOT ever want to live here again, or suggest this to ANYONE. The only nice thing about this place is that its right near campus. But they advertise "student housing" but one of my random roommates is NOT even a student, this makes me wonder how many none students there are living in this complex. Very unsafe and false advertisement. If you're looking for a safe place to live with college students thats off campus, you're better off living in a more expensive place. Also, someone in the apartment complex across from me DIED and there were police, firemen, and EMS here. Thinking they would send out an email about the loss, and they did not even make anyone aware the situation happened. So who knows what else they have kept from the residence. I've only been here for a semester and I would NEVER suggest this to anyone ever. Worst place to live.
Jan 2019: Be careful This place is a great location. When it comes to payment, everything's easy. Parties will get shut down if you're too loud. Make sure that when you move in, you write down everything that is wrong in the room; take note of scuff marks on walls, baseboards, countertops, and any other damages that were in the room before you got there. If you forget to write something down, or if there's something you didn't notice until later, they're going to take advantage and make you pay for it. My bathroom countertop was damaged and I didn't notice until after I had turned in my damaged sheet, so of course I did not get my deposit back and they made me pay for the countertop. Review from Google
Jan 2019: I’m commenting because i really want to stress the fact that I’ve lived in numerous apartments and this is the worst. The staff is unhelpful and rude and the manager is condescending. They will talk to you any kind of way and are unconcerned with the issues you face while staying at their property. Since the beginning of this lease I have regretted ever moving here and will never move into another property ran by Marquis, or any of those managers. Review from Google
Nov 2018: The first year I lived here was amazing and I had no issues whatsoever. Well this is my second year and I hate it and cannot wait to move out once my lease is up. I've had to deal with a violent roommate, rude employees in the office, and awful neighbors. The basketball court is also terrible. The curfew is 10PM but people are always out there at all hours being loud and rude. I would politely ask them to leave and would get cussed out. I don't even bother to tell the staff about problems anymore because they really don't care. Yes, The Edge is pretty much the cheapest off-campus option that is closest to campus, but as long as this complex is getting their money, they don't care. There's also dogs EVERYWHERE (pets are not supposed to be permitted here) and the amount of dog feces I've seen and accidentally stepped in is disgusting. Delta suck Review from Google
📃 News and FAQs Snippet
UNCC Related Topics and Questions

Are there UNCC Apartments within walking distance to the UNCC campus? Yes, there are many options. There are luxury apartments right accross the street from the main entrance such as haven-49 and university-crossings?pb_id=485...read more

Is UNCC close to Downtown Charlotte? Yes, it is a short drive. Charlotte is fairly spread out, so using public transportation is not so great. All that said, communiting from the UNCC area to Downtown Charlotte is not so bad, and the UNCC area is a great area to live if you have an i...read more

Sep 2018: I was charged for several extraneous items I didn’t leave behind, and was charged over a month after a left. It was crime-ridden, dirty, and ridiculous more times than once. Do NOT reccomend. Review from Google
Sep 2018: In terms of living conditions, its fine. Not the best, not the worst but fine. The walls between apartment units are a little thin. You can hear people's footsteps and music at night, but its not too bad. Compared to stories I've heard of other complexes its pretty good. My main issue though is their outdated payment system. They only accept personal checks or money orders at the desk, no card or anything. If you try to pay with card online its a $20 fee. I feel like I'm living in the 1990s. What kind of business accepts personal checks but not cards? And that $20 fee is complete bull *****. They have an autopay option which directly takes money out of your bank account every month, but that too has a $5 fine, and you can't use it to pay for the current day. Review from Google
Jul 2018: If you like signing lease agreements that sentence you to a life of hell and poor management and customer service go for it. Lived at The Edge for four years through several employee changes and the staff at the leasing office get continually more rude. They will charge you for things that should be their responsibility. They charge $620/mo for a bedroom with three other room mates. That means they make $2480 off of a single living space PER MONTH and they're still stingy and make you pay if you bend a window blind. Extremely limited parking spaces. I should've ended my lease last year because it just got ridiculous. There are several much better places with friendlier leasing offices in the surrounding area. The apartments DO NOT look like the model apartments, or at least my apartment wasn't. The dryer would not dry clothes after three 60-m Review from Google
Apr 2018: Update: the majority of the office staff are rude and have no care for their residents. I cannot wait to move out of here. You're better off on campus then paying to be this close off campus. Best place in the area for its price, but like every other place they want to charge you for anything they can blame you for. Ex) slightly bent blinds, etc. Half of the staff is over the top friendly and the other half have no care for you. The maintenance people are the best people there. They are the sweetest and always willing to help you out. They great you when you walk by and hold gates for you. By far deserve rarises and high pay grades. Review from Google
Apr 2018: The Edge is an amazing place to live, I have friends that have lived here for the past 3 years. It is a close commute to campus and the leasing office is very kind and always understanding and on top of things. Review from Google
Mar 2018: I like this apartment complex! It's relatively inexpensive compared to other student living apartments nearby. I've been hear for almost a year and I've literally had 0 problems. If something breaks, maintenance will fix it within a day. The kitchen countertops are nice my bathroom sink is huge, and my walk-in closet is a blessing. Also the convenience of walking to campus in 1 min is amazing. I get to wake up maybe 40 minutes before my class starts because thats how close we are to campus. Electricity and everything is included, but expect to go over during the winter because heat costs a lot more than AC. We never went over during Aug-Oct, but Nov-Feb we had about 10 dollars a month for overage fees. Not bad though, it beats paying for utilities. probably going to renew for another year.
Jan 2018: After living at another student apartment that was not within walking distance to campus, I cannot imagine living in an apartment where I would have to purchase a parking pass and deal with traffic on campus. The walk is very quick and makes getting back and forth to school so much easier. Unlike the apartment I lived at last year, the leasing office staff are very friendly and helpful here which makes life easier. Maintenance at The Edge has a very quick response time and we have never had an issue that was not easily resolved. The maintenance manager is very kind and extremely helpful. If I could change somethings here, they would include: an increase in visitor parking, updated/ improved WiFi, and better security as the people who use amenities such as the pool and basketball courts are not usually residents and are here late hours of the Review from Google
Jan 2018: I have really liked my time here at the Edge apartments. Maintenance is very very quick to fix things when you call and put in a maintenance request. The thing that I really love about the Edge is how close it is to campus. It only takes me 10 minutes to walk to the main part of campus and then I don’t have to deal with parking. The pricing is also relatively cheap compared to other school affiliated apartment complexes. I recommend!! Review from Google
Jan 2018: This place is great! Management is solid and the maintenance folks have always been prompt and professional to me. It's better than other places I have lived in the University City area. For the price and location it really is the best choice for off campus housing. Review from Google
Jan 2018: Some great advantages The Edge has over nearby student apartment complexes are price, proximity to campus, and amenities. One thing I really like about living at The Edge is that the walk to the center of campus is about 10-15 minutes maximum, and the complex is right near a campus bus stop, which means there’s no reason to buy a UNCC parking pass, which saves a lot of time and money. The parking is always convenient and available within the complex, and maintenance often completes your work orders fairly quickly. Great place to live throughout your college years. Review from Google
Jan 2018: I’ve enjoyed living at The Edge so far. The maintenance staff is great and the walk to campus is very convenient, especially since the Martin Hall bus stop is close to the walking gates. My neighbors are respectful, however the basketball courts can be noisy since the walls are so thin. Security could be improved, but overall I feel safe and comfortable living at The Edge! Review from Google
Jan 2018: Overall, The Edge is a good apartment. It's very close to school and right next to one of the main bus routes. The apartments are well furnished and spacious enough. It's more expensive than some but a fairly decent price point compared to some other apartments right on the border of campus. My biggest complaint would be the security. Even though it is gated, the security is not always the most attentive. While I have never felt particularly unsafe or been robbed, I know other people who have. Also, maintenance can be hit or miss but I have had my requests met promptly. Review from Google
Jun 2017: These bad reviews are not at all what it's like at The Edge!!! I love living here, the office is really cool and the staff are students so they don't try to screw you over. The gym and pool are great, walking to class is the best part though. Definitely going to renew my lease for another year Review from 6/9/17 on Google
May 2017: I lived here for 4 years. Pros: Close to campus, gym is decent. Cons: Everything else. Extremely thin walls. You will hear every party, all music, conversations and everything else. Makes it impossible to sleep. Most of the people that live here are students, and therefore about 20 years old. This is the worst case scenario roommate. Expect a constantly dirty kitchen, them not cleaning their messes, loud, up at all hours of the night, and just general immature behavior, including smoking weed. Remember that you will have to pay when your roommates break furniture, or otherwise cause damage. Live with people you know. Review from 5/26/17 on Google
May 2017: Some of these reviews are really over dramatic, The Edge is a great place to stay. They did great roommate matching, I have pretty chill roommates. All of the staff is friendly, and maintenance is quick and efficient. The location is perfect for UNCC students, about a 5 minute walk to class for me, and the shuttle picks up right outside the gate. The rooms are nice sizes and the common area is huge. Nice furniture as well. The gym is has nice equipment and stays clean, a long with the pool. I definitely plan on staying here until graduation. Review from 5/20/17 on Google
May 2017: This was my very first apartment I've ever signed for and it has definitely been a great experience! Living without my parents was scary at first but The Edge really made me feel at home. I have never had an issue with safety. The staff and maintenance team has been very helpful as well! Review from 5/12/17 on Google
Apr 2017: Lived here for 3 years. Super close to campus, so no $500 parking pass needed. Also the maintenance staff is super nice! The Club House staff is always there to help. Love the fact that there are 4 separate leases because then you do not get kicked out if your roommates do not pay. Could use a little more of a warning system with the parking infraction service and better parking spaces would be nice! Overall this has been a nice place to call my temporary home for 3 years! Review from 4/12/17 on Google

Back to Previous

UNCC The Edge Charlotte Ads & Subleases





About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap