select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu] Arcadia Student Living ▷ Reviews

Arcadia Student Living

Grade: of 78 reviews

If negative review, please suggest better apartments that others can check out. If positive review, other similar apartments? Thanks.

Hi, Loading...

Aug 2018: This company is extremely difficult to communicate with. They never return phone calls or answer questions. The phone seem to always ring to an "offsite" answering service no matter what time of day you contact them. VERY SKEPTICAL of signing any lease with them.
Jun 2018: I came in for a tour 2 weeks ago and fell in love!! I signed my lease today and can not wait to move in! The staff are very friendly and informative and I enjoyed every bit Review from Google
Jun 2018: Honestly was scared by all ge negative comments but so far Arcadia has been really great. There have been car break ins but that will happen anywhere if you leave wallets phones and computers in sight. The issues with mold have also concerned me but throughout the whole year maintenance and their crew constantly checked bathrooms and kitchens to ensure I had no issues and never did. Review from Google
May 2018: Recently I was planning on re-letting for a girl living in Magnolia so I could be close to a friend living here. It sucks that a friend I was planning on moving in with already signed the lease because while the place was beautiful, after reading some of the reviews especially about the one about to have the daughter, I had to change my mind since I have a 2 year old son and I'm not trying to deal with all of that. I wish my friend had read the reviews and talk to people living there first like I did because now she wishes she never signed. Review from Google
Apr 2018: I'd like to start off this review by saying that I currently live here and that I plan to update this review depending on how the remainder of my lease goes. I was not planning to write a review, as I feel that the current reviews give a fairly accurate representation of what living at Arcadia Student Living is like. However, after receiving an email from management today, I feel compelled to share my personal experience. Basically, my roommate and I received an email informing us that we were not allowed to use the vacant bedroom to store our belongings, and that during one of our frequent maintenance visits, the maintenance staff discovered that the vacant bedroom was being used as storage. Now, there is a rule in our lease prohibiting any vacant rooms from being used as storage. The room was in fact being used as storage because a few Review from Google
Apr 2018: This is my second year living in Arcadia (fall 2016- spring 2018) and if it was not for the management, i would be returning. Last year the apartment complex was not so bad if you could overlook the mold spores growing on your clothes, shoes, bed etc. It may sound like I am exaggerating, but i assure you that If you left a t shirt on your bedroom floor overnight, it would be damp in the morning. Upon noticing these issues my roommates and I went to the leasing office where one of the student employees was relatively useless ( not their fault I understand how chain of command works) and not to mention contradicting. The first guy we talked to said "that sucks, email the apt manager". After doing this the manager , who i'm still not even sure 100% exists because they are always "out of the office", busy when you call, and unresponsive when you Review from Google
Mar 2018: DO NOT LIVE HERE. I have only lived here for two years and have had to move apartments SIX TIMES due to black mold, a sinking building, and other issues. Today I came home to 6+ people in my apartment cutting holes in the walls, moving my personal belongings around, and every single one of my shoes thrown on the ground. The management here is awful, specifically Becky, the manager, who is the one that is supposed to be notifying residents when people are coming into their apartment for “inspections” I have had numerous problems with Becky not notifying about things going on WHERE I LIVE. I have gone down to speak to her more times than I can count, and she is never available to fix our problems or even speak to me over the phone. I ask every single time to speak to a manager, and get the same reply every time, “she will call you back” Review from Google
Mar 2018: This is my second year living at Arcadia and I am very disappointed. When I first moved in, I bought blue outdoor furniture for my patio. A few weeks later, they claimed I stole their pool furniture and threatened to evict me based solely on the fact that their pool furniture is the same color as mine. don't believe their rent prices. My roommate and I hardly ever use the central heating/cooling system and we haven't had a monthly rent payment that wasn't $15-$30 over the posted rent price due to "overages". Acadia's slogan is "Your place, Your space" however they don't treat it as such. With almost monthly "inspections" of your entire apartment to "check for damages", your place and space will be invaded by management - as if they couldn't do that when you move out of the unit??? - These and other entries of your personal space will come wit Review from Google
Feb 2018: Terrible terrible experience with these jerkoffs! They tried to say that I signed my lease and that it was a legally binding document when I never signed anything at all! Then the manager got an attitude and tried to cut me off when I was talking. DO NOT RENT FROM ARCADIA!!!! Review from Google
Jan 2018: If I could give below a one star I would!! From the beginning everything has went wrong and has been wrong inside of our apartment- and continues to go wrong. Aside from that, OUR APARTMENT WAS ROBBED and my car was stolen and nothing was done about it. no security measures were taken, the gates were open and the only cameras are the ones at the entrance and one of them is broken. THEN a month later my roommates car along with five others in the complex were broken into. This is just the story of one apartments robberies- imagine if we knew about everyones. I posted this to keep others safe and to strongly recommend that you find a place to live that cares about your safety!! I don't want anyone else to go through what my roommates and I have been through. Review from Google
Jan 2018: The absolute worst 2 years living here. Our apartment has been broken into, cars broken into on MULTIPLE occasions. My roommates car has been stolen here, and management won’t do ANYTHING about it. Management sucks. The apartment sucks. This place sucks. Review from Google
Dec 2017: For Parents: We read the reviews and decided Arcadia couldn't possibly continue having so many problems. Wrong Wrong Wrong. Move in - disaster - assigned a different apartment and floorplan 1 week prior to move in. Apartment was filthy on move in day. constant problems with rent charges. Too many problems to list. Save yourself the hassle and expense - Do NOT move in here. Only given 1 star so I could post. Review from Google
Nov 2017: Mold mold mold MOLDDDDD EVERYWHERE!!! This is not a nice or save place to live. Was told that mold was found in one of the apartments in the complex only to find mold in my own place and on my clothing months later. I’m completely disgusted! This complex needs to be burned down!!!! Immediately! Review from Google
Sep 2017: Honestly I don't even know where to start. I'm paying $664/each (MINIMUM) along with my roommates as well for a 5 bedroom apartment that was not up to standard by move in date. 1) I'm paying for cable and wifi that doesn't even work and we've had AT&T workers that have been to our apartment at least 3 times a week since we've moved in and still haven't accomplished anything. 2) Dryer didn't work upon arrival. 3) Management knew of a issue regarding our hardwood floors on the bottom level, had all summerlong to address and fix the issue and failed to do so. Because of this they have to remove the entire flooring on our bottom level (while we are living here). 4) Our apartment was dirty when we moved in. The list honestly goes on and on. Do not waste your money on a living space that promises yet FAILS to deliver.
Aug 2017: The staff at Arcadia are wonderful and have always been super kind and helpful to the best of their ability. The problem is whomever rushed into building this complex obviously did a poor job because for over a year now, the clubhouse has been closed due to structural issues and the pool has yet to open this season. The apartments themselves are beautiful especially when the tenants take proper care of them and they are a good value for the rent rate. Maintenance is quick to take care of problems too. Arcadia will be awesome again once they have all of the amenities reopened. Update 8/7/17: The clubhouse and pool are now open again and they look great. Becky and her team have worked really hard to get everything up and running all while keeping the existing tenants happy - thank you so much. It appears maintenance has been working around the Review from Google
Jun 2017: If I could rate this place a zero I would. I have by far had the worst living experience in Arcadia Student Living. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. Management, maintenance, and staff are terrible and unprofessional. Please keep your money and your sanity and rent elsewhere ! Review from 6/8/17 on Google
May 2017: Arcadia was a great concept and place but it ran into some troubles with the land sinking and all. They have since corrected the issue and re-enforced the foundation. It's actually a great place once everything works.
Mar 2017: After seeing all of the negatives reviews I feel that it's necessary for me to comment on my experience living in Arcadia. I recently renewed my lease for a third year because there is no place that I would rather live. When I first moved into Arcadia two years ago there were a couple of issues because the complex was still new but those problems were quickly resolved. Anytime I place a work order a maintenance man arrives within a day. The property does change owners A LOT but the office staff does phenomenal job at answering questions and resolving any transitional issues. Review from 3/20/17 on Google
Mar 2017: I've lived in a few apartment complexes before, and this management is just so ridiculous. The new management came in spinning a story about how it would be better now. The apartment building next to mine is where the floors came caving in, so I guess if that's the standard... they kind of are? I've had issues with their "new management" since the day I moved in. Apparently Brittany was receiving a raise so she couldn't help us when it came to moving in. We were supposed to move in on a specific day but Brittany "was in meetings" the day beforehand and sent one of the office assistants (WHO HAVE NO AUTHORITY TO DO ANYTHING) to tell myself and three other roommates that we couldn't move in for another few days. Review from 3/19/17 on Google
Feb 2017: What I have come to conclude is that since students are never a long term resident, management just does not care, here or at any local place. My daughter has been locked out of her apartment for 2 weeks while they try to resolve a mold problem , and they have provided a hotel, but their communication is non existent, I have left 3 messages in the last 3 days, no reply. She was supposed to be out for 1 week, they never even called to tell her it would be extended to two weeks,. just show up at apartment and it is still sealed off. Review from 2/20/17 on Google
Feb 2017: Management has addressed several issues on these bad reviews. Response to maintenance requests has improved as well as the security
Oct 2016: The new security and regulations are ridiculous; holding a line outside the gate all the way to road and allowing undercover cops to come in and arrest unsuspecting kids. Real nice Arcadia. Oh and thanks to your maintenance man coming in and threatening to get us evicted. You should probably tell him that's not his job. I like how you also emailed us about the burning couch that we had nothing to do with and basically said unless we figure out who did it and make them confess we would be fined. You and your management are incompetent. Review from 10/4/16 on Google
May 2016: Where to begin? My first unpleasant experience in Arcadia started when the Maintenance member broke into my apartment and stole from my roommates underwear drawer. Although they fired this employee, I have not felt safe living in Arcadia. Arcadia is also ran by the college students attending UNCC who follow orders from a dysfunctional, and overall terrible staff. Halfway into the lease, every resident was notified that we would now be charged for utilities. This was not established in the lease agreement. Do not call Arcadia office because they do not answer the phone. Do not expect maintenance repairs, whether it be a cracked ceiling or moldy walls. Do not expect proper communication for the staff to the residents. Review from 5/10/16 on Google
May 2016: When I signed my lease I expected to live in Arcadia throughout my whole lease. I guess that was to much to ask for. Me along with everyone living in building 18 (about 90 students) are being forced to move out because our building structure was not properly built. At first they asked us to move out for a week. I was notified 12 hours in advance via phone call. Others may have been notified earlier or later, but it's safe to say we were given 24 hours to get out. The best part was it was during finals week. Could you imagine a better time to be told, "we need you to grab a bag of clothes and move out for a week". About five days into the week my roommates and I all received a call saying we will not be able to move back into our apartment. Keep in mind this is on a Thursday; We have to be moved out by Sunday. Review from 5/7/16 on Google
Apr 2016: I stayed there the entirety of last year (minus the month or so we were forced to stay in a hotel). It honestly is a decent place to stay, but management was terrible. When I was staying there, the gate malfunctioned numerous times. Once me and 4 other cars were trapped inside and had to wait for someone to enter the property, and then had to floor it out the entrance (I sat on my phone with the office waiting for someone to pickup during this, and it just went to voicemail). Twice I have called the "emergency" number after hours, once for a loose pit bull running around the property, another for getting locked out of my room. Neither time was my call answered over the period of hours (and I had to break into my room). No one ever returned my messages on top of that. Review from 4/27/16 on Google

UNCC Arcadia Student Living Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap