select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

River Mill


Grade: of 42 reviews

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Feb 2020: River Mill has been great for me. A few problems upon moving in, but maintenance was quick to fix. Have never had extra charges, rent is $580 and I pay ~$50 for power. Location can't be beat, and the price is so good! Good water pressure, power bills arent bad, front office is really attentive.
Jul 2019: Staff and location are nice! Apartment sucks. Constant problems with parking, water, internet, etc. Brown water, cars towed, old and dingy apartments and constant additional charges. Everything inside of the apartment is in constant need of repair. I think the maintenance men came to our unit at least 20 times this year. It’s a very old property so expect there to be a lot of upkeep issues because it wasn’t well maintained. That being said, the location is ideal in terms of downtown and campus. Review from Google
Jun 2019: DO NOT SIGN A LEASE HERE!!! This is probably the WORST place in Athens to live! You will be living with cockroaches no matter how much they come “spray” power-bills that are $200+, None of your friends can come visit because theirs only 10 guest parking spots. Only good thing is the location. Place was built in like 1930 with no overhead lighting. Honestly they need to burn this place down and start over. Do NOT put yourself or kids through the HASSLE of living here! not worth IT!!!! Review from Google
Jun 2019: DO NOT SIGN A LEASE HERE!!! This is probably the WORST place in Athens to live! You will be living with cockroaches no matter how much they come “spray” power-bills that are $200+, None of your friends can come visit because theirs only 10 guest parking spots. Only good thing is the location. Place was built in like 1930 with no overhead lighting. Honestly they need to burn this place down and start over. Do NOT put yourself or kids through the HASSLE of living here! not worth IT!!!! Review from Google
Apr 2019: Without a doubt, the worst place I’ve ever lived. We are only given ONE parking spot and maintence has the nerve to pull up and take our spots whenever they deem it necessary. When we call the office to ask if maintence can please relocate their vehicle, we’re told that we can just park in an office spot. This place is incredibly unprofessional. Every day i’m further disappointed Review from Google
Apr 2019: Without a doubt, the worst place I’ve ever lived. We are only given ONE parking spot and maintence has the nerve to pull up and take our spots whenever they deem it necessary. When we call the office to ask if maintence can please relocate their vehicle, we’re told that we can just park in an office spot. This place is incredibly unprofessional. Every day i’m further disappointed Review from Google
Mar 2019: This property is under new management, and the new front office is amazing!! Kennedi and Amanda do their best to make River Mill a great place to live. I have enjoyed living here a ton, closest place you can live to campus and downtown. Review from Google
Mar 2019: I've lived here for a year now and I really love the location. It's an easy 10 minute walk to downtown and super convenient. As oppose to other places I've rented at, the staff is lovely and always welcoming. The price is really great for the location compared to many places around here. Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

Who finds the person to sublease my apartment? The general idea is you must find the person who is going to sublease your apartment. Your apartment community may help, but this depends heavily on how full the community is. If they are full, you may get a few people refered, if they are not ful...read more

Renting a college apartment vs renting a house In this series of answers, we will mention a couple of key differences and continue the discussion in a multipart answer because there are lots of differences and somethings might not be as easily noticeable. Apartments generally have a lot of ame...read more

Feb 2019: DO NOT LIVE HERE... unless you want to be sharing your habitat with unlimited amounts of roaches, hearing your neighbors verbatim, and horrible management. Don’t be fooled by the tasteful location. We were and were duped. The complex is rundown; old appliances, cracked foundation/holes around pipes and other opening, split staircases, walking death trap. Our microwave has roaches inside the unit and has since move in, the ceiling has been patched so many times it looks like it could fall through any minute, and the balcony railing has been detached since move in. Tried to resign our lease SOLELY because it’s the cheapest place to live downtown only to find out the rent was going up (which we had to find out on our own by reading the lease word for word - not worth it) and that our unit had already been sold out from under us before the resigning period was even over. Spare yourself the trouble Review from Google
Feb 2019: Gave this place one star simply because of the location. Very close to campus and the bus line. Other than that, this place is horrible. Firstly, the rooms (I stayed in the 2 bedroom townhouse) look nothing like what is being advertised. The bedrooms are divided by a slide door providing no privacy as your roommate can enter at any time. The insulation is terrible as I would often be interrupted or think my roommate was home when in fact the noise would be coming from the neighbors, as she would not be in the apartment. The bathtub in our apartment was severely peeled with no shower head, no light apart from the sunroof in the bedrooms, no light also in the downstairs front area; so you will have to purchase multiple lamps. The bug (mainly roaches) infestation problem is absolutely ridiculous. Also the staff on board are overwhelmingly rude and unaccommodating, with the exception of one by the name of Keli who at least tried to solve my problems Review from Google
Jan 2019: This is the best location I could have asked for! The staff is always smiling and are willing to ensure a comfortable and extraordinary living experience. Review from Google
Jan 2019: No one could ask for friendlier staff (at least as far as the student workers are concerned) or a more convenient location than River Mill. However, as countless others have noted in Google Reviews, repairs/maintenance are very slow going. There is broken/missing equipment in the gym that I reported in September that has still not been fixed. It can take several days to have in-apartment repairs completed. I am still not convinced that the apartment was substantially cleaned before I moved in based on how much cat hair I vacuumed up my first few weeks in the apartment (and I do not own a cat). The staff is friendly and the location can't be beat, but friendliness doesn't completely compensate for management's pervasive inefficiency and the generally poor quality of the facilities themselves. I was grateful to find an apartment close to campus Review from Google
Sep 2018: Way over priced for the quality of the apartments. You can live somewhere much nicer for the same cost. Also when I moved in my apartment was infested with roaches and rat poop. Turns out there was a dead rat in the locked closet of the water heater so the apartment also smelled rotten. Dont be suprised to find rat poop on your dishes. Review from Google
Sep 2018: They towed my girl friend's car when she came over to visit me ( I am a resident here). She already parked at a visitor parking. Then I checked their policy that says we should only get ticketed for the first time, might get towed for the second time. They told me that they already sent out emails regarding the parking. I asked them to check again because I received nothing. Then they said they do not have my email address in their system. I SIGNED MY LEASE THROUGH MY EMAIL!!! What does it meant that you do not have my email?! They also towed brunch of cars in the game day, which is understandable. I would guess they get commissions from the towing company that's what makes them excited towing others' cars. $175 towing expense is a lot to me. I will never trust who is trying so hard to upset me again. Review from Google
Jul 2018: My son has lived here 2 years and is about to stay for a third. It's close to campus, very convenient, safe, and the young people working in the office are very professional and responsive. This is a COLLEGE CAMPUS, people--stop complaining about every little thing. It's been a great place for my son to live and his younger brother will probably live there after the dorms, too. As a parent of an out-of-state UGA student, I recommend it without any reservations. Review from Google
Jul 2018: I've lived here for about three months now, and within that time river mill has made my living experience a nightmare. First of all, I was matched with a roommate for a 2 bed 1.5 bath townhome. They gave us "tandem parking spots" so one of us blocks the other in when we're both parked. Our schedules do not align and this has been a pain in my butt. Game days are insane because they sell their visitor spots to fans instead of leaving them for rent-paying residents. Second of all, when I first moved in, my dryer had literal shards of metal sticking out. I obviously told management and wrote it on a unit condition form. I also called again a week later asking for a work order. It took almost a month to receive a new dryer. Was that new dryer the result of a work order? NO. A couple maintenance workers dripped black liquid on me one afternoon when Review from Google
Jun 2018: Horrible management, the office tries their best but sadly they are out of the loop as far as what's going on. Water shut off without notice for days at a time, AC broken for days at a time, even after having been told that it was fixed. Buildings that are quite literally falling apart. The parking situation is an absolute mess. Avoid at all costs. The problem with this company isn't that stuff breaks, because that happens for any property management company. The problem is that they will lie to your face, cut corners, and show no remorse or willingness to make it right. Review from Google
May 2018: UPDATE: Despite the outrageously high rent for such outdated apartments, I have lived here for 2 years and even resigned to live here for my third and final year of college, primarily for its convenient location. I extremely regret my decision to renew my lease now, as River Mill has shown very little concern for my safety or comfort by leasing out the empty bedroom in my apartment and giving a complete stranger keys to my apartment while I was at work without informing me of the fact that they were moving in, who they were, or how I could get in contact with them. When I got home from work, a complete stranger had moved into my apartment and moved my things. I had cash sitting out which was thankfully accounted for. But I didn't know this person's name or anything about them, and I could not contact the office for an explanation as they were Review from Google
May 2018: Unfortunately I have to change a 5 star rating to a 1 star rating as I can no longer sing the praises here. Things have gone downhill drastically in the last few months after a rather pleasant 4 years of living here. The office staff does not show concern or respect to support the current tenants. There are some items to be taken with a grain of salt such as pest control (which I have been kind with the office about in the fact that I have twice had large cockroaches crawl on me in my bed that woke me up and a mouse that was living under my kitchen sink and I was left with the mouse droppings and mess) and the water was out a few times over the years. I can say that others are not exaggerating in that it has almost become a monthly occurrence now for the water to be turned off and one recently lasted more than a day. We were provided with b Review from Google
Apr 2018: If you hate running water, consistent air conditioning, competent staff, fair costs, and timely maintenance orders then come here! If you love roaches, mold, people breaking into your roommate’s car, a pool that’s basically a mosquito farm, and the worst parking situation you can possibly imagine, then “you’ll love it here.” With my hand to the sky, I can say that this is by far the worst place I have ever lived. I’m saying this as my water is shut off at 9:33 PM because a pipe burst in the parking lot and we’re three days without water. River Mill has serious infrastructure issues which they refuse to fix because their corporate structure is pretty much begging for a premises liability case. It’s not the maintenance staff’s fault. It’s the front office. They have at least a strong dislike for their residents, if not a hatr Review from Google
Apr 2018: I have lived at River Mill for 2 years now and have renewed for my senior year as well. The location is incredibly convenient, especially as a student of Grady College. I can walk to campus and downtown in just a few minutes! I’ve found the management very amiable, and the amenities like the pool and clubhouse are in good shape. The apartments are in desperate need of updates, but that’s to be expected for a complex that is over 30 years old. The only critique I have is that rent increases quite a bit every year, to the point where I wouldn’t be able to afford to live here if it went up any higher. If the apartments were updated, I feel the rent prices would be much more fair. Review from Google
Feb 2018: I have really enjoyed living at River Mill. The location is amazing, so so so convenient to campus and downtown Athens, it's definitely the best part of living here. Maintenance requests are taken care of promptly and the front desk staff is very friendly and accommodating. I live on the second floor, in the building farthest from the river and have had minimum problems with bugs. The facility is old and could definitely be improved upon and the walls are very thin, so I can often hear my neighbors, both upstairs and on the other side of the wall. However, noise usually isn't too much of a problem, especially after 10 p.m. I would definitely recommend if you're looking for a big apartment, close to campus! Review from Google
Feb 2018: I moved in about a month ago (January 2018) and so far it has been great. The staff are very sweet and helpful and the proximity to campus is really awesome. The bus comes right to the apartment so you can bus or walk to class with ease. The response to work orders is quick and they are very helpful. The only problem I've had is how thin the walls/ceiling is so you can hear the people above and around you pretty clearly but that comes with living in any apartment. They have a clubhouse with a ping pong table, a pool table, and a small gym that people rarely go to so it's nice to go work out if you don't like to be crowded at the gym. Review from Google
Feb 2018: I have had no major problems here. The maintenance staff usually responds well and will fix things you need. I have not once had any bug in my apartment. The staff are very friendly and nice to everyone. They have lots of good events and food for the residents as well. The location is absolutely perfect and my townhome suite is perfect. I am renewing my lease for next year as well! Way too many bad reviews for a good place. Review from Google
Jan 2018: Here is my honest review of RiverMill: This is a great and affordable option if you are looking for a place that is close to campus. It is cozy, simple, and extremely convenient to North Campus. The staff I have encountered have always been friendly. Things to improve: The speed of maintenance requests can be very slow at times and also the water goes out way more than it should. If you can, I recommend living on the top floor. I have had no issues with bugs living at this height. You'll definitely want to invest in some lamps but once you settle in it's really a great place to live. The staff also does a great job throwing community events. Review from Google

Back to Previous

If you like River Mill reviews or think they are acceptable, check out River Mill ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near UGA.

Page One Reviews | Next Page Reviews, Page 2





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap