select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu] Valentine Commons ▷ Reviews

Valentine Commons

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Sep 2018: The elevators have been down for over a week and the issue has yet to be addressed. Going to and coming from classes throughout the day is exceptionally difficult when you live on the 10th floor and have to take the stairs. I also have a recurring sprained knee and having to go up and down these stairs all the time inflames it. Probably going to have to go to the doctor’s soon to get it looked at since it now hurts to walk on it. Review from Google
Sep 2018: Elevators for both parking lots and apartments break down easily but you think that this should be a priority to fix right? But no because it literally takes weeks to fix it. Also this appartment has trash shoots and when it overflows they don’t even clean it until days after so it overflows more. It’s like they don’t have a custodian or janitor Review from Google
Jul 2018: This was my first year, staff has been great, and I loved how close to class and everything else it was. The price is a little high for my 2 Bedroom but compared to all the other places around here it’s pretty fair Review from Google
Jul 2018: Love living at VC, this is my second year and I'm moving to one of the larger 4 bedroom apartments with some friends. The staff has been so helpful through the entire process. I toured last weekend to show my mom the place, and the hallways look really rough but the staff told me that this was getting freshened up during the summer break. Review from Google
Jul 2018: Really, really terrible apartment building. I wouldn’t recommend living here if you have a choice. Rooms are decent, if a little worn down, but easily prettied up with decorations. Great walking distance from north campus. Ok furniture, and decent water pressure. Parking is alright - although if you’re handicapped, be warned the elevators in the parking deck don’t work. Have fun rolling down the levels I guess? The real problems come in with regards to the staff and the amenities. Staff: I have never had a pleasant conversation with a staff member. I always leave feeling like an idiot, indignant/angry, or insulted. They’re rude and dismissive about concerns, and generally seem bored and uncaring. Don’t expect any help if you have an issue while living there. Packages mysteriously go missing even when the carrier has confirmed delive Review from Google
Jun 2018: Great location couldn’t have helped my friend pick a better place. I enjoyed my stay there while visiting her. Was super impressed with the facilities. Review from Google
May 2018: Looking for student housing? Look no further! I could not imagine my college experience without this place! I have signed to live here for the 3rd consecutive year. Going into my senior year and having lived here since I was a sophomore, VC has been a dream. Great staff that selflessly puts the residents before themselves consistently, ideal location for walking to class, and fantastic amenities to enhance your experience here. Valentine Commons does not disappoint when looking for student housing, and compared to other local price points VC beats out all the competition! Review from Google
May 2018: Terrible. Their operating hours are always wrong. Open late or early when ever they feel like it. Your mail comes through a third party so don’t even bother paying for fast shipping because it’ll take them a week to get it to your mail box anyways. Review from Google
May 2018: Overpriced. Internet skips every 10 seconds or so, so forget streaming high quality sports games or anything of that sort. If you play video games, your ping spikes and you will lag online due to that. Packages are almost never received the same day they arrive to the building. I’ve lived here for 2 years and had horrible roommates. The first year I complained regularly about this guy who would just leave his alarm on for hours and they did nothing even though it is in direct violation of the lease to do something of the sort. Second year, these guys have left the kitchen absolutely disgusting despite being warned about fees and such during inspections - nothing ever arose from that. Average furniture provided, everything gets squeaky and wobbly pretty fast. The gym is pretty small and not very noteworthy if you are actually trying to lift w Review from Google
May 2018: I've lived at VC the past 2 years. So much has changed at State, but I will say I have loved living in VC. The property is older, and some stuff is out of date, but from what I've heard from the staff they are working to update it, which is good. The staff has always been available to speak with me whenever i've had an issue, in person, email or even text. I will say that it's nice to know i can text the office whenever I have an issue so that i don't always have to come down to the desk. There is a maintenance guy, older guy, who is so friendly, and sings in the hallways while he goes around doing stuff. I will never say that this place is perfect but from my experience the staff has made it worth living. If I didn't graduate this year I would be resigning my lease. I think that the people who post all this negative stuff just don't really tr Review from Google
May 2018: so lets be honest...I moved into this place and didn't see the reviews for it until afterwards so I was pretty freaked out. I feel like that stuff I have read and hear really happened but I can say that since l moved into the building in August that has not been true anymore. I live in a 3 bedroom apartment with one of my friends and we got a random roommate and it's worked out really great. The building it ok, the apartment works for me and my friends and the staff is really nice. I'm not going to lie there have been a few problems here for example when i first moved in maintenance took forever to get anything fixed, but i guess they fired those guys because things got better pretty quick when the older guy on maintenance started working here. Internet has it's problems every now and then but they seem to be on top of getting it fixed when Review from Google
Apr 2018: I love living at VC! This is my third year living here and I have signed to live here for my senior year as well. The location is perfect for me to make it to classes on time, as I often over sleep and need to make it to class in a short amount of time. While this is student housing, I think living here has prepared me for when I graduate and I am on my own. People on here are complaining about the price, but they are the cheapest in the area for being so close to campus. In summary, if you are looking to live near campus then there is no better place for you to live! Review from Google
Mar 2018: I love living at VC. It's super close to campus, so I can walk to all my classes and still get the campus life experience. The apartments are clean and new and give a unique student living experience. They have resident events frequently including lots of free food! My roommates and I love it so much, we renewed for next year! Review from Google
Jan 2018: Close to campus which is nice but overpriced, the gym is hardly a gym and has very little equipment. The halls and apartments smell musty and like weed all the time. Review from Google
Aug 2017: I hate to used this word. But this place is straight ghetto. I have never seen so many unprofessional people working in one place at the same time. Hopefully my roommates and me can find something better next year. So ready to move. Review from Google
Aug 2017: They gave us a apartment where a guy peed all over the furniture/carpet and didn't even clean the room before we moved in. Do not stay here if you have other choices. You'll fine it's expensive and not very convenient. Our room a was a 10 min Walk from our cars. Alsor quality checks, we were moved into a room with the absolute worst condition and nobody seed to when do a check before we came. We couldn't really move in until the whole place was re- carpeted. Review from Google
Jul 2017: The only good thing thing about this place was the staff. There was mold EVERYWHERE and so much iron in the water that my drains turned red. Everything got dusty again within an hour of cleaning it. They had people come in and spray for bugs (which we weren't told about) and they sprayed all of my shoes which then grew mold on them (which I'm allergic to). When I told a staff member to tell her boss so it wouldn't happen again, nothing was done about it. If you can live somewhere else, I highly recommend it. Review from Google
May 2017: My daughter has lived at Valentine Commons for 3 years now and it has been a great experience for her. The apartments are spacious and the staff is very attentive and helpful. The monthly rent is fair considering the location, amenities and the fact that everything is included. Safety is important as well and living at VC has given her mother and I piece of mind knowing she is safe. There have been a few occasions where maintenance requests have been submitted for her AC unit or misc. appliance repair but each time the issues have been fixed. For college living you can't beat it. I would highly recommend VC! Review from 5/4/17 on Google
Apr 2017: This place has definitely improved. Quality apartments, just on the small side. The staff is now much more responsive and maintenance doesn't take 2 weeks anymore. I lived here for a year and a half and I was never unhappy living here; however, I have noticed many improvements recently at VC.
Apr 2017: If I could give this apartment complex -5 stars, I would. This is literally the worst living experience of my life. DO NOT LIVE HERE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. Their office is full of liars and crooks. They try to trick you into signing your lease by claiming that all of the spots are almost full , but that is not true! They just lie. All of the amenities in the apartment are broken or in need of repair. Only one elevator works for all ten floors, which means you wait 5-7 minutes each time and then another 5-7 minutes to get dropped off. The gym never has wipes, stinks, and all the equipment is loose or broken. The hallways are disgusting, carpets stained, and the paint on the walls are chipped. The apartments themselves are also in terrible condition.
Jan 2017: This apartment is over-priced. Maintenance issues take a week to several weeks to be fixed. When the issues are finally serviced, there is a 50/50 chance that they did not fix it correctly. I have had problems with this on more than one occasion. In addition, the internet is so awful. Many times I had to go to the library, in order to get any tasks done that needed internet. The water heater is a joke. I live in an apartment with three other roommates and we can only shower one at a time, because poor quality water heater. This place definitely overcharges with very little amenities. Do not be fooled by their special events. They happen about twice a month. I stayed at College Inn and Valentine Commons, and I have to say College Inn is a far better complex when it comes to quality of service you are paying for. Review on 01/23/17 on Google
Oct 2016: Good for location, not so great for everything else. Extremely loud neighbors, construction everywhere during summer (which can't be controlled but was still an inconvenience with it going on every road surrounding the parking garage), was told what looked like mold was mildew on our windows and we have "very sound windows" (I still think it was mold), and super tiny living quarters and accommodations for the amount paying to live there. If you want the location it's the perfect place. If you want cheaper living and larger, quieter living spaces, I'd highly suggest looking somewhere else. Review from 10/9/16 on Google
Oct 2016: So the apartments themselves are not awful but the staff is absolutely HORRIBLE. A few people at the front desk are very nice but a few others have been completely rude and down right unpleasant. One specific employee, XXXX, was unbelievably rude, condescending, arrogant, or maybe just having a bad day. Regardless, no way you should talk to anyone. Also heard the place has bed bugs so there's that. You couldn't pay me to live here again. So happy I'm in Stanhope now! Review from 10/2/16 on Google
May 2016: I have to say when I first moved into Valentine Commons I was nervous that this was going to be a bad experience, but I have been very surprised. I think I was nervous because I had heard so much, but it really seems like they have it under control. I have some friends who live at other student places around town and I think its just hard to control it the first year. Either way I wanted to write something because it seems very rare that people talk about good stuff and focus on the negative. I'm giving Valentine Commons 5 stars not because it's the most amazing luxurious place in town, but because I have felt so at home this past year. The staff is the most amazing, every time I go downstairs they always speak to me and seem to really enjoy what they are doing. Review from 5/10/16 on Google
Apr 2016: My daughter lived there from August 2013 to Fall 2015. She entered as a freshman. I was very impressed with the welcome for new residents, check-in, food on yard and games. It all made her feel like a campus atmosphere. I was paying for two kids in college at the time and the rent was within reason with all utilities covered and if I was delayed I was given notice in a very nice way. I really appreciated our time there and the young people working are polite and helpful. No place will be perfect, but as a mom I felt safe with this place and my daughter had no big complaints. Review from 4/19/16 on Google

NCSU Valentine Commons Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap