select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
Valentine Commons ▷ Reviews
Back to Previous

Valentine Commons


Grade: of 42 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Jul 2019: Extremely kind, friendly and helpful staff. Very easy application process. Beautiful facilities. I can't wait to move in!! Review from Google
Jul 2019: Living at Valentine Commons has been a great experience and a great choice. walking to class is easy because it is so close to campus and the furniture in the bedrooms is comfortable, rather than cheap feeling that i have seen in some of the nearby apartment buildings. I have had plenty of maintenance things come up for my apartment however they have always been addressed in a timely manner for me. The staff is nice and easy to talk to, they also understand what it is like to live here because most of the time they are students that live here too. VC is the cheapest option in walking distance to campus too and we all get our own bathroom. it is better than on campus housing and more affordable per month compared to that too. 10/10 would recommend. Review from Google
Jul 2019: I am going into my senior year at State and really enjoy living at VC. This will be my second year living here. I have nothing but positives to say about this apartment. From taking a tour, to signing a lease, to moving in, the process was seamless and effortless. The staff is always so friendly and helpful. My favorite thing about living here is that I have the freedom of living off campus, but I am within steps of it. I highly recommend this complex to anyone looking for off campus student housing!! Review from Google
Jul 2019: I've lived at VC for 3 years now, and my experience here has been nothing but positive. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, and I'm grateful for all the memories I've made here. This is a great transitional apartment right after living in a campus dorm, I highly recommend living here! Review from Google
Jul 2019: Price rising, small fridge for 4x4 if don't co-ordinate, thin walls (for Valentine's Day). Trash chute fills up and overflow onto first floor quite often. Great with maintenance requests. Review from Google
Jul 2019: Price rising, small fridge for 4x4 if don't co-ordinate, thin walls (for Valentine's Day). Trash chute fillips and overflow onto first floor quite often Review from Google
Jul 2019: Me and my friends wanted to move here because it was so close to campus and because it wasn't a dorm room. It being close to campus is the only good thing about this place. Ever since we moved in, this place has been terrible. Me and my friends aren't picky about where we live either. We are pretty reasonable about these things too. First, our front door handle broke. This doesn't sound too bad until you and all of your friends are trapped in your apartment for 4 hours. And no you couldn't screw off the handle like a normal door. The elevators break constantly, and once they broke for about a month and a half straight. We asked for a price reduction in rent since elevators were an amenity but they said no. The elevator in the parking deck is also always broken. How 5 elevators can all be broken is beyond me. Recently our a/c unit broke. I put a work order in and the staffs fix was to turn the breaker off and back on Review from Google
Sep 2018: The elevators have been down for over a week and the issue has yet to be addressed. Going to and coming from classes throughout the day is exceptionally difficult when you live on the 10th floor and have to take the stairs. I also have a recurring sprained knee and having to go up and down these stairs all the time inflames it. Probably going to have to go to the doctor’s soon to get it looked at since it now hurts to walk on it. Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet

Does Valentine Commons allow subleases? Valentine Commons allows and encourages relets (when needed of course). This is especially the case in the summer when many students want to return home. Instead of paying rent for a place you dont live at, it just makes sense to relet i...read more

Is it possible to live at Valentine Commons and get around without a car? Yes, Valentine Commons has one of the best locations. It is right on Hillsborough Street, so there are resturants and many stores within walking distance. It is also right on the Wolfline, so it is easy to get around the NCSU campus. Lastly,...read more

Sep 2018: Elevators for both parking lots and apartments break down easily but you think that this should be a priority to fix right? But no because it literally takes weeks to fix it. Also this appartment has trash shoots and when it overflows they don’t even clean it until days after so it overflows more. It’s like they don’t have a custodian or janitor Review from Google
Jul 2018: This was my first year, staff has been great, and I loved how close to class and everything else it was. The price is a little high for my 2 Bedroom but compared to all the other places around here it’s pretty fair Review from Google
Jul 2018: Love living at VC, this is my second year and I'm moving to one of the larger 4 bedroom apartments with some friends. The staff has been so helpful through the entire process. I toured last weekend to show my mom the place, and the hallways look really rough but the staff told me that this was getting freshened up during the summer break. Review from Google
Jul 2018: Really, really terrible apartment building. I wouldn’t recommend living here if you have a choice. Rooms are decent, if a little worn down, but easily prettied up with decorations. Great walking distance from north campus. Ok furniture, and decent water pressure. Parking is alright - although if you’re handicapped, be warned the elevators in the parking deck don’t work. Have fun rolling down the levels I guess? The real problems come in with regards to the staff and the amenities. Staff: I have never had a pleasant conversation with a staff member. I always leave feeling like an idiot, indignant/angry, or insulted. They’re rude and dismissive about concerns, and generally seem bored and uncaring. Don’t expect any help if you have an issue while living there. Packages mysteriously go missing even when the carrier has confirmed delive Review from Google
Jun 2018: Great location couldn’t have helped my friend pick a better place. I enjoyed my stay there while visiting her. Was super impressed with the facilities. Review from Google
May 2018: Looking for student housing? Look no further! I could not imagine my college experience without this place! I have signed to live here for the 3rd consecutive year. Going into my senior year and having lived here since I was a sophomore, VC has been a dream. Great staff that selflessly puts the residents before themselves consistently, ideal location for walking to class, and fantastic amenities to enhance your experience here. Valentine Commons does not disappoint when looking for student housing, and compared to other local price points VC beats out all the competition! Review from Google
May 2018: Terrible. Their operating hours are always wrong. Open late or early when ever they feel like it. Your mail comes through a third party so don’t even bother paying for fast shipping because it’ll take them a week to get it to your mail box anyways. Review from Google
May 2018: Overpriced. Internet skips every 10 seconds or so, so forget streaming high quality sports games or anything of that sort. If you play video games, your ping spikes and you will lag online due to that. Packages are almost never received the same day they arrive to the building. I’ve lived here for 2 years and had horrible roommates. The first year I complained regularly about this guy who would just leave his alarm on for hours and they did nothing even though it is in direct violation of the lease to do something of the sort. Second year, these guys have left the kitchen absolutely disgusting despite being warned about fees and such during inspections - nothing ever arose from that. Average furniture provided, everything gets squeaky and wobbly pretty fast. The gym is pretty small and not very noteworthy if you are actually trying to lift w Review from Google
May 2018: I've lived at VC the past 2 years. So much has changed at State, but I will say I have loved living in VC. The property is older, and some stuff is out of date, but from what I've heard from the staff they are working to update it, which is good. The staff has always been available to speak with me whenever i've had an issue, in person, email or even text. I will say that it's nice to know i can text the office whenever I have an issue so that i don't always have to come down to the desk. There is a maintenance guy, older guy, who is so friendly, and sings in the hallways while he goes around doing stuff. I will never say that this place is perfect but from my experience the staff has made it worth living. If I didn't graduate this year I would be resigning my lease. I think that the people who post all this negative stuff just don't really tr Review from Google
May 2018: so lets be honest...I moved into this place and didn't see the reviews for it until afterwards so I was pretty freaked out. I feel like that stuff I have read and hear really happened but I can say that since l moved into the building in August that has not been true anymore. I live in a 3 bedroom apartment with one of my friends and we got a random roommate and it's worked out really great. The building it ok, the apartment works for me and my friends and the staff is really nice. I'm not going to lie there have been a few problems here for example when i first moved in maintenance took forever to get anything fixed, but i guess they fired those guys because things got better pretty quick when the older guy on maintenance started working here. Internet has it's problems every now and then but they seem to be on top of getting it fixed when Review from Google
Apr 2018: I love living at VC! This is my third year living here and I have signed to live here for my senior year as well. The location is perfect for me to make it to classes on time, as I often over sleep and need to make it to class in a short amount of time. While this is student housing, I think living here has prepared me for when I graduate and I am on my own. People on here are complaining about the price, but they are the cheapest in the area for being so close to campus. In summary, if you are looking to live near campus then there is no better place for you to live! Review from Google
Mar 2018: I love living at VC. It's super close to campus, so I can walk to all my classes and still get the campus life experience. The apartments are clean and new and give a unique student living experience. They have resident events frequently including lots of free food! My roommates and I love it so much, we renewed for next year! Review from Google
Jan 2018: Close to campus which is nice but overpriced, the gym is hardly a gym and has very little equipment. The halls and apartments smell musty and like weed all the time. Review from Google
Aug 2017: I hate to used this word. But this place is straight ghetto. I have never seen so many unprofessional people working in one place at the same time. Hopefully my roommates and me can find something better next year. So ready to move. Review from Google
Aug 2017: They gave us a apartment where a guy peed all over the furniture/carpet and didn't even clean the room before we moved in. Do not stay here if you have other choices. You'll fine it's expensive and not very convenient. Our room a was a 10 min Walk from our cars. Alsor quality checks, we were moved into a room with the absolute worst condition and nobody seed to when do a check before we came. We couldn't really move in until the whole place was re- carpeted. Review from Google
Jul 2017: The only good thing thing about this place was the staff. There was mold EVERYWHERE and so much iron in the water that my drains turned red. Everything got dusty again within an hour of cleaning it. They had people come in and spray for bugs (which we weren't told about) and they sprayed all of my shoes which then grew mold on them (which I'm allergic to). When I told a staff member to tell her boss so it wouldn't happen again, nothing was done about it. If you can live somewhere else, I highly recommend it. Review from Google
May 2017: My daughter has lived at Valentine Commons for 3 years now and it has been a great experience for her. The apartments are spacious and the staff is very attentive and helpful. The monthly rent is fair considering the location, amenities and the fact that everything is included. Safety is important as well and living at VC has given her mother and I piece of mind knowing she is safe. There have been a few occasions where maintenance requests have been submitted for her AC unit or misc. appliance repair but each time the issues have been fixed. For college living you can't beat it. I would highly recommend VC! Review from 5/4/17 on Google

Back to Previous

NCSU Valentine Commons Ads & Subleases





About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap