select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu] The Standard ▷ Reviews

The Standard

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Dec 2018: I have lived here since January 2018 and am moving out Dec. 2018 for reference. not worth the money. This place is advertised as premiere student living and it is anything but. I'm not sure where to begin. First of all you can find places much cheaper in the same part of town. They provide internet and satellite TV but the channel list is small, it doesn't even have some local sports stations. The internet speed is mediocre on a good day. And the Ethernet port in my room has never worked. I spent about 2 months trying to get them to fix it but they never did and I gave up asking. One Monday night at 10 pm, maintenance people came into my unit with no notice at all. It scared me to death as I thought someone had broken in. (It was so they could vacuum a bedroom that one of my roommates had recently moved out of). So I would say tenant privac Review from Google
Nov 2018: How come we see the porter only walk around he doesn't clean anything else he toilets for the pool have had shit in the he stairwells completely filty never cleans the garages what a waste get us, but the housekeeper is great she cleans everything.
Oct 2018: don't waste your time and money on this apartment. I regret ever signing a lease with them. I guarantee you can find a better place like this in the fort with much more professional staff and less costly living for hundreds less than what I spent here (+$800 a month after utitlies and required insurance are added, can be $100 more a month with parking). First off, the staff will give you false promises and conflicting information. They'll say anything to you to get you to sign your lease and if they give you a promise, then you better have audio or written evidence of whatever they tell you (no fees, no sec deposit, etc) because they will go back on their word and say that they never offered you that if you provide no evidence. I don't know how many property managers this place has been through because everytime I ask to speak to one, I speak to a different person
Oct 2018: So far staff has been helpful and a pleasure to work with. During signing, the mamnager Jessica was a huge help and was willing to answer my multiple quesitons. I cannot wait to start living here next year and to see what the community is like. Review from Google
Oct 2018: I had an amazing experience living at the Standard and can't wait to live there again next year. The staff is always so friendly and helpful and the amenities are great. The best student housing in Knoxville. Review from Google
Oct 2018: Working and living at The Standard has been the best decision I have ever made. Even before I worked here the staff always made me feel like I was a priority. I suggest living in one of the penthouse units they are amazing!! Review from Google
Aug 2018: My daughter was supposed to move yesterday. When she arrived someone else was moving into her room. She said politely that that was her room, and they said not any more. Yvonne went with a staff member and he told them the same thing and the group of people said not its not now. We signed a contract and the room number is stated on the contract. At this point Jessica has offered no help to get this person out of her room. Yvonne now is afraid this person will have retribution toward her and her pet if she does anything. since this person has no respect for other people of their property. So much for college helping people grow. Yvonne is not in her room or the standard. They do have my money I paid for the room though. I contacted a lawyer and it may take awhile but if they do not make good on the contract I feel I have no other recourse. Luckily I live in town.
Aug 2018: Just returned home after another day of no resolution. One student is in my child's room. The Standard management "Jessica" refuses to handle the situation. It is an easy resolution. Request child that is in my child's room to move into her designated room per the contract. My child is still not staying at the standard and we will get a lawyer on Monday if this is not resolved. Review from Google
Jun 2018: don't trust the good reviews, they cannot be real. This is the worst place, never live here. Everything you can possible imagine goes wrong with this place. Its dirty, stinks, horrible management, way overpriced. I have had several issues such as maintanace walking into my apartment without notice, (once without even knocking they came into the wrong apartment!!), broken keys-which they charge you $75 to replace, fire alarms in the middle of the night, and water leaking from my ceiling. There are so many other great places to live this place is awful. Review from Google
Apr 2018: The Standard is very well kept at all times. The staff is friendly and the doors lock and a security guard is onsite during off hours. Makes me feel that my child’s safety is their ultimate concern. It has great amenities with a pool, fitness room, tanning beds, private mail boxes, game room, study room with free Starbucks coffee for late night studying. Overall it is an awesome place to live in Knoxville! Review from Google
Apr 2018: I have loved living here since it has opened! All of the staff and maintenance team are definitely top tier and are always trying to find ways to make the experiences better for the students who live here. They have great events put on by the community ambassadors and I have met so many great people. Also, there are so many peaceful places at this complex where I can sit back and ponder my great decision to live here. :) Review from Google
Apr 2018: can't say it enough: NO NOT LIVE HERE unless you want to live in a nasty dog pound. This has been the most unpleasant living experience. Not only are there more dogs than people, but dog poop and piss are not only constantly in the exterior grass ( people do not clean up after their dog) but dog feces is up and down the hallways inside the building. I never desired to live with the dog but have found my self stuck living with a dog who is allowed to jump up and eat off kitchen counters, jump on furniture, piss inside the apartment, and jump on anyone who enters the apartment. I have repeatedly voiced my health concerns to the office staff only to be met with rudeness and ultimate defense of the bad behaviors of the dog. This has been going on for half a year, and still no resolve. The price is not worth the quality of the apartments. Additi Review from Google
Apr 2018: Hi! Do NOT live here! My friend is a tenant here and I come to visit quite often. This place is a slum! Dog poop and pee fill the halls and people ignore it! Not to mention, there are a couple of times the hallway smelled like weed. I considered living here when I was relocating, but I decided not to. They just simply aren’t worth the money. You can rent a house for what you pay here. There is also always something wrong with the key sensor and her washer machine sucks. The gym is nice, but machines are always broken. The bathroom is nice though, I love the tub, but you can get a nice tub anywhere; Anywho, as a student you want a place where you can come home and RELAX. This place ain’t it. You probably get more of a break at the library. Review from Google
Apr 2018: Great Maintenance staff. David the Maintenance Supervisor is always very professional and welcoming. There needs to be more people like him in Management positions, with his work ethic. He is one of a kind. Review from Google
Mar 2018: DO NOT LIVE HERE! My experiences with the standard have been some of the worst I have ever experienced. My washing machine hasn't worked since I moved in. It's now been 8 months since I moved in and they still have not done anything to fix it, thus I cannot wash clothes at all. Also, I have had a few kitchen cabinet doors fall off from regular use. In addition to that, all electronic locks on the outside of the building that residents use to enter don't work. Any resident with an apartment key cannot get into the building after business hours when all doors to the outside lock automatically. This is not just my problem but all residents'. I'm paying over $900/month for a 2-person room when I feel it's worth closer to $200/month. Absolutely absurd amount of problems with this place, and the staff isn't very good either. It's a new is Review from Google
Mar 2018: Conflicting information on renewal practices and lack of care attitude towards moving forward with disagreements. Overall, would suggest not living here and checking out other apartments; its simply not worth the price you pay for cheap aesthetics. *edit: the new management about the same in quality as previous management, and is completely unwilling to help with problems that arise (reported theft of a $1,200 bike was brushed off and told that a warrant was needed for their staff to even look at the security cameras). *most recent example: I was gone and my sick girlfriend was in my room, and instead of coming back within the next 2 days or even later that day like she asked( they had a blanket notice of entry from Nov 28 - Dec 1), the inspecting community manager chose to enter rudely and make her extremely uncomfortable. Review from Google
Feb 2018: The Standard is such a nice location I went in for information on rates and Kyla was so wonderful. She was extremely helpful and intentional with me. Kyla was extremely busy and still made it know that my questions and concerns mattered. She showed me a wonderful tour of the facility! I will be back to see her no doubt! Review from Google
Feb 2018: This place is an ABSOLUTE RIP OFF!! The ONLY thing it has going for it is LOCATION! It's a GLORIFIED/EXPENSIVE DORM ROOM with a SMALL KITCHEN and UNCOMFORTABLE LIVING AREA!!! These BS comments from Jan. 2018 are probably from desperate staff TRYING TO LEASE this crap!!!
Jan 2018: Good experience, haven't had any problems at all. Location is convenient. The apartments are the perfect size for me and my roomate to enjoy our stay. The staff is great, especially the girl with the dog Peyton. Peyton is the best. Go Vols Review from Google
Jan 2018: Great place for your college student to live and work. Great location. So convenient to school and stores. Very safe and secure as well. Review from Google
Jan 2018: 10/10 recommend! The staff is so friendly and helpful with anything that you need. There's also dogs in the lobby which is always a plus because they are also very friendly! The complex is very student oriented, and in a convenient location! Security is always on the clock in case needed, which also makes me feel safe. Review from Google
Jan 2018: Pretty cool place. Friendly staff. The girl at the front with the pup is awesome! (I think her name is Kyla, so ask for her) New workout equipment! Close walk to campus and right across from Panda Express, how can you beat that? I couldn’t think of anywhere else you could live near or around UT’s campus that is this TOP NOTCH! Review from Google
Jan 2018: I couldn't be more appreciate of the professional and friendly staff. The Standard has State of the art facilities with 24 security and a super convienant location. This made it a perfect fit for my two kids. Review from Google
Jun 2017: The Standard is about appearances, not substance. Let not the Standard's greatest sin be forgotten: failing to deliver their product on time, knowingly. After being originally promised an August move-in date, my room was actually available in December. In other words, it was an entire semester late -- a semester I spent commuting an hour from home every day while others were endlessly shifted from hotel to hotel. At the time I signed my lease in May, this delay was absolutely expected by the Standard management. Review from 6/2/17 on Google
May 2017: DO NOT RENT from these people. "The Standard"? What a joke. Nothing good be further than the truth. The are SUB-Standard. They market an upscale experience but they are merely dressed up a little at first glance with nothing of substance in reality. The staff is not knowledgeable, and Lance and Brad are completely incompetent management. Mis-information, lies and deception is the flavor of the day at "the standard". Review from 5/14/17 on Google

UTK The Standard Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap