select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
Slate at 901 ▷ Reviews

Slate at 901


Grade: of 69 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Mar 2019: PROS: It’s a 8-10 minute walk to campus. The staff is nice enough. About once every month or two they have something free in the lobby. (Not enough for everyone, though— so you have to go early. Stuff like muffins/waffles/candy.) There’s a movie theater (Although, I have no idea how to use it and idk if anyone here does...) and there’s a gym. Bunch of cute doggos. CONS: This place is overpriced. Our apartment wasn’t cleaned before moving in. (Moldy/rusty bathrooms, thick layer of grime on the stove, greasy fridge, etc.) One of the two elevators was broken for SEVERAL months. Oh and the “hot tub?” Forget about it. You’ll never use it because it’s disgusting and broken and full of beer cans since that whole floor is occupied by a frat. The walls are literally paper thin— you can hear EVERYTHING. The people above us stomp and jump so hard sometimes that the whole place shakes and we move because we’re ~actually~ afraid the ceiling is going to cave in Review from Google
Feb 2019: I am a current resident and have lived here the past year. The management is awful. There is no communication between residents. What comes from this is: Checks being processed late, random fee's that the workers do not even understand, you will walk down during their "hours" and no one will be there. The "hot tub" is unkept. The apartment complex itself is taken care of very poorly. The only good thing about this place is the maintenance man who is extremely helpful. People told me before I lived here how bad the staff was but I did not believe it would affect me as much as it does. I would not live here again if it was free. Review from Google
Feb 2019: Oh man you know what's really cool? Paying $750 ($765 if you want to pay online, because come on, we all know it takes $15 more to receive money online!) a month to live in a derelict oversized frat house with no real cleaning staff! Oh what a great place Slate at 901 is, with things like a hot tub that bubbles not because of the jets, but because of the dirt in the water foaming on the surface. A single working elevator, that you can often find filled with vomit, trash, and dog urine. Stairwells and halls with broken glass and trash weekly. Oh joy do I so love this place I call home. I WOULDN"T RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO HITLER! Review from Google
Feb 2019: You know what I love in an apartment? Overpriced rent, aloof management, and sticky floors. Do you as well? No? Then DON"T LIVE HERE! Review from Google
Feb 2019: DO NOT LIVE HERE. I have been living here for 3 years now and the management has changed multiple times with a severe decline in quality each time. By moving here you get to experience things like, one working elevator (the other being broken for months with no sign of it being repaired), unnecessary service fees (like a $15 convenience fee for paying rent online, rent that has already increased by over $250 since I moved in), broken glass and trash everywhere (with the trash rooms smelling putrid and being littered with food because “the cleanliness of the trash rooms is the responsibility of your fellow residents”, and not the building who is collecting over $2,500 from each unit monthly). They have also recently fired the cleaning staff and a majority of the employees have quit or been fired. The current management not only refuses to o Review from Google
Nov 2018: I lived in Slate (formerly Evolve) from August 2017 through July 2018. My time here was stressful from day one to say the least. The day I moved in my apartment was beyond filthy (photos attached). My roommate had already lived there since the year prior, so her stuff was everywhere. It was clear that no one had inspected the cleanliness of the apartment prior to my arrival as the fridge had an odor, there was paint on the couch, coffee table, and floor, the white countertops were stained, the floor was sticky, and paint was peeled of the walls. The manager sent a cleaning crew up there, and there mouths fell open when they saw the mess, and even after a couple of hours of cleaning the apartment was still trashed. I should have broken my lease that day, but I was assured the situation would be handled, which was a lie. Moving forward my room Review from Google
Jun 2018: Let me open the Evolve conspiracy for all of you. As a summary: they are buying reviews from people that have likely not lived here in quite some time, they do not maintain their amenities, and the management has changed so many times that I might have actually lost count, each one worse than the last. Let's begin. That hot tub amenity they advertised to all of you? Yeah, it's been broken for well over 6 months. I know this because my friends and I went every week, and, thus, when it broke, we tested it every. Single. Week. As of the day that I write this review (June 28th) it is still broken. This is after multiple conversations and email exchanges with management. Management! I wish I had had one landlord in the time I lived there (two years). But, no, I had five. Five different landlords. My second landlord was released from the premises Review from Google
Apr 2018: This place is the bees knees. A1 maintence and rooms over here. Excellent prices and great location over here. Review from Google
📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

What is the benefit of a relet over a sublease? A relet is a much cleaner agreement. The original leasee is no longer liable for any unpaid rent, or damages. This means there is a clean cut-over and has much less risk to the original leasee. While there is usually a little cost involved with th...read more

When should I start looking for student housing? Student housing is very different than most apartments. In most apartments you would start looking two months or so before you want to move. In student housing the search starts in October of the year before....read more

Apr 2018: Great staff and management! Also in a perfect location! Review from Google
Apr 2018: Very well maintained apartments. Great location. Great staff. Anyone living here would be very pleased. Review from Google
Apr 2018: Pretty fun place to live, maintenance was pretty good, and the rest of the staff hardly ever smelled like cheese Review from Google
Nov 2017: The property is nasty, staff and managers are unprofessional, and you pay high prices for extremely cheap quality. You can never get a consistent answer on anything, and both the managers are clueless. This property has gone downhill over last year or two and will continue to do so. Stay away unless you want to waste your money!!! Review from Google
Oct 2017: Really crappy yet intriguing property. It always left me wondering with questions, but not really wanting any answers. It has the feeling of a tacky teens 18 and under only nightclub with the hallways lit up neon blue. It smells odd as well. Every day I walked out my door to dog pee on the carpet, or throw up. It was wonderful to pay close to 900$ a month for an already over priced unit, for a below sub par place... Especially with the quality of the property as well. The furniture is awful and the units are built very cheap. Why they charge rent at 600-900$ is one thing I will never understand. Not to mention how loud it is at all hours of the day and night. The walls are so thin which makes it hard to sleep. The staff are not very professional. You can never get an answer for any of your questions, and every one has a different answer to que Review from Google
Aug 2017: The most unprofessional and unorganized office management I have ever dealt with. No one in the entire office ever had the same answer for one simple question. Would not recommend living here to ANYONE. Review from Google
Jul 2017: I am about to be on my second year leasing term for evolve and I must say this is the place for me. I really appreciate all of the staff and the work they do. They have the best maintenance department and the new property manager has really turned this place around. The location is awesome for any student that enjoys being in the middle of the action. The lounge room and weight room are very nice as well as the hot tub! I love Evolve Apartments and will be sad when I leave, but I have had some of the best times of my life here. I would recommend this place to anybody. Review from Google
Aug 2016: Probably the worse apartment choice possible for UT students. The management staff is extremely young, rude, and unprofessional. The price is ridiculous and is completely not worth it. Half the time you call no one will answer the phone. Parking spots cost an arm and a leg. The size is small in general, and the utilities will generally average $55 more per month. Also, don't expect your security deposit back in full, since they charge you almost all of it for "cleaning." Once I had a late fee wrongfully applied to my account and it took over two weeks of me calling to finally get it sorted out. The location is horrific as well. Expect to be woken up much earlier than planned due to construction and the trash being emptied. Overall a terrible experience. don't be fooled by "luxury student living." There are much better housing options that co Review from Google
Aug 2016: Evolve is the best apartment complex on Cumberland Avenue in Knoxville, TN. Great for students that need to live close to the campus of the University of Tennessee at Knoxville and still want to live in a modern, spacious apartment! Review from 8/7/16 on Google
Aug 2016: It was a great place to live and I would suggest it to any UT student. The management is absolutely amazing and I'm not just saying that.The property manager, Christina, really cares about the renters and any issues you may have she will do her absolute best to fix it. On top of that the maintenance people are by far the best in Knoxville. No joke. I had an issue with my AC and it was fixed immediately. The apartment itself is really nice and updated. The kitchen is great for cooking and connects to the living room so the whole area is really open and great for hosting. Also the location is perfect. You can walk to class, restaurants, Walmart and even downtown. Review from 8/3/16 on Google
May 2016: As a former employee and resident of Evolve, I can say with confidence there is no other property in Knoxville that commits more time to the well-being of its residents. I first started working for Evolve during the initial lease-up in January 2014 and have seen the progression of the building in its entirety. As with any property, there are issues; from Comcast outages, to trash chute backups (which the Property Manager has personally cleared; do not under estimate her work ethic), and beyond. However, there is not a management team that handles the issues so personally as Evolve's. The Property Manager, Christina, has been with the company since December 2013 and Evolve is akin to her own child. Review from 5/3/16 on Google
May 2016: I've lived at Evolve for two years now and have found some pros and many cons to living here that could be potentially helpful. To start off Evolve is honestly overpriced for what you are given. Rent starts at $725 with utilities not included which typically range from $30-$60. They charge an additional $130 monthly if you want your own parking spot below the building, $80 if you want to share a tandem spot, and $50 for the few spots available right outside the garage. Thankfully there's parking along the street behind evolve because they do not have enough parking to accommodate for their residents, but unfortunately it tends to be a burden to actually find an open spot on the street and you might find yourself having to park in a spot you will definitely get ticketed or towed in. Review from 5/2/16 on Google
Nov 2015: I've lived in Evolve for 14 months and counting and it's made my college experience very enjoyable for several reasons. First, the convenience of the location on The Strip is easily walking distance to any restaurants, bars, and gameday activities my heart desires. Not to mention, how close it is to all my classes. The apartments are high quality with large balconies if you get that type of apartment (which I highly recommend). The hot tub, fitness room, theater room, and underground parking garage are all phenomenal attributes to Evolve. I also like how secure I feel in Evolve with e-key only access after hours and surveillance cameras all around. Review from 11/16/15 on Google
Nov 2015: After living on campus my freshman year I really wanted an apartment close to campus so that I could still walk to my classes. I looked into evolve and was impressed with everything that was offered. It comes fully furnished and includes a flat screen TV, cable, and internet. I really enjoy the convenience of being on Cumberland close to all my favorite restaurants and grocery stores. It even makes game days easier to enjoy. The only problems I have had is with the WiFi, and the occasional issues with noise. For the most part living at evolve has been great, and if there is an issue the staff is friendly and willing to help. Review from 11/4/15 on Google
Sep 2015: Anyone can live there even though it's marketed as student housing. Happy, smiling university-apparel wearing people all over the website. If one roommate bails, anyone could be moving into the spare bedroom of your child's apartment. My underage kid has a roommate, who is NOT a student, who is over 21 and has nothing to do with the school. They weren't even informed they were getting a roommate until he walked in their door. Review from 9/24/15 on Google



UTK Slate at 901 Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap