select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
Campus Evolution Villages - Wilmington ▷ Reviews
Back to Previous

Campus Evolution Villages - Wilmington


Grade: of 55 reviews

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Jun 2019: Absolutely terrible place to live. I can’t believe I wasted money living here. My rating is 0 stars. They don’t even deserve 1. The apartment quality is TERRIBLE! not worth the price they charge. The back of the complex was always full of trash. Management didn’t enforce rules like leaving trash/cigarette butts in the stairwell. When I moved in in 2016 there was evidence of bugs, the counters were crooked, water stains on the ceiling that hadn’t been dealt with, my shower drain was backed up, so the apartment clearly hadn’t been cleaned. The furniture was not AT ALL what I was told it would be. My dog got JUMPED by another dog that was OFF LEASH, and when I reported it to the office, they tried to turn it back on me saying I wasn’t supposed to have a dog. I had given them her papers as an emotional support animals on 3 separate occasions! Every time I was told that it would be “added to my file,” but that never happened because I kept having to resend it Review from Google
Jun 2019: Living at CEV Wilmington was not a problem for me until recently. I lived in a one bedroom apartment from August 2016 - July 2018. The room was comfy, quiet, and I was mostly satisfied. The only consistent issue throughout the two years was the continuous presence of bugs/roaches in the apartment. The property claims to treat each room quarterly, but there is no evidence to suggest that this is true. The issue is so prevalent that a professional extermination company should be called in. That is not my main issue, however. It is now almost a year since I moved out that I am having issues. On November 16, 2018, I received a third-party notice that I was turned over to collections. It turns out that charges were uploaded to my CEV account after move-out but were otherwise not communicated directly to me. I paid the outstanding charges on November 19, 2018, and now, seven months after that as I am trying to rent elsewhere, I was told that I am STILL in collections with an open account Review from Google
Jun 2019: Do not live here! I've been charged fees on multiple occasions for unknown reasons. Any time I've tried to talk to them about it they just threaten that the fees must be paid or my account will be delinquent. I wish they would be professional about it and at least explain the fees instead of surprising them with me when rent is due. can't wait to be far away from this complex once I've moved. DO NOT LIVE HERE! Review from Google
May 2019: I haven't moved in yet. My move in date is June 1st I still don't know my apartment number when I call no one ever answers and I just stopped by the office I stood there 10 minutes before being helped and was told by general manager she could help me of I made it quick she had to get on the phone. Sorry not a good impression on a new resident!! Review from Google
May 2019: ** Revised** After the hurricane I was placed "temporarily" in another apartment, which was a downgrade for what I am paying (non-furnished and without a television). Now that the renovations on my contracted apartment are finished, they have moved other residents into it. While this is frustrating, I realize they are under new management and there was a lack of communication that resulted in our agreement not being adhered to. The general manager is friendly and seems to want to do her job well, and the assistant manager seems to have made a particularly strong effort to improve CEV. The biggest challenge facing these apartments is the fact that the apartment complex directly across from CEV is a hive of criminal activity which from time to time bleeds over into CEV. It is not condoned by the management, but can be unsettling. Rated 3 of 5 because being within walking distance of campus is nice and now that they are fully staffed again things seem to be improving. Review from Google
May 2019: Worse don’t live here specially you want to sublease your room, they will not help bec they want to make double give them another vacant room
Apr 2019: I wish i never signed my lease here. I’ve lived here since August and will definitely be moving out in July. I tried to give this apartment complex a chance multiple times however it’s nothing but problems. First, During the hurricane, I wasn’t inside my apartment for almost an entire month however my electricity bill for that month was $100+ (For a tiny one bedroom) And when I told them they said “that isn’t our problem” and to deal with it myself when they are supposed to “help”. I was promised $600 when I moved in here and never received it and when I kept coming in every few days to ask about the money they would usually reply with an attitude when THEY told me to come in every few days to check. The washers and dryers are almost $2 for one load and they usually never work, the washers won’t drain so your clothes will be soaked and I paid $14 to dry all my clothes once and not one dryer applied heat Review from Google
Apr 2019: Management is glacier slow to respond to issues. The apartment wasn't anywhere near ready on our move in day. Probably not the worst in Wilmington, but definitely not in contention for any awards. Short walk to class is the one shining star. Even the management hasn't been able to screw that up somehow. Very poor communication during the recent hurricane. Your experience will probably be in relation to you expections. Think really low bar and you should be pleasantly surprised. Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

Do student apartments pro-rate rent? Each year as new students make the journey from on campus housing to off campus housing the common practice of not pro-rating rent creates a lot of confusion and conflict. To start, if you are not familiar, pro-rating rent means you only...read more

What is the benefit of a relet over a sublease? A relet is a much cleaner agreement. The original leasee is no longer liable for any unpaid rent, or damages. This means there is a clean cut-over and has much less risk to the original leasee. While there is usually a little cost involved with th...read more

Mar 2019: My son lived in this community for one year. There is no management. The entire community was without WiFi for months and no concessions were given. I found dead bugs on move in date inside kitchen cabinets and was told they are beach bugs. We paid rent on auto pay so we were never late but six months after my son moved out, we received a call from a very aggressive collection agent that we owed $470. I asked him why we owed money and he said he didn’t have to tell me anything - I immediately called the rental office and was told that they didn’t know why it had gone to Collection - and that the fee was for last month utilities, turnover fee and replacing carpet in the bedroom - mind you the carpet wasn’t even dirry so not sure why it needed to be changed. We never got a call, notice, or any mail regarding this past due balance. I was told notice was given but we had to go into their rental portal to get it Review from Google
Mar 2019: My son rented a unit from 6/17-6/18 three months after moving out a collection agency started calling me , as im the guarantor of the lease. We were told we owed over $300 in repairs and utilities. The collection agency would not let me know the breakdown of costs until I agreed to pay. This was the FIRST time we heard of it. I was given reasons that they had no forwarding address, etc. They had no problem emailing me monthly for the rent, but apparently didn't with these charges. As per CEV Wilmington request, we emailed our concerns/questions on 9/28/18, no response. Again on 10/29, 11/8 and 11/30., no response. I actually visited their office on 2/8/19 (I live 600 miles away) and was told no manager was available and would call me back, no call. We called again yesterday 3/19/19 and today, no return call. The collection agency still calls and now my son is having issues renting another apartment Review from Google
Mar 2019: If I could give 0 stars I would. I moved out last spring and have been dealing with this poorly run business for months now as they refuse to answer my phone calls. Not only was the complex incredibly loud at all hours of the day and night regardless of what day it was, but the CEV staff has refused to answer my phone calls and emails regarding fees that have yet to explain. They claimed that I damaged the apartment and decided to charge me for damages without notifying me of those charges. The first I heard of them was months later when a collection agency called my out of the blue. I have tried to contact CEV countless times to no avail. Every single time I get a person on the line I am promised that I will receive a call from management. I have yet to hear from anyone in that CEV office that is actually able to answer my questions. Instead, I get low level employees who provide false promises of future phone calls Review from Google
Mar 2019: I have many, many issues with the CEV in Wilmington but I am livid about this current issue. Staff is very friendly but my washer in my unit has been broken since DECEMBER. It is now mid March. Maintenance came by one time in December and said they were ordering a part. A month later my roommate went to the office and they were nice about it saying they would talk directly to maintenance and print out our maintenance request and put it directly in maintenances hands. Three weeks go by and my roommate and I both go to the office. Word for word the man at the front desk tells us the same thing. They said they were short on maintenance and that’s why it’s taking so long and that they would directly print out our request and hand it to maintenance. Should it take 3 and a half months long to check our washer? Where’s the “part” that was ordered? I am not going to pay my quarters for months washing clothes in the public laundry room at CEV Review from Google
Mar 2019: Thought was important to share my experience and what I witnessed. At beginning of month went without appointment to lease office to get info. At office were appr. 10 people complaining about surcharges and utility bills. One young woman was close to tears about $400.— utility bill. One father discussing his son lived already over one week in motel due to plumbing issue. He suggested he would pay for plumber. Phone was ringing off hook. Guy at reception never lost his cool and was friendly to everyone. But had for everybody same answer: “This is a third party issue call 1-800”. One middle aged woman was sitting on sofa next to General Manager office and talking on cell saying the problems are worse than we thought, people are complaining about bills, maintenance... Suddenly woman from GM office ran to her took phone out of her hands and screamed: leave immediately or I will call security! Woman answered she’s happy to wait for security Review from Google
Mar 2019: We have been renting at this complex the last three years (2 kids). All the problems started a year ago: 1) Roaches: When my kids are coming home over vacation with laundry - there is most of time hiding one in laundry basket. 2) August no air condition for over one week at 95 F. 3) One of my kids locked himself out. As instructed he called emergency number and was told somebody will come to let him in. After FOUR hours he was told that nobody will come. He had to get a motel room. Next day he complained at office was told "not our problem". 4) Electronic keys don't work. It took one week to fix lock. 5) Accounting: 3 years no problems, but NOW: First of month you get total of payment including utility bill - not earlier - it is on FIRST of month. You cannot pay online without extra fees. They are only excepting checks. If you are not in town on this date they charge you $35.-- late fees Review from Google
Feb 2019: doesn't honor their contract. Needed to be let in after hours and waited for 4 hours calling the number. No one showed up and it took them 4 hours to inform me. By then I couldn't find a place to stay for the night. Still charged me full price for the key even though I had to walk and find a motel because of this. Review from Google
Jan 2019: Do not trust this apartment complex. My daughter and boyfriend dealt with the office staff for over 3 weeks arranging everything to rent a one bedroom. Well, move in day was today Jan 15 2019. With everything packed, previous rental places given up and so excited to be moving today.... to find out there is no apartment available!!! Soooo.. they were never told sorry, was not offered another unit, was not given the application fee back or anything. Now, with all their belongs in tow, have no where to live!!! Furious is putting it mildly how I feel as a parent having my child homeless basically. DO NOT rent from this place... judging by other reviews, there is plenty of complaints!!! Review from Google
Jan 2019: Very average, only good thing was the location, I moved out after 1 year. It was loud at nights at times. Apartments were tiny with very little natural light. not worth $580 a month which after the electric bill(always went over the cap) was sometimes $620. Look elsewhere. Wifi was always out or slow as well. Review from Google
Jan 2019: Worst apartment living experience. When I toured, the office staff promised me certain flooring but when I moved in, I did not have that flooring. They told me there wasn't even a unit available with that flooring. There were stains on the carpet but it also didnt matter to them. I moved out due to finding a job in a different city. There seemed to be confusion about when I would receive my deposit back. The manager assured me it would be 30 days. I have a signed letter from her starting my deposit would be returned in 30 days. As of today, it has been 90 days. I am out over $800 because the complex cannot hold up their end of the rental agreement. They've now given me the corporate number and asked me to contact them directly. I've tried to call multiple times and they have yet to pick up the phone. Do not live here. Review from Google
Dec 2018: Okay so I read the reviews and 50% of them are very VERY bad and the other half are very good lol. I have been living here for 3 months. When I first moved in, I was told I could have a 1 br, but found out that it was coming available in the next month. I was moved into a 2br with no roomate and was told I would have my new one soon. When the hurricane hit, my apt got flooded and I was quickly and helpfully moved into my new one. Maybe I was lucky idk but I have had nothing but the best help from staff, they are all super awesome and my MAN sydney at the front desk ALWAYS helps me out if I need something. There is a blonde girl who is super awesome too I wish I knew her name man but W/e and the burnette who is just as great :) I feel like the bad reviewers might just be sour people, some people are just like that. Heres a life lession: tr Review from Google
Nov 2018: Maintenance does nothing. Repairs from recent hurricane have yet to be done. Parking lots loaded with garbage and moldy furniture. Office staff is never helpful. Especially Erica who's always a raging b**ch. Over charge for utilities and the maintenance people enter your apt when you aren't home. Review from Google
Nov 2018: Do not move here. I moved in here over the summer. Apartment was disgusting and definitely hadn’t been cleaned. I figured I’d make the best of it, went to Walmart, got some cleaning supplies, and cleaned everything I could. Then my first night there, the bugs came out. Not just one or two roaches, but probably 30 or so climbing all around the floor, the walls the ceiling. I killed as many as I could and tried to go to sleep... then I found a bed bug crawling onto my pillow. Just to be sure, I googled it and confirmed it was an adult bedbug. I ended up going to sleep in a hotel at 2am my first night there. Confronted management and they couldn’t care less. They argued the place had been treated for roaches, that I hadn’t actually seen a bed bug, that I was exaggerating how bad it was. They started forcing me to only communicate with Review from Google
Sep 2018: If I could give this horrible place half a star I would. First of all I lived here for 2 years and locked in a pretty low price for rent in a 3 bedroom townhome - that's the only positive - and the maintenance guys were helpful. The utilities are ridiculously high even split between my 2 roommates and I because of the company they use. My mailbox never had a functioning lock on it. There were never enough parking spots because they weren't assigned so often times I had to park in the visitor spaces near the leasing office. The whole complex was without wifi for a MONTH (right before finals). My electric key hardly ever worked and had to be reprogrammed multiple times. The pool wasn't opened until the middle of June each year because they're always behind on everything. The "gym" was never cleaned the entire time I lived there. It took them ove Review from Google
Sep 2018: DO NOT MOVE HERE!!!! I originally made this post on move in day but was asked to remove my post if they “fixed the issues in my apartment while I was gone.” Well, they didn’t fix many of the issues while I was gone and I am now trying to find a temporary living situation because I refuse to live in filth and subhuman (BUG) conditions. I just moved in today and I am not pleased. They gave me the “wrong” unit at first and it had holes in the wall/door, smelled like straight weed, and was beyond gross. For the price you can live almost anywhere else and live in a nicer place! It’s beyond dingy and there are freaking ants & NOW baby roaches in my bathroom and dead bugs (have pictures). They didn’t repaint the unit and there were holes that needed to be replastered. The screen on my window looks like someone chewed it like what in the
Aug 2018: Apparently they don't use the $200 they charge the tenants at the time of move out for painting. Horrible place to live and someone should go in that office and clean house. Management is worthless and they don't follow their own policies and procedures. Making a complaint is a waste of time as nothing is addressed by management and retaliation for the complaints should be expected.
Aug 2018: DO NOT MOVE HERE!!!! I just moved in today and I am not pleased. They gave me the “wrong” unit at first and it had holes in the wall/door, smelled like straight weed, and was beyond gross. For the price you can live almost anywhere else and live in a nicer place! It’s beyond dingy and there are freaking ants in my bathroom. They didn’t repaint the unit and there were holes that needed to be replastered. The screen on my window looks like someone chewed it like what in the world. The furniture provided has extreme wear and tear and a stain on the couch. I am not pleased with this place whatsoever. The entire move in process was completely unorganized and I am literally pissed off because this is crazy. They false advertised and lied about MANY things. This complex is janky you’d be better off looking at better/nicer student living apartments.

Back to Previous

UNCW Campus Evolution Villages - Wilmington Ads & Subleases





About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap