select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
Campus Evolution Villages - Wilmington ▷ Reviews
Back to Previous

Campus Evolution Villages - Wilmington


Grade: of 48 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

May 2019: Worse don’t live here specially you want to sublease your room, they will not help bec they want to make double give them another vacant room
Mar 2019: My son lived in this community for one year. There is no management. The entire community was without WiFi for months and no concessions were given. I found dead bugs on move in date inside kitchen cabinets and was told they are beach bugs. We paid rent on auto pay so we were never late but six months after my son moved out, we received a call from a very aggressive collection agent that we owed $470. I asked him why we owed money and he said he didn’t have to tell me anything - I immediately called the rental office and was told that they didn’t know why it had gone to Collection - and that the fee was for last month utilities, turnover fee and replacing carpet in the bedroom - mind you the carpet wasn’t even dirry so not sure why it needed to be changed. We never got a call, notice, or any mail regarding this past due balance. I was told notice was given but we had to go into their rental portal to get it Review from Google
Mar 2019: My son rented a unit from 6/17-6/18 three months after moving out a collection agency started calling me , as im the guarantor of the lease. We were told we owed over $300 in repairs and utilities. The collection agency would not let me know the breakdown of costs until I agreed to pay. This was the FIRST time we heard of it. I was given reasons that they had no forwarding address, etc. They had no problem emailing me monthly for the rent, but apparently didn't with these charges. As per CEV Wilmington request, we emailed our concerns/questions on 9/28/18, no response. Again on 10/29, 11/8 and 11/30., no response. I actually visited their office on 2/8/19 (I live 600 miles away) and was told no manager was available and would call me back, no call. We called again yesterday 3/19/19 and today, no return call. The collection agency still calls and now my son is having issues renting another apartment Review from Google
Mar 2019: If I could give 0 stars I would. I moved out last spring and have been dealing with this poorly run business for months now as they refuse to answer my phone calls. Not only was the complex incredibly loud at all hours of the day and night regardless of what day it was, but the CEV staff has refused to answer my phone calls and emails regarding fees that have yet to explain. They claimed that I damaged the apartment and decided to charge me for damages without notifying me of those charges. The first I heard of them was months later when a collection agency called my out of the blue. I have tried to contact CEV countless times to no avail. Every single time I get a person on the line I am promised that I will receive a call from management. I have yet to hear from anyone in that CEV office that is actually able to answer my questions. Instead, I get low level employees who provide false promises of future phone calls Review from Google
Mar 2019: I have many, many issues with the CEV in Wilmington but I am livid about this current issue. Staff is very friendly but my washer in my unit has been broken since DECEMBER. It is now mid March. Maintenance came by one time in December and said they were ordering a part. A month later my roommate went to the office and they were nice about it saying they would talk directly to maintenance and print out our maintenance request and put it directly in maintenances hands. Three weeks go by and my roommate and I both go to the office. Word for word the man at the front desk tells us the same thing. They said they were short on maintenance and that’s why it’s taking so long and that they would directly print out our request and hand it to maintenance. Should it take 3 and a half months long to check our washer? Where’s the “part” that was ordered? I am not going to pay my quarters for months washing clothes in the public laundry room at CEV Review from Google
Mar 2019: Thought was important to share my experience and what I witnessed. At beginning of month went without appointment to lease office to get info. At office were appr. 10 people complaining about surcharges and utility bills. One young woman was close to tears about $400.— utility bill. One father discussing his son lived already over one week in motel due to plumbing issue. He suggested he would pay for plumber. Phone was ringing off hook. Guy at reception never lost his cool and was friendly to everyone. But had for everybody same answer: “This is a third party issue call 1-800”. One middle aged woman was sitting on sofa next to General Manager office and talking on cell saying the problems are worse than we thought, people are complaining about bills, maintenance... Suddenly woman from GM office ran to her took phone out of her hands and screamed: leave immediately or I will call security! Woman answered she’s happy to wait for security Review from Google
Mar 2019: We have been renting at this complex the last three years (2 kids). All the problems started a year ago: 1) Roaches: When my kids are coming home over vacation with laundry - there is most of time hiding one in laundry basket. 2) August no air condition for over one week at 95 F. 3) One of my kids locked himself out. As instructed he called emergency number and was told somebody will come to let him in. After FOUR hours he was told that nobody will come. He had to get a motel room. Next day he complained at office was told "not our problem". 4) Electronic keys don't work. It took one week to fix lock. 5) Accounting: 3 years no problems, but NOW: First of month you get total of payment including utility bill - not earlier - it is on FIRST of month. You cannot pay online without extra fees. They are only excepting checks. If you are not in town on this date they charge you $35.-- late fees Review from Google
Feb 2019: doesn't honor their contract. Needed to be let in after hours and waited for 4 hours calling the number. No one showed up and it took them 4 hours to inform me. By then I couldn't find a place to stay for the night. Still charged me full price for the key even though I had to walk and find a motel because of this. Review from Google
📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

Am I allowed to sublease my apartment? It depends. In many general apartments, being allowed to sublease is common. In student housing, the opposite is true. Since student housing involves renting by the room, who lives in an apartment has a large effect on the others sharing common sp...read more

What is individual leasing? With Individual Leases, YOU are only responsible for YOUR (or your students) rent. You arent liable for your roommates rent at all! Unlike a traditional lease or a joint lease, if your roommate transfers, graduates, or fails to pay his...read more

Jan 2019: Do not trust this apartment complex. My daughter and boyfriend dealt with the office staff for over 3 weeks arranging everything to rent a one bedroom. Well, move in day was today Jan 15 2019. With everything packed, previous rental places given up and so excited to be moving today.... to find out there is no apartment available!!! Soooo.. they were never told sorry, was not offered another unit, was not given the application fee back or anything. Now, with all their belongs in tow, have no where to live!!! Furious is putting it mildly how I feel as a parent having my child homeless basically. DO NOT rent from this place... judging by other reviews, there is plenty of complaints!!! Review from Google
Jan 2019: Very average, only good thing was the location, I moved out after 1 year. It was loud at nights at times. Apartments were tiny with very little natural light. not worth $580 a month which after the electric bill(always went over the cap) was sometimes $620. Look elsewhere. Wifi was always out or slow as well. Review from Google
Jan 2019: Worst apartment living experience. When I toured, the office staff promised me certain flooring but when I moved in, I did not have that flooring. They told me there wasn't even a unit available with that flooring. There were stains on the carpet but it also didnt matter to them. I moved out due to finding a job in a different city. There seemed to be confusion about when I would receive my deposit back. The manager assured me it would be 30 days. I have a signed letter from her starting my deposit would be returned in 30 days. As of today, it has been 90 days. I am out over $800 because the complex cannot hold up their end of the rental agreement. They've now given me the corporate number and asked me to contact them directly. I've tried to call multiple times and they have yet to pick up the phone. Do not live here. Review from Google
Dec 2018: Okay so I read the reviews and 50% of them are very VERY bad and the other half are very good lol. I have been living here for 3 months. When I first moved in, I was told I could have a 1 br, but found out that it was coming available in the next month. I was moved into a 2br with no roomate and was told I would have my new one soon. When the hurricane hit, my apt got flooded and I was quickly and helpfully moved into my new one. Maybe I was lucky idk but I have had nothing but the best help from staff, they are all super awesome and my MAN sydney at the front desk ALWAYS helps me out if I need something. There is a blonde girl who is super awesome too I wish I knew her name man but W/e and the burnette who is just as great :) I feel like the bad reviewers might just be sour people, some people are just like that. Heres a life lession: tr Review from Google
Nov 2018: Maintenance does nothing. Repairs from recent hurricane have yet to be done. Parking lots loaded with garbage and moldy furniture. Office staff is never helpful. Especially Erica who's always a raging b**ch. Over charge for utilities and the maintenance people enter your apt when you aren't home. Review from Google
Nov 2018: Do not move here. I moved in here over the summer. Apartment was disgusting and definitely hadn’t been cleaned. I figured I’d make the best of it, went to Walmart, got some cleaning supplies, and cleaned everything I could. Then my first night there, the bugs came out. Not just one or two roaches, but probably 30 or so climbing all around the floor, the walls the ceiling. I killed as many as I could and tried to go to sleep... then I found a bed bug crawling onto my pillow. Just to be sure, I googled it and confirmed it was an adult bedbug. I ended up going to sleep in a hotel at 2am my first night there. Confronted management and they couldn’t care less. They argued the place had been treated for roaches, that I hadn’t actually seen a bed bug, that I was exaggerating how bad it was. They started forcing me to only communicate with Review from Google
Sep 2018: If I could give this horrible place half a star I would. First of all I lived here for 2 years and locked in a pretty low price for rent in a 3 bedroom townhome - that's the only positive - and the maintenance guys were helpful. The utilities are ridiculously high even split between my 2 roommates and I because of the company they use. My mailbox never had a functioning lock on it. There were never enough parking spots because they weren't assigned so often times I had to park in the visitor spaces near the leasing office. The whole complex was without wifi for a MONTH (right before finals). My electric key hardly ever worked and had to be reprogrammed multiple times. The pool wasn't opened until the middle of June each year because they're always behind on everything. The "gym" was never cleaned the entire time I lived there. It took them ove Review from Google
Sep 2018: DO NOT MOVE HERE!!!! I originally made this post on move in day but was asked to remove my post if they “fixed the issues in my apartment while I was gone.” Well, they didn’t fix many of the issues while I was gone and I am now trying to find a temporary living situation because I refuse to live in filth and subhuman (BUG) conditions. I just moved in today and I am not pleased. They gave me the “wrong” unit at first and it had holes in the wall/door, smelled like straight weed, and was beyond gross. For the price you can live almost anywhere else and live in a nicer place! It’s beyond dingy and there are freaking ants & NOW baby roaches in my bathroom and dead bugs (have pictures). They didn’t repaint the unit and there were holes that needed to be replastered. The screen on my window looks like someone chewed it like what in the
Aug 2018: Apparently they don't use the $200 they charge the tenants at the time of move out for painting. Horrible place to live and someone should go in that office and clean house. Management is worthless and they don't follow their own policies and procedures. Making a complaint is a waste of time as nothing is addressed by management and retaliation for the complaints should be expected.
Aug 2018: DO NOT MOVE HERE!!!! I just moved in today and I am not pleased. They gave me the “wrong” unit at first and it had holes in the wall/door, smelled like straight weed, and was beyond gross. For the price you can live almost anywhere else and live in a nicer place! It’s beyond dingy and there are freaking ants in my bathroom. They didn’t repaint the unit and there were holes that needed to be replastered. The screen on my window looks like someone chewed it like what in the world. The furniture provided has extreme wear and tear and a stain on the couch. I am not pleased with this place whatsoever. The entire move in process was completely unorganized and I am literally pissed off because this is crazy. They false advertised and lied about MANY things. This complex is janky you’d be better off looking at better/nicer student living apartments.
Aug 2018: Finally! I move i yesterday, i was so excited. Alec and Erica were so helpful with moving me in. When i got to my apartment, David met me there and wanted to walk me through it. My roommate seems very nice from what I saw. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for an apartment! Review from Google
Jun 2018: This place is a joke. I should’ve known from the start it was going to be bad. First of all, they are way over priced and pretend to be nice apartments when really they are bad apartments that have been poorly remodeled. When I first signed my lease 2 years ago, they put me in the wrong room. I tried to fix it in March, but they didn’t do anything until May and then tried to charge me extra for signing late when it was their fault. I let that slide and lived there for a year with not too many difficulties other than the shoddy appliances. I signed another years lease just because I wanted to continue living with my friends. Unfortunately, in September my great aunt got very sick and I moved home to help my grandmother take care of her. She passed away in October so I decided to stay home and transfer schools to be near my grandmother. When Review from Google
Jun 2018: don't move here. Management is rude and greedy. They double charge water bill, don't keep promises, and steal Amazon packages. IF maintenance fixes something it's half assed, and don't respond to requests. Review from Google
May 2018: Multiple disappointments here. Dirty apartments prior to move in. Condoms and beer bottles, caps, etc. mold on the walls. Extremely expensive for quality although their marketing is strong. ANY CO-SIGNERS please be aware that you are on the hook for all renewals whether you sign or not. Their leases are very broad and, of course, in their favor. Just be aware. Review from Google
May 2018: Great place. Great price. Great proximity to campus. 10/10 👍 Review from Google
May 2018: Nice place to live. Of course; like any place it can depend on your neighbors as far as experiences. Nice pool, workout area, even free expensive coffee 24/7. Internet and more included in rent. Mostly college kids/adults. Beware of glass on the ground. I didn't see any, just expect the obvious, it's almost 100% college kids and some party n there's always that one jerk who breaks a beer bottle... don't be THAT PERSON... Review from Google
Apr 2018: Living here has been awesome for the year and a half I have been here. The lofts are awesome, tons of space for a single person to live in. Maintenance is super friendly and helpful, the front desk guys are super chill, and I can run to UNCW in under 2 minutes or walk in 5. They had a wifi issue because of spectrum which wasn't great, but now that its back I realize how fast the internet is. The pools are pretty sweet too and theres a solid community of mostly friendly people. Renewed and will be doing the same in the future! Review from Google

Back to Previous

UNCW Campus Evolution Villages - Wilmington Ads & Subleases





About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap