select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

University Apartments


Grade: of 69 reviews 🏆Top Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Oct 2019: This is a great place to live! Friendly staff, great location, nice apartments and good amenities. Nothing not to like! Review from Google
Oct 2019: Everyone at University Apartments is so accommodating! Very quick with service requests and helpful under any circumstance. Couldn’t imagine living anywhere else! Review from Google
Oct 2019: I live here right now and I really love my apartment! I find that I am able to keep my apartment super tidy and clean despite most of the other reviews. The people are very nice and try their best to help with any issues. I would definitely recommend. They are very understanding and great people to have as management. I love my space!! Review from Google
Oct 2019: I have been living here for almost 3 years-- if I had known about this place earlier, I would have moved in earlier. The apartment is great, maintenance responds quickly if any issues arise, and the people in the front office are always so nice. Love the one-bedroom set up-- perfect for graduate students looking for their own space. Bus lines to campus are right in front of the building. Review from Google
Jul 2019: Lived here for a year and now moving out because I got a job in Raleigh- love these apartments! Did see quite a few spiders but any time I put in a request pest control would be there the next day. Maintenance in general is quick to respond and Johnathan the property manager is one of the most hardworking people I know. The only complaint I have about university is the laundry room- we’ve been down to three washers for several months now which causes quite a jam. That and people will leave their clothes there for literal days. Now last I checked one of the dryers is broken, too. If you can deal with that though, these are extremely affordable one-bedroom apartments with a nice layout and furniture. Great location and cheap, guaranteed parking which is hard to come by so close to Franklin Street. Plus the closet/storage space is hard to beat. Never had any noise problems with any of my neighbors. If I wasn’t moving out of the area I probably would’ve renewed my lease here. Review from Google
Jun 2019: The application process is simple and the front office staff is friendly and very helpful! Looking forward to moving in! Review from Google
Jun 2019: The application process is simple and the front office staff is friendly and very helpful! Looking forward to moving in! Review from Google
May 2019: Love it here! Johnathan, the community manager, is one awesome guy. He is prompt with addressing resident concerns and problems. Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

Where are water, TPs, and sanitizers? Please help others. Hi everyone, https://www.livesomewhere.com/communities/uploadedpbi/fl/2013-jul-21/cr10/pb20/sec421/21587njpg To help minimize people driving to stores and it already sold out, if you or someon...read more

Who finds the person to sublease my apartment? The general idea is you must find the person who is going to sublease your apartment. Your apartment community may help, but this depends heavily on how full the community is. If they are full, you may get a few people refered, if they are not ful...read more

Feb 2019: Update: I think the new management has not done as a good job as the previous ones. Lack of communication in telling you about moving your car. Very dirty staircases. Entrance doors that don't work. Very strict on the rules. Charges you $110 upon departure even though you've lived there four years. I've had a good experience here, though I know there are some complaints. Top complaint is that the walls are pretty thin, so sometimes it's a negotiation with your neighbor. But otherwise I've really enjoyed staying here. Management is really nice if you treat them nicely as well. They're receptive to certain suggestions. For example I asked them to remove old bikes that were cluttering up the rack, and they did so the following week. Finally the location is amazing as I often just walk to Franklin St, where you have even a wider selection of buses to choose from.
May 2018: Wow! Northampton Plaza is now University Apartments. When I lived there they included all utilities in the rent at 150.00/month. It was a lot, but I was working and going to grad school at the time, so it worked out. The builder/owner, Buddy, owned a brick company, which is why it is the color it is. Anyway, it was new and furnished and I don't remember the walls being that thin, but maybe they were. I had a GREAT time there...lots of undergrads in those days, so it was hoppin'. Oh, and the elevators were a pain back then too. I usually walked both ways. Review from Google
Mar 2018: The internet is bad and constantly disconnected all of my devices. Review from Google
Jan 2018: This place is a pretty great place for the most part. I understand that it's not the newest building but the maintenance does their best to keep it up. Phil is fantastic I hope he continues to work here for a while. I always see him helping people carry packages, jump starting cars, and and even pushing someone's car up an icy hill. He is a great manager and is always helpful, I'm not sure what the other guy in the office does. Parking is super cheap and guaranteed which is probably the best part of living here. Review from Google
Dec 2016: Despite several Minor Repairs and needed Maintenance issues, I am extremely satisfied with my cozy Apt. I have RENEWED my Yearly lease for 2017 for my Studio Apt.! God Bless,& keep Up the GREAT JOB! at CAPSTONE/Duke University Apts./ The Commons. Merry Christmas & HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!! Review from 12/9/16 on Apartment Ratings
Nov 2016: A caring staff in the marketing office and maintenance crew. Efficient snd genuine. You're not just a contracted resident, but part of a community. Delivery notifications prompt and reliable. Maintenance well done. Exquisite landscaping. Review from 11/23/16 on Apartment Ratings
Oct 2016: Just finished a three year lease at University Apartments during my time at Chapel Hill as an undergrad. After three years, here is my honest and comprehensive list of pros and cons. PROS: - You can't beat the location. It's within walking distance to class and Franklin street, and closer to these destinations than any other apartment complex nearby. - The staff was always very friendly and helpful. Jason and Brittany were awesome during my lease. No complaints there. They also responded to my service requests very quickly. - The apartment units themselves are nice. The building is old, but the units were renovated somewhat recently, so they feel a bit newer. CONS: - As I said, the building is pretty old. While the units are nice, the hallways, elevators, and laundry room feel pretty dingy and dated. - Speaking of elevators, plan on the ele Review from Google
Jul 2016: I've had a good experience here, though I know there are some complaints. Top complaint is that the walls are pretty thin, so sometimes it's a negotiation with your neighbor. But otherwise I've really enjoyed staying here. Management is really nice if you treat them nicely as well. They're receptive to certain suggestions. For example I asked them to remove old bikes that were cluttering up the rack, and they did so the following week. Finally the location is amazing as I often just walk to Franklin St, where you have even a wider selection of buses to choose from. Review from Google
Apr 2016: I stayed here for 4 years- mainly because management is amazing and so friendly and actually respects you-- Brittany and Jason are always on hand with a smile and ready to help! The location/parking is great- easy walk to campus and multiple buses to choose from! Did I mention that the office has a lot of cool things going on- like a trail mix bar, or exam time kits and goodies! One year they even passed out krispy kreme to all our apartments as late night study snacks! who does that? It was awesome! Review from Google
Mar 2016: Quiet, well maintained community with pleasant, professional office staff and maintenance team. The community is well located. The apartments are updated inside but also feature cool period details. Love the swimming pool and beautifully maintained grounds. Review from 3/21/16 on Apartment Ratings
Mar 2016: I've lived here for 2 years. It's not as bad as some reviewers say, but yes, there are downsides. One is the noise, the walls are really thin and if you have a bad neighbor, you better buy some earplugs! I came from living internationally, so having the furniture and utilities covered was a big plus. You walk to Franklin St in under 10 minutes. There are multiple buses to and from the hospital. I rarely have to wait more than 10 minutes for a bus from the health sciences library. Management and the maintenance guy are really friendly if you are friendly to them. Review from 3/21/16 on Apartment Ratings
Nov 2015: I had an absolutely horrible experience with University Apartments and will be publicly spreading via multiple forms of social media the distaste I have for their management, specifically the area manager, Jason. He was condescending, corporate, and unhelpful when it came to a parking misunderstanding that could have easily been solved with a simple explanation to the towing company. Instead he was decidedly accusatory and rude, making me feel at fault for the towing of my car, which according to the lease agreement and my recurring payments, was legally parked in my assigned spot. The entire debacle was deeply upsetting to me and I strongly urge you to not do business with Jason or University Apartments, which he represents. Thank you. Review from Google
Feb 2015: Lived here during grad school at UNC. Best bang for your buck. Nice people, good apartments, but the location and parking are the closers. Review from 2/25/15 on Google
Apr 2014: terrific staff....building always clean and any service needs are addressed immediately....parking is available for all and lot is protected by a private towing company....residents are asked to place stickers or hanging parking passes in/on car.....thanks! Review from 4/07/14 on Apartment Ratings
Mar 2014: Seems like the earlier reviewers did not even live there or are part of the management. What a shame! I do not know how to begin but in nutshell, stay away from this apartment. I have seen this apartment change from the former management to the new management that "renovated" the complex. Here are the reasons why I moved out: 1) The rent 2) The management 3) The noise 4) Cleanliness is not well maintained. 5) Renovated? - the management did some cosmetic touch up. The "renovation" was done unprofessionally. 6) Move-out cleaning charges - ridiculous, shark-like, shameless scam. 7) Move-out notice 8) Internet The list above are the biggest concerns. There are a lot of minor ones that will drive you nuts in this apartment. Review from 3/31/14 on Apartment Ratings

Back to Previous

If you like University Apartments reviews or think they are acceptable, check out University Apartments ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near UNC.

Page One Reviews





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap