select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

The Villages of Chapel Hill


Grade: of 33 reviews

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Oct 2019: Venus and Fatina are two of the nicest people! They knew we needed a place fast so they did everything they could to accommodate that. The complex is pet friendly and the pet deposit and pet rent is reasonable. If you are looking to lease, check them out. Review from Google
Sep 2019: New management is great, they will listen to your concerns and follow through. Most of these bad reviews are about previous management, which was pretty bad. Units are reasonably priced for the location, though the buildings are old and some units are in bad shape, The Villages at Chapel Hill is a comfortable and beautiful place to live. Easy access to campus via the J bus. Gym onsite is a huge plus, as well as good trails in the area. Friendly neighbors, friendly new management, it’s a good place to live as a student, or even to settle down if you have a job or family. I had a Brighton Studio, which was very spacious. Not much natural light, and the kitchen sink’s cold water only ran at really weak pressure, but the hot water was fine and I cooked a lot. Spent a great year here, the maintenance crew quickly responded and resolved A/C and plumbing issues as they came up. I hope you enjoy your time here too - there may be some issues, as with any apartment, but you will be taken care of with some persistence and patience! good luck apartment hunting Review from Google
Aug 2019: So far, my experience have not been the best and I really wish I would have read the reviews about the poor management before I signed my lease. When I first went to tour the apartment complex, my leasing agent did a great job explaining everything but unfortunately some of her information was misleading but considering that I document EVERYTHING, I have all the information she quoted me so they had to honor me what she said. I also got a feel that the leasing staff is kinda “money hungry” before I could decide whether I wanted to live there or not, the deposit got brought up in the conversation just about five times. Two days later after my tour, I turned in the security deposit and I was told I would hear back from them in a week. Never happened... I had to keep calling to check on the status of my application then come to find out my original leasing agent went on “leave” so she had no intentions on getting back with me before she went on “leave Review from Google
Aug 2019: 0/0: Recently moved out and had not had very much interaction with new management. While signing he paperwork to move out, we clearly asked Jazmin if there were going to be additional fees since we were going to stay a few days past our lease agreement, she said no to just turn in our keys by the first of the month and we would be all set. I called on the 31st of the month, a day before turning in our keys just to check if it was okay to turn in our keys by the end of business day on the first, they said yes that would be fine. The next day my partner turned in our keys, we were getting charged an extra day for having turned our keys on the first. I called immediately and asked why I was getting this fee. The manager Venus Flores was not available and I was informed she would call, I did not receive a call that day, so I called back. I spoke with the ‘“manager” and explained the situation Review from Google
Jul 2019: I have been to the office a few times, and the ladies have always been very nice to me. I'm working directly with Jazmin, and she is trying to accommodate all of my needs. She is very friendly, and I feel as if she definitely understands what I want... Last time I was in the office they were getting ready for a dog party, I'm excited to see the other events that they plan as well! Review from Google
Jul 2019: Very unprofessional and unorganized. Quita Parker was very difficult to work with, provided inaccurate information regarding application process and length of time (168 hours total) . I decided not to move into the community based on poor business and people skills on behalf of office management. I can foresee additional problems happening just by their terrible business practices. I wish the best of luck to anyone residing in the community Review from Google
Jul 2019: This apartment complex takes advantage of students and people who need to live close to the hospital or university. The water is constantly shut off, there is pet feces all over the property, the insect control that you pay a fee for isn’t worth it because the cockroaches are huge. Maintenance is clueless and take forever to fix anything. Not to to mention that I moved out mid May and still haven’t gotten my security deposit yet. They claim that the units are renovated they aren’t. Plus the dumpster area always looks like something out of a third world country. They are quick to put a notice on your door but when they need to repair or address a situation they take their sweet time and then try to place the blame on the tenant. Beware of this complex. Review from Google
Jun 2019: If I could give zero stars I would and I never lived here. They are very unprofessional. I have tried for two weeks to get information on an apartment. I worked with Quita Parker and she clearly doesn’t know what she’s doing. I tried calling her multiple times and emailing her and she never responded. Clearly they just sit there and ignore people’s emails and calls. I had to pop up over there because that was the only way that I could talk to someone. Yesterday 7/10/2019 I finally talked to Quita and she finally gave me a little bit of information, but still acted as if she was unsure about certain things. She told me that one of the apartments would be available and then she said it wouldn’t. She apologized to me for ignoring me all of those times, but then turned around and didn’t follow up again. She was supposed to follow up with me today I had my deposit and everything ready to pay and she never did Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

Where are water, TPs, and sanitizers? Please help others. Hi everyone, https://www.livesomewhere.com/communities/uploadedpbi/fl/2013-jul-21/cr10/pb20/sec421/21587njpg To help minimize people driving to stores and it already sold out, if you or someon...read more

Who finds the person to sublease my apartment? The general idea is you must find the person who is going to sublease your apartment. Your apartment community may help, but this depends heavily on how full the community is. If they are full, you may get a few people refered, if they are not ful...read more

Jun 2019: If I could give zero stars I would and I never lived here. They are very unprofessional. I have tried for two weeks to get information on an apartment. I worked with Quita Parker and she clearly doesn’t know what she’s doing. I tried calling her multiple times and emailing her and she never responded. Clearly they just sit there and ignore people’s emails and calls. I had to pop up over there because that was the only way that I could talk to someone. Yesterday 7/10/2019 I finally talked to Quita and she finally gave me a little bit of information, but still acted as if she was unsure about certain things. She told me that one of the apartments would be available and then she said it wouldn’t. She apologized to me for ignoring me all of those times, but then turned around and didn’t follow up again. She was supposed to follow up with me today I had my deposit and everything ready to pay and she never did Review from Google
May 2019: Do not stay here . This place is over priced, the maintenance workers don’t know how to do anything. Tons of nasty bugs, i had to calk the whole apartment by myself. The dishwasher that I had was broke and when I asked to get it fixed they said nothing is wrong. When I first moved in my washer was broke. They are unorganized I moved out on March 20th and they still have not sent me my security deposit. Worst experience ever. Review from Google
May 2019: This is the worst place that I have ever lived. NO maintenance requests are ever really completed. My ceiling has collapsed more than once from water damage that was painted over instead of fixed (see the photos, which depict black mold as well). Please don't move here. Review from Google
May 2019: This is the worst place that I have ever lived. NO maintenance requests are ever really completed. My ceiling has collapsed more than once from water damage that was painted over instead of fixed (see the photos, which depict black mold as well). Please don't move here. Review from Google
Feb 2019: DO NOT LIVE HERE. I’m so happy we moved out. Where do I even begin. We moved in to a studio a couple of years ago. Two years ago the staff was great - they were nice, accommodating and responsive. A year ago everything changed when their entire staff changed. We go up to the office to pay our rent every month, and literally every single time we went up there the past year, there was a new person at the desk. I’m not even exaggerating. But that’s just a little side story. LET 👏🏻ME 👏🏻TELL 👏🏻YOU. This place is cheap as can be but with rent out the butt. Roaches galore. Paper thin walls. Our dishwasher broke. Our doors broke. Our heater broke. Our AC broke. We were flooded. Both because the water heater unit flooded us and because of a storm. And every time the maintenance came, they had no idea what they were doing. They literally drained our AC through a tube out the window Review from Google
Feb 2019: I have loved my experience here at villages of chapel hill! They have been so friendly and accommodating, the area is quiet, safe, and feels like home. Would not be leaving if I wasn’t going out of state. Highly recommended! Review from Google
Oct 2018: Lived here for a year, the amenities and apartments are nice enough for the price and the repair people have responded to my requests fairly quickly. My main issue is the complete lack of communication with tenants. One of the complexes literally burned down last year and we were not even notified-- I found out from a news report. I think that's pretty unconscionable. The administration would benefit immensely if they implemented some sort of community-wide list-serv, as seems to be standard for every other large complex I have ever lived in. The staff are also not very approachable, and have been quite rude to me (particularly over email/phone-- they are nicer in person). My experience just one complex up the street at Rock Creek was immensely better and if you're choosing between those two I'd spring for Rock Creek. The apartments are mayb Review from Google
Sep 2018: IF I COULD RATE THIS PLACE A 0/5 I WOULD. Started staying here in 2016. Back then it was great. There must have been a recent owner change or something in 2018 because all the old employees that I had come to love left. Every time I payed my rent in 2018 I met a new employee. The community atmosphere was not there like it had been in the past with games and socials for everyone. Upon leaving in 2018 "this" complex ripped me and my fiance off. They took our entire deposit of a couple hundred dollars and made us pay extra on top of that to put in new carpets which were "Flood damaged". Do yourself a favor and avoid this place at all cost. Especially if Ms. Roquemore is still managing. Review from Google
Jul 2018: I have lived at the Villages for approximately one month, though I intend to edit this review throughout my stay here. Overall the apartment (2 bedroom, Stratford model) is nice and spacious. The open floor plan for the kitchen and living room is great. The upgrades are patched together poorly, and when we moved in there were a number of issues. But so far the maintenance team has been very helpful in fixing things quickly. Paying rent online is expensive if using a credit card, but a direct deposit via a checking account has not shown any convenience fee. Finally, bugs are undoubtedly a problem. My cat does good work catching bugs in this apartment. But whether its significantly different from any other apartment complex in Chapel Hill is tough to say. Overall, after the first month, I am generally pleased with this apartment complex. Review from Google
Jun 2018: I’ve lived at the Villages for 3 years and for the past 2 they have gone downhill. My rent has increased nearly $400 since I first signed my lease. The “luxury upgrades” they constantly tote to new residents are cheap, slapped together, and fall apart. They swapped out my white fridge for a black fridge and called it an upgrade. I don’t understand this. My kitchen cabinets are held by 2 tiny screws and constantly come apart. I stopped calling maintenance a year ago because they always forgot about me. The water gets shut off for busted pipes a lot! The people at the office are rude and cold. The office manager is very defensive when you bring problems to the table and the assistant is the only one who listens and does actually smile. The other 2 leasing agents who work in the main office area always act like they are too busy to take y Review from Google
May 2018: At first, these apartments were amazing and the staff was great! It was my first time getting an apartment on my own, and the Villages offer really cute loft-style apartments. Unfortunately, I really wish that I did not renew my lease here for another year. While they say the apartments are recently refurbished, things always fall apart - cabinet doors consistently come off the hinges, sliding doors consistently come off the tracks, and I just found that that some of my blinds were broken but had been taped up to appear fine. Not to mention, there was recently a fire in the complex that we have still received no information on. This was months ago and the building that caught fire is now condemned and just rotting behind a chain-linked fence. Great to look at everyday. When I emailed the office asking if we would receive more information regar Review from Google
Apr 2018: This complex is one of the worst I've been in. If you wanna pay almost a thousand if not more for poor quality this is the place for you. It takes multiple calls to maintenance to get them to do anything. Cabinet doors are heavy duty yet held together with tiny screws so they break easily. When and if maintenance comes by, they half ass fix the problem. Resulting in you having to call agaaain. They have a habit of turning off the power or water with no forwarning. Then swear up and down they sent out an e-mail to the whole complex. Yet anyone you speak to will say they didn't get it either. They could care less about their tenants and never right their wrongs, or even compensate them. I myself had to fight for months about my washer and dryer that was broken the day i moved in. They came out 7 times to pretend fix it and kept trying to charge Review from Google
Sep 2017: I would not recommend living on these apartments the manager is rude. The prices have increased and the conditions of the apartments are poor. I asked the if they could fix a floor since the beginning of the lease and they never did. They add fees every month and your total is always fluctuating. They re better places to stay in Carrboro not this one. Review from Google
Mar 2017: I am about to move out from Villages of Chapel Hill. Couldn't recommend a better place. No place is perfect, but Villages is very friendly, on top of things and I like the community activities to bring folks together. My only two things I wish was better was online payment be a little cheaper and the laundry facility can be a little crowded depending on where you located. But it takes debit cards and very cost efficient. Review from Google
Dec 2016: XXXX and XXXX are amazing. Love the wooded area, and the bus stop right out front is a nice bonus! Review from 12/18/16 on Google
Dec 2016: The maintenance staff are amazing. They know how to fix just about anything. They ROCK!!!!!! Thanks for all the hard work guys. Review from 12/2/16 on Google
Oct 2016: Staff is friendly and helpful. Many events to make everyone feel welcome. These parties include food for everyone and prizes such as discount on rent. We have been here for 2 1/2 years and the rent has only increased one time. They have just finished renovating the apartments with new appliances and lights. The cons: -Electric bill is always high due to old buildings with poor ventilation. -The prices are very high. -You can't pay with a card or you will get charged, you have to pay with a bank account. If you're okay with the price this is a great location with a very "woodsy" like feel. It has been a positive experience living here. Review from Google

Back to Previous

If you like The Villages of Chapel Hill reviews or think they are acceptable, check out The Villages of Chapel Hill ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near UNC.

Page One Reviews | Next Page Reviews, Page 2





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap