select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
Sunstone Apartments ▷ Reviews
Back to Previous

Sunstone Apartments


Grade: of 84 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Jul 2019: Please do yourself a favor and save your money. Do not move into this apartment. I will be moving out at the end of the month and the management is awful. We have had countless issues in my apartment from roaches, to electricity issues, to the carpet continuously being wet in one of the bedrooms. Our AC has been out for two weeks despite maintenance claiming they fixed it. This past week it was 91 degrees in our apartment. They then tried to fix it by installing window ac units in the bedroom that not only are incredibly loud but do not keep the room cool. I have been trying to get in contact with management regarding our move out notice for over two weeks now with no response. This is on top of the issue of not having a trash chute since September of last year, no recycling. Management expects you to throw your trash into a huge bin which is just ridiculous. I am a grad student at UNC and wish I would have chose any other location. Review from Google
Jul 2019: Please do yourself a favor and save your money. Do not move into this apartment. I will be moving out at the end of the month and the management is awful. We have had countless issues in my apartment from roaches, to electricity issues, to the carpet continuously being wet in one of the bedrooms. Our AC has been out for two weeks despite maintenance claiming they fixed it. This past week it was 91 degrees in our apartment. They then tried to fix it by installing window ac units in the bedroom that not only are incredibly loud but do not keep the room cool. I have been trying to get in contact with management regarding our move out notice for over two weeks now with no response. This is on top of the issue of not having a trash chute since September of last year, no recycling. Management expects you to throw your trash into a huge bin which is just ridiculous. I am a grad student at UNC and wish I would have chose any other location. Review from Google
Jun 2019: The 2 stars that I am giving are solely for the new management. They helped me out of a really bad situation that the previous management put me into. I am an out of state student who travelled quite a ways to move in. A staff member initially toured me through the model apartment and gave me many promises including that my apartment would look the exact same, but bigger. My new apartment looked old, outdated, and dirty. The management staff is amazing and did help me to move to their sister property and I am so thankful. Hopefully my bad experience is not a reflection of the entire property. I would just advise to TOUR YOUR UNIT before signing your lease. Review from Google
Jun 2019: The 2 stars that I am giving are solely for the new management. They helped me out of a really bad situation that the previous management put me into. I am an out of state student who travelled quite a ways to move in. A staff member initially toured me through the model apartment and gave me many promises including that my apartment would look the exact same, but bigger. My new apartment looked old, outdated, and dirty. The management staff is amazing and did help me to move to their sister property and I am so thankful. Hopefully my bad experience is not a reflection of the entire property. I would just advise to TOUR YOUR UNIT before signing your lease. Review from Google
Jun 2019: new manager and maintenance are really good. they fixed my problem the same day i reported it...the first time ever that happened since i have lived here. i hope they stay here Review from Google
Jun 2019: new manager and maintenance are really good. they fixed my problem the same day i reported it...the first time ever that happened since i have lived here. i hope they stay here Review from Google
Apr 2019: Worst apartment I’ve ever lived. The house is old and there is no gym in the community. Mantainence is terrible. My air conditioning was broken for 2 weeks in August. No one cares if you can survive in 100F. I stayed in a hotel during that time. Also, the stove is frequently broken. The quality of this APT only deserves $300/month. Review from Google
Feb 2019: Very bad!!! Not only is it expensive, but the property repairs are basically not repaired. Managers have a very bad attitude and will encounter unreasonable charges when you check out. If you can give a negative score, I am decisive. I really liked this country, but this apartment left a very bad impression on me.
📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

Am I allowed to sublease my apartment? It depends. In many general apartments, being allowed to sublease is common. In student housing, the opposite is true. Since student housing involves renting by the room, who lives in an apartment has a large effect on the others sharing common sp...read more

What is the benefit of a relet over a sublease? A relet is a much cleaner agreement. The original leasee is no longer liable for any unpaid rent, or damages. This means there is a clean cut-over and has much less risk to the original leasee. While there is usually a little cost involved with th...read more

Nov 2018: We signed a lease and were told we could move in today 11/6. I called in the morning to confirm and they said my husband could get the key upon arrival. One hour later, they called to say there is an "emergency" and he can't move in for three more days. This was AFTER he drove 15 hours to get there. The "emergency" turns out to be that the floors weren't ready. That's not an emergency. Nobody reached out to inform us of the situation until an hour before his arrival. This cost us lots of time and money. We are no longer moving in here and are left with no home, in a new city, with no back up plan. Having the apartment ready was THEIR responsibility. Informing us of any delays was THEIR responsibly. They did neither. Review from Google
Sep 2018: I love living at Sunstone. Maintenance issues have been dealt with promptly, office staff is helpful even though they stay busy, the location can't be beat especially when considering the bus lines, and most importantly to me--they don't have breed restrictions and it is a very dog-friendly apartment and area. (This literally means the world to me, as I had the worst time trying to find housing because I have a pit mix). Sunstone has been a pleasure from the beginning. Thank you all. Review from Google
Apr 2018: I lived at Sunstone for 7 years and watched the management decline over time. It’s a great location, but unfortunately they take advantage of having students and non-English speaking residents. Maintenance is truly awful. I had a leak from my HVAC unit for a year and a half. Despite putting in multiple service requests, maintenance always claimed they didn’t know how to fix it. I had to leave a dish pan under the HVAC unit to collect water. It caused the walls and baseboard to mold. Nobody in the office ever took it seriously and it only got fixed because I started calling every day to ask for the status. Bottom line with maintenance: if you don’t stay on top of it, it will not get fixed! The office staff are also unprofessional and unorganized. Most of the office staff are students and you can tell they have very little work experien Review from Google
Mar 2018: The location is great by university mall. Lots to walk to and a very quiet neighborhood! Big apartments for a fair price. Review from Google
Mar 2018: Actually I will give zero star. Very expensive rent and bad maintain service. Review from Google
Mar 2018: I really enjoy living here. Staff is friendly and maintenance issues are handled quickly. The location is awesome, I can literally walk to the grocery store, eye doctor or movies. They recently renovated and updated the apartments. Its clean and quite and I feel safe at all times of the day. For the price you can't beat the location and amenities. Review from Google
Feb 2018: The apartment management is HORRIBLE. They are unresponsive to emails/maintenance requests. They lie to you all in an effort to collect rent. My water bill has been $150+ for about 5 months now (the highest it reached was $300), & they have yet to fix it. My toilet is broken & does not flush properly & things remain after it is flushed (or they backflow as time passes) & I've let the office know at least 5 times. I was promised a new toilet 2 months ago and I'm still waiting. I highly recommend not moving here. Yes, the location is great, but there are many other apartments in the area. Review from Google
Feb 2018: I've lived at Sunstone for about six years. I think it's the best place to live in Chapel Hill! Review from Google
Feb 2018: The maintenance department of the Apartment could be more efficient as well as the prior staff. I haven't interacted with the new staff but the previous staff was mean Review from Google
Dec 2017: This apartment has great location, that is why we chose this. 不推荐 选择这apt. But management is very poor and they fix things just for look, which breaks easy again. Renovated units are not worth it. They just changed cabinet doors while inside cabinets are being rotten. Also they changed washing machine and dryer all very old and second handed. Thus it takes 2-3 hours to dry clothes. Dishwaher is also at least 20 years old.... They do not keep their words many times and excused later that the staff did not know and informed us wrong, thus could not keep their promise in what they could do for us. Hallways are always dirty, and their maintenance team’s workmanship is so poor. Unless you dont care about all these, but just want to have a good location, then it may be cla Review from Google
Dec 2017: I have lived in SunStone Apartments for six months and I have really enjoyed my stay there. The location of this apartment is excellent. From grocery shops to bus stop to movie theatres, everything is within walking distance. The management staff are very responsive. The environment is very peaceful and safe. Overall, it was a great stay at Sunstone.
Oct 2017: thinking of moving to Chapel Hill. really like this place so far! Krista gave an amazing tour! Review from Google
Oct 2017: bad management! There are at least 4 raccoons living on top of my head in the roof. I took pictures and voice record as a proof. I reported this issue to the office and stoped by everyday. But three weeks past, nothing changes. Every time they said they can do nothing but wait to trap them. But I have suffered raccoons noise days and nights everyday, I cannot wait! It seems to me the office is not actively working on it. Their response “I don’t know” “we can do nothing but wait” really make me angry! Frankly speaking, good location, but really bad bad management! Review from Google
Oct 2017: Terrible management! The staff are not friendly at all, they don't listen to residents' needs. The only thing they want to do is asking residents for paying rent. I will definitely move out after the current lease expires. Review from Google
Oct 2017: I have been living in 201-14 for more than two years. Since the residents owned by the new owner, the maintenance work becomes worse. We put orders and they seems not be responsive. This week, we have a problem with our detector and toilet, we put the order for almost a week, came to the lease office to ask and called on the phone. They promised and promised but no action is done. This is really annoying. I don't want to write a review, but this may help them to be more responsive and improve their services. Currently, it is completely unacceptable. Review from Google
Apr 2017: I really enjoyed my time at SunStone Apartments. I lived in a 1 bedroom 1 bathroom. The office staff works hard to provide excellent resident care and the maintenance team is top notch! The rent rates are reasonable. Overall, I would suggest this neighborhood to anyone looking for a decent place to live in Chapel Hill! Thanks SunStone Staff for always making me feel at home! Review from 4/21/17 on Google
Jun 2015: The staff in the Sunstone Leasing Office have been offering the worst service I have ever experienced in the US. They are very rude and unprofessional. Their attitudes to their residents are too bad to be qualified as a staff. They always think at their sides and little at the resident's side. The only thing they can do is to say that it is the resident's fault and they have nothing to do with it. When you come to inquire for an apartment, the staff usually show you a renovated one that is beautiful. However, most apartments for rent are old and dirty. The carpet has not been changed over years. Review from 6/10/15 on Apartment Ratings

Back to Previous

UNC Sunstone Apartments Ads & Subleases





About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap