select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

Shadowood Apartments


Grade: of 75 reviews 🏆Top Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Jul 2019: It would be a nice place if only I didn't have to fight against cockroaches, spiders and silverfish every day despite my manic way of cleaning the house !!! Review from Google
Jul 2019: I lived in Shadowood for a year. The amenities are nice and the units are good on the exterior. Soon after living there I noticed the brown water, roaches, and the random late fees on my billing account. If you don’t mind receiving emails that the water is off for hours at a time and have the freedom to spend hours going over numbers in their office then this is the place for you. Review from Google
Jun 2019: Shadowood is amazing and so helpful. I travelled to move into another apartment and was faced with bad news when the apartment was not what I was expecting. In under an hour, Shadowood found me an even better unit at their location and were so nice while doing it. Cherie and the rest of the staff are amazing. I am so excited to live here. My apartment looks beautiful! Review from Google
Jun 2019: Shadowood is amazing and so helpful. I travelled to move into another apartment and was faced with bad news when the apartment was not what I was expecting. In under an hour, Shadowood found me an even better unit at their location and were so nice while doing it. Cherie and the rest of the staff are amazing. I am so excited to live here. My apartment looks beautiful! Review from Google
Dec 2018: An absolutely wonderful place to live. Staff are brilliant and friendly. Gym is open 24/7, clean and well kept. Many thanks to Erin, Ben and the rest of the team for making my short time here so great! Review from Google
Dec 2018: I love living here and have been here for years! Most importantly: they LOVE dogs. They are one of the ONLY complexes in Chapel Hill that allow my dog's breed!! And certainly the best of the ones that do. I originally only chose this complex because of that feature, but have since fell in love with it for other reasons. My apartment is amazing; for a one bedroom we have a ton of room in the unit and lots of storage areas. I have old appliances so they aren't great but they function well and I love that there is a washer/dryer in the unit. The biggest plus about it is that I haven't had any issues with bugs- a big difference from my last complex!! Maintenance is quick to respond to emergencies and handle non urgent requests in a timely manner. The amenities are great. The gym is fully equipped, there are printers available for free printi Review from Google
Aug 2018: My wife and I lived at Shadowood (SW) twice over the course of nearly 4 years. Having the experience of living in different units under different management groups was quite enlightening. Here's our review: Pros: Access to university, Franklin, grocers, and hospital via bus line. Offers amenities like bball/tennis court, pool, and weight room. Ellipticals in weight room are very nice. Mgmt informally allows tenants play with their dogs on tennis court when not in use, as no dog park/run on premise. SW is one of few apts in Chapel Hill that doesn't have a pet rent, just a onetime fee. By car, depending on traffic, SW is only 5 minutes from the library, 8 minutes from Franklin, Carrboro, and Food Lion/HT, and 15-25 minutes from Walmart. For dog owners: there is a dog park accessible by bus at Homestead Park. Cons: 1. Very energy inefficient u Review from Google
Aug 2018: Would definitely recommend living here, great community, pretty quiet, maintenance is quick, they have an actual barbell in the gym and not only machines, always pleasantly greeted when I go to the office to print something for free, short walk to buses, overall great experience, no real complaints Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

Who finds the person to sublease my apartment? The general idea is you must find the person who is going to sublease your apartment. Your apartment community may help, but this depends heavily on how full the community is. If they are full, you may get a few people refered, if they are not ful...read more

Renting a college apartment vs renting a house In this series of answers, we will mention a couple of key differences and continue the discussion in a multipart answer because there are lots of differences and somethings might not be as easily noticeable. Apartments generally have a lot of ame...read more

Jul 2018: Just wanted to take the time to thank the management staff for excellent customer service. We had a bit of a hiccup the first day but management was quick to respond and help solve all our problems with prompt and sincere responses. Review from Google
Jul 2018: I Lived in Shadowood for a year and enjoyed my time there. The problem when leaving shadowood was having a security deposit go directly to a "turnover fee" that no one in the office could tell what was for. My apartment was spotless, besides the normal wear and tear which the lease says is allowed while a tenant is living in the apartment. It was the only fee I was charged and it took my entire security deposit. So please read the lease very carefully. Other than that the place is a very relax apartment complex. Review from Google
Mar 2018: The exterior doesn't look very good but inside it's pretty clean and newly renovated. Some floorplans lack windows for the living room. The staff is not very good at handling move-ins and move-outs. Review from Google
Jan 2018: I've lived in Shadowood for almost 3 years now and have had a good experience. I recommend this complex. Details below: PROS -Maintenance is fast; Tamir, Rob, and Alan have been very helpful, nice, and quick to help with everything (including helping shovel out my car!). They really go above and beyond. -Close to bus lines NS, T, and A, which are free. Note that the A doesn't come often, but the NS and T come about every 15 minutes or less during peak times. -Has a nice pool, a volleyball court, a tennis court with two hoops for half-court basketball, and a great 24hr gym -Only 2 miles from UNC campus, 1 mile from Franklin street, and is really close to grocery stores -I've never heard of a break-in here and I feel safe walking around the complex during the day and night -Parking is easy and plentiful enough for visitors (the front offic Review from Google
Jan 2018: Shadowood maintenance are super helpful. Tamir and Alan helped shovel my friend's car out of the snow and were super nice about it! Review from Google
Dec 2017: The apartments are a nice enough for the price, and the location is average. However, I left this place a one star review because of the how unreasonable, self-centered, and unappreciative the management is. We were assessed a late fee on our account—even though we paid our rent that month. Despite relaying this information to Ben, the property manager, refused to remedy the fee. When I requested to speak with his boss, he said, “They wouldn’t be able to fix it, and I’m the property manager.” Even credit card companies waive late fees. We have never missed a payment either. We will not be resigning our lease, and we will make sure our friends and family never choose this place. Beware all. Management may seem nice at first, but they will find a way to screw you over in the end. Review from Google
Nov 2017: A great experience living here, maintenance at past places I've lived at as been shoddy compared to the service here, this one guy Rod is always there to fix any issues we have had in a timely manner and overall we've been pleasantly surprised with how much we like it Review from Google
Nov 2017: Right next to bus line so it is easy to get to campus and Franklin. Maintenance is helpful and fixes things quickly. Dishwasher wasn't draining correctly and Rod from maintenance fixed it right away. Review from Google
Apr 2017: I have been at Shadowood for about 8 months and have had a great experience thus far. The apartments are renovated and the neighborhood is clean and pleasant. I love that I see people out walking their dogs and enjoying the amenities. Another plus is it is right off the bus line. I would definitely recommend Shadowood Apartments to anyone who is looking for an apartment in the Chapel Hill area. Review from 4/8/17 on Google
Feb 2017: I've been living in the two bedroom, two bath garden for a few years now and I love it! I moved to Shadowood because I was looking for a quiet community along bus lines to get to campus, and a couple friends recommended this place. My roommate and I really like having our own bathroom and huge walk-in closets. The kitchen is also spacious with plenty of cabinets for storage. The appliances are a little older, but they still work well. You can get brand new appliances if you want to spring for a renovated apartment. Review from 2/20/17 on Google
Feb 2017: Shadowood was all right. I liked the pool and community amenities, very nice, one of the better ones around Chapel Hill. There's a lot of trees, and sometimes my phone reception wasn't strong but that's my phone's problems. I lived in a 1 bedroom and it was pretty spacious. My bedroom and bathroom were upstairs, the apartment unit is older, older looking appliances. I didn't have any issues when I lived here, so it was good stay. My heat/ac didn't circulate evenly throughout, but I didn't mind.
Feb 2017: I lived at Shadowood during undergrad, moved away after I graduated from UNC for a job, and moved back about 10 months ago. When I first lived at Shadowood, I lived in a regular two bedroom garden (one floor) apartment. It was a great undergrad apartment: reasonably priced, each bedroom had its own bathroom, and the bedrooms were on separate sides so there was a lot of privacy. I really liked how quiet the complex was relative to other student housing nearby. Review from 2/14/17 on Google
Nov 2016: Apparently it's not a big deal to have roaches in your apartment on the weekly... If roaches reside here, why can't they pay some of my rent? Other than that it's a pretty solid place all around to live! Review from 11/12/16 on Google
Jun 2015: Shadowood is a real mixed bag. Appearance:The apartments are tiny and old and the appliances are ancient unless you get one of the "rennovated" apartments, which have fairly unsubstantial cosmetic improvements considering how considerably more per month they cost. The grounds are fairly well kept however and are quite lovely in the spring and fall. Bugs are a *big* issue, expect roaches on the bottom floor apartments. Additionally, next to no natural light comes in. Neighborhood: Under no circumstance should you move here without a car. Review from 6/1/15 on Apartment Ratings
Apr 2015: My personal experience with this apartment is awful. I agree with the previous reviews and wanted to add a few: There are some residents that has been on property for a loooooong time. For some reason, they are treated much better than everyone else. They enjoy better rate and do not get price hike every year. So much to the fair housing law! The office staff is rude when it comes to the real deal: Here is a snapshot of what you will be dealing with after signed the lease from their own facebook page: Shadowood Apartments - 1 star about 3 months ago Although this is a nice place to live, they have no cancellation policy and even charge $300 if you want to sublease. They leave customers with no option to get out of lease if life happens! Review from 4/26/15 on Apartment Ratings
Sep 2014: This is a decent apartment complex with odd manage team and leasing terms. Every apartment has problems but some of them are just annoying. NOTICE: READ your lease before you sign them! pros: 1. The apartment is close to major road MLK BLVD. A, T and NS passes the apartment. NU and G also has stop in 5 mins walking distance. 2. The staff is nice and welcoming. Review from 9/28/14 on Apartment Ratings
Jun 2014: Pros: responsive maintenance, renovated gym/ apartments are nice, allows pets, near bus stop. Cons: Chances are good you won't get your security deposit back because they apparently don't paint apartments after tenants move out. So if you have any wear and tear on the walls chances are good they are going to take your security deposit to get the place painted. Also, they kept hiking up their rates which eventually drove me out. Also if you live on the bottom floor be prepared to hear a lot of thumping. Review from 6/08/14 on Apartment Ratings

Back to Previous

If you like Shadowood Apartments reviews or think they are acceptable, check out Shadowood Apartments ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near UNC.

Page One Reviews | Next Page Reviews, Page 2





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap