select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
Lark Chapel Hill ▷ Reviews

Lark Chapel Hill


Grade: of 63 reviews 🏆Top Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Aug 2018: They charge you crazy fees for no reason. In the middle of the year they charged each of my 4 roommates a $90 carpet cleaning fee and they just cleaned the living room. Our carpet wasn't even dirty so This was just ridiculous. They misplaced many of my packages which were eventually found, but still very stressful and annoying. Lark is not worth the price. don't live here. I regret living here. Review from Google
Jul 2018: don't waste your money on these apartments. Completely unprofessional management team. We pay obscenely high rent with little return in customer service or professionalism. I recently had a very large limb fall on my vehicle after living at this facility for 2 years. I was offered no assistance at the time, even with the 24-hour on-call staff that is paid for with our rent. The individual on-call did not assist in removing the 500 lb.+ limb, instead I was left alone in the parking lot to solve the problem myself. The management then lied and told me the tree was not owned by them and therefore not their responsibility. This proved false as I spoke with multiple sources confirming their ownership. This reflects the shady practices of the management that would continue throughout my communication with their staff. Additionally, when the damages Review from Google
May 2018: The amenities are great! Love the gym and pool. The gym has everything you need! Rooms are very spacious and love the private bathroom per room. Kitchen has great appliances. Same goes for the washing machine and dryer! The lux shuttle is also very convenient when going to class. Review from Google
Mar 2018: Too much and not enough--- Lux wants residents to enjoy the amenities, but if you need a parking spot or a response from their office, that's not included in the rent. Rent is drafted as are the various fees, and there are fees---- for everything - please know that there will be duplicate drafts from your account that you must monitor and manage - because they will not catch them or correct as quickly as you'd expect. I see why students love the place....but most of them are not paying the tab.... Review from Google
Mar 2018:
Mar 2018: Great amenities including shuttle to campus (super convenient), pool, tanning, gym, basketball and volleyball courts. Parking can be difficult and guest passes often run out. Walls are thin and can hear people clearly from outside of apt at times. However, rooms are spacious and well maintained with new appliances, furniture and upgraded fixtures. Maintenance requests always attended to promptly. Staff always friendly and helpful with occasional events organized for residents. Overall very great for the price. Review from Google
Mar 2018: A perfect place to live for a college student. Everything you need is right here. Great location to Franklin and the shuttle makes getting to campus super easy. Whenever there is an issue, maintenance is here almost immediately to fix it. Everyone who works here is awesome. I just love it here! Such a great place to live and not planning on leaving until I graduate. Review from Google
Mar 2018: Living at Lux has been one of the best decisions I have made! Bummed I waited until senior year to move here. The staff is awesome and super friendly, making an effort to befriend every resident and always asking if I need anything. The amenities are unmatched by any other housing complex in the area. The pool is so nice and always clean, and the workout facility is well-equipped and incredibly convenient. The shuttle is also super efficient and saves me a ton on parking. Also, it is a blast getting to live in the same building as your friends! Would highly recommend to anyone looking for off campus housing. Review from Google
📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

What is the difference between a sublease and a relet? The key difference between a sublease and a relet is the involvment of the original leasee. In a sublease, the original leasee is still responsible to the owner. This means there are two legal contracts, one with the original lease...read more

What is FAFSA? And why does it matter? According to Wikipedia FAFSA is a way for students to get financial aid. It can significantly reduce your college cost. Check it out. The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA...read more

Feb 2018: In all of my years working in the service industry, never have I seen people deal so poorly with their customers as the management of Lux does. Rude, inconsiderate and flat out incompetent only begin to describe the upper management you have to deal with while living here. From breaking the contracts and agreements made in the lease, to maintenance workers that barge into your room whether you are dressed or not the employees and management of this facility seem to think they can take advantage of their residents because they are college students who don't know better or won't fight back. Review from Google
Dec 2017: Pros: Staff is really helpful and friendly! On-site events are great. The apartment itself is nice with updated appliances Cons: Shuttle doesn't run after 8 pm or on weekends anymore, parking for visitors is difficult Review from Google
Dec 2017: Lux at Central Park has a nice community and college atmosphere! The staff is very friendly and says "welcome home" after coming back from a long day of classes. The amenities are definitely a pro living at Lux, especially the shuttle bus service. It is pretty reliable during the week and a convenient way to get on campus. The apartment complex is definitely a fun place to be around! Only downsides are the wifi service in the building (especially at night when many students are on it and nothing will load), as well as the trash/dumpster placement. For as big as the apartment complex is, it would be convenient to have dumpster and recycling bins on both ends of the building, making it easier for all residents to take out trash. Besides that, Lux has a fun and welcoming environment for college students! Review from Google
Dec 2017: Living at LUX has been a great experience. The staff is super friendly, the amenities are so nice and well-maintained. It’s still walking distance from campus, 15 or less depending where on campus, but the shuttles are always helpful when I don’t feel like walking. I would highly recommend. Review from Google
Dec 2017: I really do like these Student catered luxury apartments. The apartments are catered to the interests of a younger population. They are modern on the inside and are kept up to date. The appliances are all new and nice. They are sizeable rooms that come fully furnished. I really like hanging out by the pool in the summer & there are always people playing basketball. One thing I do not like about Lux is the poor cell coverage. If you are not connected to the WiFi then don’t expect anything to load on your mobile devices; it’s like we stepped into the mountains. I would definitely recommend Lux apartments to undergrad students looking for a fun atmosphere to live. Review from Google
Aug 2017: The staff has been one of the most energetic and helpful management teams I've seen at any of these student housing apartment complexes. I've always been treated with respect and these are some of the sweetest apartments close to campus. The pool is amazing the events at Lux are insane! Leaving for college and going out on my own was scary. I'm glad I was able to find my second family here at the Lux, without them I wouldn't have made it through the last four years. Thank you Lux Family for always being there for us! Review from Google
May 2017: The apartments are very nice and comfortable, and the staff is great for all of your basic needs. They have a decent gym and offer shuttle service to all of the major locations on campus throughout the day. The only notable drawback is how thin the walls are - they went really cheap with these to the point where you can hear your neighbor having a conversation in the other room. This can be a particular nuisance if you have a big event and your neighbor decides to get drunk and loud at 3 in the morning. Review from 5/17/17 on Google
Mar 2017: DO NOT LIVE HERE. Many other people have complained about management, but here are some specific examples... A parking space costs $115 PER MONTH and it's impossible to even get one. Many, if not most, of their residents park off site, BUT they really don't have any temporary parking for unloading groceries or packing your car with luggage to go out of town. All they have are five "future resident" parking spots to be used after office hours, because they are used for tours. First of all, I'm not going to plan to go out of town only once office hours are over. Secondly, those five spaces are usually always filled so there's no place for me to park anyways. Review from 3/20/17 on Google
Sep 2016: Disappointing is an understatement! Customer service does not exist. don't expect an email or return phone call EVER. Problem solving is clearly not a goal. We were sold on the shuttle hours that were advertised and it turns out, they were cut back! The attitude of "too bad" is what you get. Year 1- a clerical error (not in my favor) took months to resolve and now the parking drama has brought me to "share" with other parents to beware of the lack of responsiveness and a professional staff. I can promise you this, you will NEVER get a response from the corporate office! Beyond aggravating and a waste of my time! Unfortunate with so much to offer. Review from 9/2/16 on Google
Mar 2016: Management took a little while to get their sea legs but at this point I would say they are doing a great job. Rooms are look great, but are a bit cheaply made. The walls are thin. Because the place is so new I don't think this will be an issue for a while though. I love having my own bathroom and the 24 hour weight room is awesome. Kitchen is great, and having my own washing and drying is great. The shuttles to and from campus are incredibly convenient. Review from 3/27/16 on Google
Dec 2015: Lux is pretty baller, I must say. It took a while to move in because the rooms weren't ready, but we were well compensated. At first I was a little unsure of all the cool stuff downstairs for us to use. I'm a simple guy and don't need an 80" TV in the lobby. However, once I discovered how much girls love it, I was okay with it. Seriously, it makes girls think, "this guy is super sophisticated and enjoys the finer things in life." Every friend I have had visit has been very impressed and wished that they lived in Lux. It's only a short stumble from Franklin Street as well. Review from 12/1/15 on Google
Jul 2015: The good: Clean, new, spacious. 24 hour gym and a lovely pool. Fantastic location. Love the bus driver lady. I feel very safe. I love my kitchen. The bad: move in date is the day before classes. We pay a month's rent and are only allowed to live in our rooms for half that month. Much ethical. so convenient. Called office- no flexibility. In the end, I would say Lux is a great place to live. But it isn't a community with character; it's a business. Review from 7/12/15 on Google
May 2015: I can't really speak more highly of Lux... the apartment complex is second to none. I'm living in a huge room in a 4-bed apartment, fully furnished with a wardrobe and complete private ensuite - full kitchen with all appliances, cable tv in lounge room and bedroom, aircon, balcony etc. AND i'm paying less than they are in dorms/Odem!?!?!? You'd think there would be a catch but there honestly isn't. The building amenities are also great - huge pool, basketball and volleyball court, fully decked out gym, computer lab, community kitchen and study rooms, and two shuttles to and from campus that run every 15 mins - I couldn't ask for more. Review from 5/30/15 on Google



UNC Lark Chapel Hill Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap