select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu] Station 42 ▷ Reviews

Station 42

Grade: of 84 reviews

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Nov 2018: I lived there for 2 years and I am happy with the entire experience. The rooms are in decent size and the common area is spacious, the staff are doing their jobs and matched me with the right roommates who are clean and respectful. There are various events hosted by the office and they are a lot of fun. The maintenance crew are very dependable and always get things fixed. The building itself is solid, If only the AC filter can be changed regularly, it will be even better. Review from Google
Sep 2018: By the time you pay $400 in fees for the application process you might as well apply somewhere else. They have little amenities and overpriced. Update: Why are these apartments constantly raising rent? I get they upgraded it but it is nowhere near worth $630 a month. Student apartments in general are a great and convenient idea but their becoming predatory. Review from Google
Aug 2018: This is by far the worst place i have ever lived. They may have changed there name to Station 42 and painted the exterior, however, the insides are completely disgusting. The staff are no help at all and you will regret signing a lease there. Review from Google
Jul 2018: This apartment told me I cannot move in until August 15, 2018 because they need to clean the apartment. I moved in August 15 and the apt was not clean, paint on the floor, shower head broken, trash every where. The leasing office said I would have a upgrade apt but they gave me a basic old unit with mold on window shield. The apt set up is horrible and the leasing office placed the mail/packages on top of the mail box unattended and people were destroying and stealing mail/package. STAY AWAY from MONTICELLO now changed to STATION 42. There's a reason they changed the name. Review from Google
Jul 2018: If cleanliness is not a priority and you know/like all of the people you will be rooming and do not expect to have any issues with them than this place is a great bargain. BUT BE AWARE there is no match making for roommates and if you fellow roommates smoke inside, damage your property or threaten to hurt you, management will not do anything about it. Review from Google
Jul 2018: It's below average, but not awful. The room & furniture are dingy and not even cleaned prior to move in. There's also a spider issue. I'm not impressed and can't wait to leave. Review from Google
May 2018: Probably the biggest individually leased room near campus. Maintenance request was acted upon very quickly in about an hour someone came to fix our washer. The request wasnt even done in person, I just filled out an online maintenance request and they got here so fast! Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Location is vey good, if you dont have a car since it is by the usf bus route, and there is a public bus route that takes you directly to walmart, and another one to publix. You wont have to walk very far when buying groceries. Usf students get to ride the bus for free. Used to live at Avalon Heights and The Pointe (The Ivy now), never had problems with all of the places that I lived but so far Monticello is the best of all three. Inexpensive rent (other new apartments charge $100 or more per month when their rooms smaller), and very Review from Google
May 2018: An average place for a low cost. Heavily dependent on who your roommates are so I suggest leasing the apartment with people you’ve met and like or friends. The property manager, Mecia, is very nice and will help you as best as she can if you can catch her but always seems too busy to meet with you. Two years here and I’ve never been able to secure a meeting with her. I’ve never had a problem with the apartment they didn’t fix but sometimes you have to be a little on top of them to fix it but they don’t give a hard time. Just seem busier than they should be. Pet friendly. The maintenance crew is always doing work somewhere which is a good and bad thing because things are always needing to be fixed but they’re on top of it. They’re also very nice people. Office employees are mostly students or in that age range and pretty understan Review from Google
Apr 2018: This is the worst. If you like to live with cockroach, come here. Review from Google
Mar 2018: I have had a number of struggles with this apartment complex and do not recommend it to anyone. I'll list a few below: * Lack of communication: Any issues the community is facing is NOT communicated to you by the staff. You will have to notify the staff yourself and be met with "Oh yeah we already know about it". don't hope for getting an estimate of how long it will take to complete. In my experience they "just don't know". * Poor maintenance: My apartment was not cleaned before I moved in. If you reported issues when you first move in they WILL NOT be taken care of unless you hound the office staff. They pick and choose the issues they can resolve. Even if they choose to resolve it there's still the chance it will take a week and a half to even attempt to fix it * The office staff: Mecia, the property manager considers any maintenance Review from Google
Mar 2018: The WiFi is ass and you will have to pay for it whether or not you are able to use it. Also, the roommate matching service is thrown out immediately and I’m sure they don’t read it. They do not prorate so I would suggest if you have to move at the end of the month to look elsewhere before coming here. Other than that, I don’t have too many complaints. Monticello offered the shortest lease I could find which was perfect for my situation. Review from Google
Dec 2017: You either love it, voting five stars, or hate it, voting the score as lowest as possible. I have lived here two years, but I have never had to make a single complaint about anything. The apartment was newly remodeled, well-maintained, and fully furnished with kitchen appliances, huge refrigerator, large sofa, and big flat screen TV with cable that has HBO channel. My room was the upgrading one which has a full-size metal bed frame, built-in computer desk with lamp, and a wooden dresser. There even were a small minibar and a microwave in my room. The bathroom was pretty large with a full-size bathtub. The wireless internet was incredibly high speed. Besides, the office staff was helpful, especially Mecia, the manager, who was kind, sweet, and amiable. The community at night was pretty safe with sliding security gate and an overnight guard. Review from Google
Dec 2017: The apartments are clean, well maintained. The rent is more than affordable. Most importantly great people at front desk. Review from Google
Nov 2017: Worst maintenance. They never clean the house before handing it over to someone new. WiFi is too slow. No matter how many times you complain about it, they just don’t care. Review from Google
Aug 2017: I've lived at Monticello for 3 years and this is one of the best apartment complexes I've ever stayed in. The office staff has always been so helpful and nice anytime I needed anything. Every maintenance request has been taken care of right away. One time there was a fire and the sprinkler system flooded our apartment. The property manager replaced everything in the apartment with no hesitation. It's rare for a property manager to take such ownership and really care about there tenants. Monticello has a great office staff, speedy maintenance, and a committed property manager other places couldn't compete against. Thank you Monticello for making my home-away-from-home a great place to live. Review from Google
Aug 2017: DO NOT LIVE HERE !! Super unprofessional staff. Management takes forever to handle anything and when they do it's a temporary fix. Everything is old... EVERYTHING. My bf was out of AC for a whole week because of their staff is incapable of hiring people to do a good job. And then they charged him for "overage fees" when he only went over because the AC was continually overworking. The gate is broken half the time and they have had multiple break-ins ... cars and apartments. Do yourself a favor and live somewhere else. Review from Google
May 2017: My boyfriend was a resident of Monticello for two years, and he loved it. For the price and location it was a steal. But, for the last two months of his lease it was a living hell. One of his roommates got mad when he told him to stop smoking inside, and when it was reported to the office because it got so bad our lives were threatened and the leasing office did nothing. Then, his other roommate moved out and the sublease he found moved in and was nice for a total of 3 days before she showed us how crazy she truly is. Review from 5/19/17 on Google
May 2017: don't know why so many people complain! For the price that you pay you get a great room&bathroom, both bigger than other more expensive apartments in the 42nd street! Also the staff is friendly and helpful :) Review from 5/10/17 on Google
Apr 2017: The staff at Monticello did not follow the roommate profile I filled prior to signing my lease. I ended up being paired with someone who had a firearm, was loud/obnoxious, used drugs, and had sex parties almost every single night. After filing complaint after complaint, they opted to pair me up with people who were even worse on the pool side of the complex almost out of spite. Needless to say, I declined their offer and stayed where I was. When the issue was pressed further, they threatened to call the police and evict me. I learned that this response was not unusual based on feedback I heard from other tenants. The staff constantly exhibited contempt for the woes of their tenants. Review from 4/12/17 on Google
Apr 2017: I've lived here nearly three years, and I've loved pretty much every minute of it. But until I started searching for new places to live and started reading the reviews of other apartment complexes around Tampa, I didn't realize exactly how good I had it here at Monticello. There are a ridiculous amount of complaints out there for other complexes, but the top 2 that you see over and over are 1. The front office staff is rude and not helpful after you sign your lease and 2. The maintenance crew takes ages or just doesn't fix things period. Review from 4/3/17 on Google
Aug 2016: Advertised as the cheapest rent on 42nd St. What they don't tell you is that it's also the most run-down complex on the block. I lived there for almost 4 years and the only thing they replaced was the TV. You can see as the minifridges and microwaves collect, one by one, at the dumpster. The remaining appliances are all on their way out and the maintenance people have absolutely no clue what to do. The gate was wide open for months, which I understand because someone crashes into it at least twice a month, it seems. My last random roommate was a high-school kid who enjoyed smoking blunts filled with the marijuana leaves and stems he bought online after stealing a car from the YMCA. Review from 8/27/16 on Apartment Ratings
Jul 2016: Dirty and Noisy environment, Rude and cold blood staff. Never rent here. If you rent here, you will regret forever! In the last day, ?the staff rush into my room and shouted me get out in 30 mins. But I am packing and ready to move out in the night. They never notice me the time ?They said it is 10 am) I have to move out and this is my rental last day. Nightmare. Review from 7/31/16 on Apartment Ratings
Jun 2016: Unlike other reviews I have read, I have never had an issue here in the two years I have lived here. I renewed my lease as soon as I could for next year. There's downsides to any student housing you can stay in so there's some noisey neighbors on occasion but the staff is very friendly and helpful and there are numerous events to get familiar with the community. The place is free to make it your own and give it that a good homey feeling. would recommend as best deal and place to live. Review from 6/20/16 on Apartment Ratings
Apr 2016: Your experience at Monticello will heavily depend on your roommates. Monticello does not often provide the roommate matching service they offer as they are often at capacity. The walls within the apartment are very thin as well. Maintenance is usually prompt when fixing most issues. Neighbors can be quite loud considering it is student living and, based on my experience living there, management does not take noise complaints very seriously. Management is also very unprofessional. Also, Monticello does not clean your apartment before move-in and does not heavily enforce cleanliness. They are also increasing rent. Review from 4/19/16 on Apartment Ratings
Feb 2016: Horrible place to live! Full of roaches and spiders (I got bit and they didn't do anything until my eye got bit and swollen shut) Horribly thin walls, rude and unprofessional office staff, and loud neighbors. They have a policy of loud noise to 1am so if you like sleep don't live here!!! And the frat houses that are here are super disrespectful and rude. DO NOT LIVE HERE!!! Review from 2/6/16 on Apartment Ratings

USF Apartments List Station 42 Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap