select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

Malibu Apartments


Grade: of 63 reviews 🏆Top Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Sep 2020: Every time I read a good review, they must be writing it themselves. This place is AWFUL! they will pretend to care about your issue, do the least possible to fix them, and whenever you bring up the fact that the issue is still ongoing they will do all they can to blame it on you. There is no sense of community, the apartment was handed to us dirty, dust on the floor, crumbs in the stove, a broken fridge, missing furniture, dirty carpets, broken bathroom accessories and not to mention that the whole building is literally INFESTED with german roaches!! its simply disgusting, more so the lack of effort to try and help you out more than anything. I guess all I have to say is if you want a roach waving hello every time you go grab a shirt from your drawer, a snack from the pantry, or go to shower then malibu is the place for you (:
May 2019: MALIBU APARTMENTS ARE GREAT. The staff is amazing. The manager Mrs. Lisa and some of her staff (Jordan and Danielle) were always helpful and made our stay for two years even better. Even the Maintence crew well the head man is also GREAT and can basically fix and build it all. Super super close to campus and nice pool. The rooms are just enough with a huge common area to share . Over all Malibu is great place to stay for anyone and especially someone who attends USF. Review from Google
May 2019: MALIBU APARTMENTS ARE GREAT. The staff is amazing. The manager Mrs. Lisa and some of her staff (Jordan and Danielle) were always helpful and made our stay for two years even better. Even the Maintence crew well the head man is also GREAT and can basically fix and build it all. Super super close to campus and nice pool. The rooms are just enough with a huge common area to share . Over all Malibu is great place to stay for anyone and especially someone who attends USF. Review from Google
Jun 2018: Had a nice time living here but wish i could leave a 3 and a half star. The air conditioning unit is the LEAST efficient model out on the market so your apartment room will be extremely hot but you will be paying like its frigid in there. The game room has no equipment in it which is annoying, you need your own ping-pong and poker chips and cards to enjoy it at all. Theres multiple TVs in there that are never on with no remote out, really guys? The best part about the place is that its far from other Apartment complexes meaning its quiet. Its gated with no keypad so its very safe but you will have people who clearly dont live there waiting for someone to walk by and let them in which is annoying. Maintenance is honestly pretty good. They were prompt on some things but took forever on others, we had MANY problems in our unit. Our dryer busted Review from Google
Sep 2017: Stay away from Malibu apartments
Sep 2017: Hardly touched a single thing living in that apartment and still left with barely any of the security deposit. Friendly staff until you actually need help with something. Internet was absolute trash, router was placed in the water heater closet so even a WiFi extender did nothing. I needed to go to someone else's room in the apartment if I ever needed to work on my online class. Roommate matching was pretty horrific so do not move here unless you have a solid group of people to live with. Yes, the apartment is a nice size but the tile floor really needs to be updated as well as everything in the kitchen. Review from Google
Aug 2017: The management works well and are quick to answer to work orders however they will threaten you with fines for anything. They will continuously come into your apartment without any warning most of the time. When you sign a lease with them they have absolute power and they will use it to their convenience. Also, the advertised monthly payment is misleading because they say they cover electric bill up to certain point my roommates and I spent about 500$ each total in a year. In prior student housing we never paid consuming a lot more. On top of that parking is not included as opposed to other student housing.After you move out they will charge huge amounts of money for cleaning and painting a clean place. Internet is bad as well as the tv. They take good care of the place so it's clean and looks nice. Only thing that saves it from having a wor Review from Google
Apr 2017: I am a senior graduating and I lived here for 2 years. It is so practical because it is just by USF and you do not really have to get the car. I've had a couple months of electric overages but only during the summer and between 10-15$- It is quiet, peaceful and has a gym 24/7
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
USF Related Topics and Questions

Are there any places where I can meet with many USF apartment communities, in person, at one location? At USF, there is a wonderful event called the Bull Market. At the Bull Market many of the local apartment communities will have a booth. At their booth you can get shirts or other branded items as well as ask any questions....read more

How do I advertise my apartment community near USF? Advertising on LiveSomeWhere: https://www.livesomewhere.com/USF is a great way to advertise your apartment community. Your community will receive a prominite place on the site to help familiarize the student body with the...read more

Dec 2016: This place is piss poor. The management never gets anything done when you ask them, and if they did it would be months later. The apartment I moved into was disgusting to begin with, had German roaches too, but I was told I cannot switch rooms. Nobody should have to pay 650-700 a month and live in these conditions! There are also electric overages every month, so add at least 30 per month to the rent. Review from 12/3/16 on Apartment Ratings
Sep 2016: This is the worst apartment complex in Tampa. Do not live here. I lived there for one year and it was awful. Electric overages every month. Wireless internet does not work, so data on my phone plan had to be increased. Front door was broken on move in and it took 6 months for them to replace it. Prior to move out I cleaned my room and bathroom plus the common area. I have received a bill from them for over $300. Charging to clean common area because the day after move out clothes were found on the dryer. Two roommates did not move out. I am charged a clean up fee for someone's laundry. SERIOUSLY!!!! I have also been charged to replace the carpet in my room. Review from 9/26/16 on Apartment Ratings
Sep 2016: I honestly think that the apartment complex give themselves good reviews on here, because I lived at malibu for an entire year and have ABSOLUTLEY NOTHING good to say about it. While living here there was constant problems. Every month there would be a $40+ eletric overge bill because there heating and cooling system was garbage and barely worked. MANAGEMENT WALKS INTO YOUR APARTMENT WHENEVER THEY FEEL LIKE IT without any warning. We had mold in our apartment that was sinkingn in our counter and the front desk refused to fix it because it was 'our fault'. Review from 9/2/16 on Apartment Ratings
Aug 2016: Charged for bogus damages that did not exist. Got sent to collections because they did not communicate with me to set up any sort of payment plan. Constant bug problem and the hands down the worst maintenance that doesn't speak a lick of English. Review from Google
Feb 2016: Malibu was the first place I moved into after living on campus at USF for 3 years and I could not have asked for a better experience! It is in the perfect location being across the street from campus and near the gym!! It is normally a very quite place to live, not like a lot of the student apartment complexes in the area. Its nice that it has a pool and gym that are open 24 hours (especially since so many of my classes did not get out until 10pm). The staff always says hi when I walk through and take care of any work orders pretty quickly. I would definitely recommend living here if you want to live in a more relaxed area right across the street from USF! Review from 2/4/16 on Apartment Ratings
Feb 2016: Malibu is the best place to live around USF! I have been a resident for the past 2 years and I am now entering my Senior year of college (almost done!). I consider myself a very studious person and I don't really care for the big party places, so when I was looking for housing I needed a clean, quiet, and calm place to live. Malibu definitely delivered in all aspects! Of course it's a college property, so there are parties on the weekends, but during the week it remains pretty quiet. Even when there are parties, you can't really hear it from you room because the building is concrete. Management is also very nice and I've never had an issue with getting things fixed in my apartment right away. Review from 2/4/16 on Apartment Ratings
Nov 2015: My main issue is the management. If you plan on living here at Malibu be aware that management and maintenance, contrary to how they SHOULD do it, check the A/C units two months AFTER you move in. If the A/C unit is broken before you move in, and there is no way of knowing, any overage the broken A/C unit brings in will be charged to you despite you not knowing the energy is being used, or that the unit is broken. Management will not compensate for this and will do anything in their power to put the blame on you as the resident. They will also not compensate you for anything that is broken in the common areas for a lengthy period of time, even though the service or use of appliance is included in your rent. Review from 11/2/15 on Apartment Ratings
Mar 2015: I don't know why anyone would have anything negative to say about this place or the management. I was asked to put an honest review of what I think about living here and honestly - this is the nicest management and most convenient apartment I have lived at! I've lived here for 2 years, and I ONLY get overages during the 2 or 3 months in the hottest part of the summer - but it's only like $10 and that has happened at EVERY apartment I've lived at (I like it COLD at night haha I can't help it!!). Review from 3/27/2015 on Apartment Ratings
Mar 2015: Had several problems which they didn't really address. Mold was showing up throughout the apartment and all they did was paint over it. We didn't have internet for the first two months and their only suggestion was to wait for verizon to get there and to use our neighbors wifi. Lost my security deposit even though the apartment/furniture was left in the condition it came in. My blinds for my back porch never worked, they had been broken when I moved in and noted it in the apartment review, yet they never fixed it, for a whole year even though they had sent maintenance to check it out a total of 3 times. Had a couple of nosey neighbors that complained about me having to take care of a cat for the afternoon, meanwhile, residents were walking around their dogs and were free to do so. There was an incident one night where a student had been drunk Review from Google
Mar 2015: I have really enjoyed living at Malibu this past year! I am about to graduate (Woo!) so I wanted to get away from all of the "Party Apartments" and find somewhere more relaxing. Malibu has definitely lived up to that! The staff is always friendly and says hi when I occasionally walk through. I also love that the pool area and the gym are open 24 hours! I would definitely recommend Malibu if you want a peaceful place to live and still right next to campus! Review form 3/12/2015 on Apartment Ratings
Feb 2015: What a shame that such a well located place (in terms of USF) is so infested with horrible management. It really is disgusting to think that they would allow mold and (according to other users) roach infestations. Then if you try to discuss the matter with their criminal-esq management they will not help and only blame you for the problem. By no means would I ever recommend living here. It is a problem when you cannot feel safe with the management that has keys to your apartment. The living areas are decent on tours, but as soon as you move in they charge you overages just to keep the apartment at a semi-enjoyable temperature. Review from 2/5/2015 on Apartment Ratings
Oct 2014: Great place to live. Got an upgrade this year to the fastest FIOS connection - as a Computer Engineer, this is a big deal for me. I've lived at 4 different places around USF and this had the best internet, best staff, and (obviously) the best location. The staff listens and will cater to your needs - they are the only PRIVATELY owned nice apartment complex in Tampa Review from Google
Jul 2014: Living at Malibu was a great experience for me. Its close to campus so if you don't have a car you can just walk to the Bull Runner stop. Furniture was crappy but its student living. Game room was cool, they had ping pong table and a huge TV. The living room and my own room were pretty big, so you shouldn't have a problem if you have a normal amount of stuff. Parking sucked, I got the parking pass to park inside the gate, it was worth it. You fill out a survey and they match you with roommates that have similar habits.

Back to Previous

If you like Malibu Apartments reviews or think they are acceptable, check out Malibu Apartments ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near USF.

Page One Reviews





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap