select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

42 North


Grade: of 45 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Sep 2019: Ridiculous people. They treat you like shit. All they want is your money. They are also racist. One time they kept my friend waiting in the leasing office and continued with their work and after 30 mins, when she checked back, they behaved like they did not know. Gave some excuse and did not assist her.
Sep 2019: The management office at this place is all about stealing from you. They make you pay upfront and charge you fines for 2 hours of late rent. Unworthy people. don't make any payments upfront. If you pay extra, they will not refund your money.
Jul 2019: Management here will look for any chance to nickel and dime college students for “damages”. My unit had been occupied for 3 years by some friends before I moved in and took the 4th room when one of them moved out. He left a cigarette ash tray on the patio when he left (none of the other tenants were smokers). We were slapped with a $250 fine for his ash tray even though management had been in our unit multiple times to clean his old room before I moved in and never said a word about it. Even better, we were told about this fee on the day it was due and it would’ve been even higher if we waited an addt’l day to pay it. Upon my move out I got slapped with another $130 in charges for very basic cleaning. All in all, this place is managed very poorly and preys on college students with unreasonable fees for what I’d call a sub-par living experience. Not to mention, they come around and police the units with room checks 4x per year like it’s a college dorm Review from Google
Jul 2019: Run down apartments with major issues, they paint over and try to hide. Long time bug problems. Charge convenience fees for paying your rent. Review from Google
Jul 2019: When moving into this apartment I was so excited. “Newly renovated” doesn’t mean clean. My roommate and I would deep clean our apartment once a week and still had an absurd amount of roaches and fruit flies. You can hear everything above you even just people walking. I felt disgusting every time I was in my own “clean” apartment. Had maintenance come 3+ times for the bugs and they never left. Nevertheless, I am EXTREMELY disappointed and ECSTATIC that I’m finally moving out. Just waiting for them to pour on the moving out fees cause by reading other reviews I can tell that it’s all a scam. FIND ANOTHER PLACE TO LIVE TRUST ME THERE IS BETTER. No cameras, feels extremely unsafe. And now I hear they are assigning parking spots too. In that case expect your car to be ruined the trees demolish it. If you get a spot under a tree. Don’t pay for it lol. Review from Google
Jun 2019: You can definitely find better places that are cheaper. When i moved in my apartment was filthy and there was a dead cockroach on the floor so i had to scrub down every thing in the room. We had cockroaches until they came in a sprayed and there’s always lots of bugs in the hallways. Not well lit at all and when i Came Home late there was always a man wandering around outside. They charged me and all of my roommates $30 each for “patio violation” when we put the trash out on a trash day. All of those things were minor inconveniences until one day the maintenance guy unlocked my bedroom door to put in a shower guard while i was sleeping and i woke up to a man in my bedroom which as a girl it freaked me out so i tried to tell the main office to give better notification out and the manager was always in a “meeting” everytime i called which bothered me a lot because i should not have woken up to a man in my bedroom Review from Google
Jun 2019: You can definitely find better places that are cheaper. When i moved in my apartment was filthy and there was a dead cockroach on the floor so i had to scrub down every thing in the room. We had cockroaches until they came in a sprayed and there’s always lots of bugs in the hallways. Not well lit at all and when i Came Home late there was always a man wandering around outside. They charged me and all of my roommates $30 each for “patio violation” when we put the trash out on a trash day. All of those things were minor inconveniences until one day the maintenance guy unlocked my bedroom door to put in a shower guard while i was sleeping and i woke up to a man in my bedroom which as a girl it freaked me out so i tried to tell the main office to give better notification out and the manager was always in a “meeting” everytime i called which bothered me a lot because i should not have woken up to a man in my bedroom Review from Google
May 2019: DO NOT MOVE HERE! When I first decided to move here I was so excited because I expected a comfortable, nice and clean apartment for my last year of college, I didn't mind having to increase my rent budget for it and I was sadly mistaken. I had lived at campus lodge prior to this and wasn't a huge fan until I came here and I truly wish i would've valued my time there because it's a better experience and less $. Management at 42 North is unprofessional and doesn't offer any actual assistance. They leave you without air conditioning for two weeks without any compensation or sense of urgency. They charge you over $100 in "violation fees" for putting your own apartment chair on your own private patio? doesn't make sense. This is definitely a scam student housing just looking to take money from students in anyway they can. They don't care about your concerns. They spend too much time planning and spending on little events they do for residents which should definitely not be their main focus when they have so many other issues at hand Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
USF Related Topics and Questions

Are there any places where I can meet with many USF apartment communities, in person, at one location? At USF, there is a wonderful event called the Bull Market. At the Bull Market many of the local apartment communities will have a booth. At their booth you can get shirts or other branded items as well as ask any questions....read more

How do I advertise my apartment community near USF? Advertising on LiveSomeWhere: https://www.livesomewhere.com/USF is a great way to advertise your apartment community. Your community will receive a prominite place on the site to help familiarize the student body with the...read more

May 2019: DO NOT MOVE HERE! When I first decided to move here I was so excited because I expected a comfortable, nice and clean apartment for my last year of college, I didn't mind having to increase my rent budget for it and I was sadly mistaken. I had lived at campus lodge prior to this and wasn't a huge fan until I came here and I truly wish i would've valued my time there because it's a better experience and less $. Management at 42 North is unprofessional and doesn't offer any actual assistance. They leave you without air conditioning for two weeks without any compensation or sense of urgency. They charge you over $100 in "violation fees" for putting your own apartment chair on your own private patio? doesn't make sense. This is definitely a scam student housing just looking to take money from students in anyway they can. They don't care about your concerns. They spend too much time planning and spending on little events they do for residents which should definitely not be their main focus when they have so many other issues at hand Review from Google
Apr 2019: Don’t even think about this place. They hit my car by their golf cart and they refused to fix it completely. My car was totally parked. The stuff was not cool with me about the case and they refused to fix it. Finally, I am wondering why the owner just respond to the people who can help them with something. But like me, he is not gonna respond. Review from Google
Apr 2019: Don’t even think about this place. They hit my car by their golf cart and they refused to fix it completely. My car was totally parked. The stuff was not cool with me about the case and they refused to fix it. Finally, I am wondering why the owner just respond to the people who can help them with something. But like me, he is not gonna respond. Review from Google
Mar 2019: I couldn't imagine an easier living situation for students. It's fully furnished, really inexpensive (especially including all the amenities), and really resident-oriented. They have a bunch of events and giveaways every month and the management team is so friendly and helpful. Review from Google
Mar 2019: nice and neat. pets allowed. easy parking. chill and very juvenile Review from Google
Mar 2019: 42 north isn’t terrible but prior to moving out I noticed my roommates still left their belongings in the apartment and I had emailed the manger about it and never got a response.. although I had let them know that my roommates left a mess and I didn’t know what to do with their stuff I still was forced to pay over $100 for things that weren’t mine... I get it’s part of my lease but it’s irritating when I let them know in advance those things weren’t mine and I couldn’t get ahold of my roommates who ditched the apartment.. Review from Google
Mar 2019: Don’t even think about this place. They hit my car by their golf cart and they refused to fix it completely. My car was totally parked. The stuff was not cool with me about the case and they refused to fix it.
Mar 2019: Staff is very nice. The apartment feels very safe and secure. The living space feels very roomy and comfortable. The amenities are in great condition.
Feb 2019: I've had a great experience living here so far. 42 North is a great community with very helpful staff! The maintenance team is awesome and very friendly ! Review from Google
Jan 2019: Please reconsider. Our power went out, meaning no electricity AT ALL. And during this day or so that we didn't have power, the apartments, instead of reimbursing us, bought us pizza. We can't contact corporate because "they don't have their number". Management sucks and the rooms are small anyways. Just please reconsider living here. Review from Google
Jan 2019: GOOD PLACE TO LIVE. WISH THEY HAD A BETTER MOVE IN TEAM SO THE PLACE WOULD BE SPOTLESS ON YOUR MOVE IN DAY. Review from Google
Oct 2018: My expectations were not too high considering this is a college apartment, but nevertheless, I am still disappointed. When I first moved in, my room was not cleaned at all (including the toilet and shower!!!). My other two roommates received welcome signs on their bedroom doors and goody bags on their bed... mine lacked both. It was almost as if they completely forgot about my room, which was pretty insulting considering they remembered to prepare for the other residents within my apartment. My window pane was also cracked, the caulking was not done, and the pipe for my shower head had a hole, leading water to shoot out the side and get everywhere. I contacted the office on move-in day and they handled it really well, sending a cleaning lady and a goody bag. The window, caulking, and water pipe were all fixed within the first week. My bigges Review from Google
Sep 2018: I am only giving one star so that I could leave my review. This apartment complex is a scam and is ran by people who only care about MONEY! They gave us an apartment with a stove that hadn’t been cleaned in years. They claim to do room inspections but never say anything about the conditions until you MOVE OUT so that they can charge you $300+. The walls are paper thin I knew my neighbors entire life schedule. They are completely rude and feel they can deal with everything on their own time. I’d rather live in the projects than live here ever again. If you have ANY other options CHOOSE ANOTHER because 42 North will just take your money and it’s not worth a penny they charge. The beds are harder than the cots in prison. Washer and dryer are both broke. Washer leaves a pool for your clothes and dryer shreds them and leaves a burning smell t Review from Google
Aug 2018: If I could give this place a 0 I would BEWARE if you move into this apartment complex be ready to be hit with FALSE charges once you move out. The shadiness of this scheme is unreal. They also have other fees like leaving your trash can outside past a certain time so be careful with that one its about $100 fee. RIDICULOUS. I documented all the damages done to my apartment and room prior to moving in and this somehow disappeared from what was on the document when I moved out. They threatened me by saying the charges would be sent to a collection agency if they weren't paid. They were inconsiderate and unwilling to see past THEIR OWN MISTAKES. Funny how they don't say anything until you've moved out. This apartment complex also lets employees who haven't been to trained ride around in golf carts. One employee ran into my dad's car while he w Review from Google
Aug 2018: This apartment complex is by far the worst complex on 42nd street. Management is absolutely awful. There are numerous charges that are unexplained. They threaten residents by saying they will take you to collections if you don't pay the charges. Whenever there was a broken or maintenance issue, it took multiples days if not weeks to complete. Water pressure is non existent. Washer and drier did not do what they're meant to do. They sent a tow truck to tow my friends car, who was parked in the visitors spot. When you attempt to contact the main office to dispute a charge or talk about an issue they brush their shoulders off and ignore everything. This apartment complex should be closed forever. not worth a $1. Horrible horrible experience all around. Review from Google
Aug 2018: I love the complex and the amenities that they offer. The staff is very kind and helpful when you need help. I am going to refer 42 North to anyone looking for an apartment. Review from Google
May 2018: I've lived here for most of my college career and I love it! Super great staff and good price as well! Bus comes roughly every 20 minutes so I always have access to campus and amenities are good too. Maintenance staff are really good and office staff are always quick to help! I've seen people mentioning issues with their washer and dryer but when a problem arose with my dryer they replaced it the next day! Really enjoy living here. Review from Google

Back to Previous

If you like 42 North reviews or think they are acceptable, check out 42 North ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near USF.

Page One Reviews | Next Page Reviews, Page 2





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap