select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
WaHu Student Living ▷ Reviews

WaHu Student Living


Grade: of 38 reviews 🏆Top Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Mar 2019: Generally a good place for students on campus. Initially there were a couple problems moving in, but they were solved same day. Staff is very friendly and attentive to residents. From my observations, it seems that the janitorial staff isn't treated as fairly as the other staff members, which is something I would want improved. Moved out last year after living there for 2 years due to graduating college.
Feb 2019: PLEASE READ I have never written any review, ever. I wanted to rate as no star, but I can’t. To start off, this building is so UNSAFE, they advertise it as being safe, but it really is not. I have had many people attempting to get into my apartment late at night. Same with my friends apartment. It’s also very noisy when trying to go to bed for a test or early AM class. The security guard does nothing. The apartment is too big to just have 1 guy watching. The office staff doesn’t even care when you tell them about any problems. Why would they care? Not theirs, just working hourly. The apartment smells AWFUL. Too many hidden fees and it’s just too expensive for a college student to be paying over $1500 every month on rent, not convenient. This apartment is the worst one near the UMN. The office staff is very rude and racist. They talk down to many foreign exchange students. As a student, I find it very uncomfortable and very rude Review from Google
Feb 2019: I've been living at WaHu for 2 years now and plan on coming back for next year. It is conveniently close to campus with new, clean facilities and a friendly staff. They regularly put on great and engaging events such as yoga with kittens and a Lunar New Year party. A great choice! Review from Google
Feb 2019: Very nice amenities and perks (study areas, pool, free coffee, computer lounge/printing, patios) and very convenient location near the stadium vilage light rail stop. Management also hosts fun events, activities, and great referral programs! Review from Google
Feb 2019: Update as of 2019: garage door is constantly broken and service requests are still slow. Location is still super convenient but unless you don't care about service, live elsewhere Moving in was a total hassle, and I got completely conflicting information from office staff. When I was picking out units I was told there would be no problem getting the one I wanted, which wasn't true at all. Also, I was not given any sort of reminder that the initial payment had to be certified check or money order. I also had a leak in the ceiling that required construction that took way too long to fix- I didn't have a usable bathroom for over 3 weeks. I will say that the office staff seems to be much better- just all around more knowledgeable and helpful- since I toured and moved in. The location is great if you like to walk to class buildings and they do re Review from Google
Feb 2019: Very high quality apartments, great location near downtown and right next to stadium village station, very fast wifi, and high end amenities including a new pool area, fitness room, and scenic verandas. Great value for a very luxurious apartment with top notch service from the WaHu staff. Review from Google
Feb 2019: For college living it’d be fine if it was cheaper but at this price I wouldn’t highly recommend living here. Windows leak and freeze over in the winter causing the rooms to be very cold and there’s no way to fix it. The WiFi never works well unless you’re directly plugged into to the wall, people will keep you up with noise and you’ll need to call security a few times before it gets better, people also just throw their trash all over like animals, and our floor always reeks of weed (5 out of 7 days a week I’d estimate). Also the rooms mostly face towards other buildings and have small windows so don’t expect much natural light. The staff are usually nice but not always able to help unfortunately. On the plus side, the rooms are decently sized, there is in room washing/dryers, and the pool/hot tub are usually empty. Review from Google
Jan 2019: I've lived here for 2 years now. For being right near campus I think it is good pricing for the relatively large rooms. The staff and maintenance are nice people and I haven't had issues with that. The walls can be pretty thin, and I think really that is my main complaint besides the ban on dogs pottying in the courtyard. The location is really perfect if you have classes split between east bank and St Paul. Only a 12 minute walk to Coffman and only a block or two from the light rail, and the bus that will take you to St Paul. Review from Google
📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

What is individual leasing? With Individual Leases, YOU are only responsible for YOUR (or your students) rent. You arent liable for your roommates rent at all! Unlike a traditional lease or a joint lease, if your roommate transfers, graduates, or fails to pay his...read more

Cheaper On or Off Campus? The question if it is cheaper to live on or off campus comes up all of the time. The general answer is off campus. While price wise off campus is almost always is cheaper, you must keep in mind what you are giving u...read more

Jan 2019: Perfect location for U students! Quick walk to East Bank, and a stone's throw from the Stadium Village greenline station with connection to East or West Bank campuses for those colder days (not to mention downtown Minneapolis, St. Paul, etc.). The amenities are excellent for the price; besides the pool, exercise room and heated parking garage, there are plenty of study nooks throughout the building--all of which are kept exceptionally clean. Besides all that, WaHu has an on-site office with very helpful and friendly staff. Maintenance is completed quickly and there's usually an employee available for leasing/accounting questions. For those who are concerned about the roommate situation, WaHu offers a pretty comprehensive roommate matching tool. Because of this you won't be able to see the exact apartment you'll be leasing, but the demo unit Review from Google
Jan 2019: For college living it’d be fine if it was cheaper but at this price I wouldn’t highly recommend living here. Windows leak and freeze over in the winter causing the rooms to be very cold and there’s no way to fix it. They don’t always heat all the floors above around 60ish degrees in the winter so that kind of negates the amenities without a big coat. The WiFi never works well enough despite constant emails of it “getting upgraded”, people will keep you up with noise and you’ll need to call security a few times before it gets better, people also just throw their trash all over like animals, and our floor always reeks of weed (5 out of 7 days a week I’d estimate). Also the rooms mostly face towards other buildings and have small windows so don’t expect much natural light. They shouldn’t be charging more than $500 a month for Review from Google
Jan 2019: There are so many great things about this property! Staff, location, amenities... All fantastic! Review from Google
Jan 2019: I feel proud to call WaHu home! Staff and community members always greet me with a smile, which creates an ambiance that's rare in a neighborhood of this size. The apartments are definitely affordable in this market, and being across the street from the light rail is truly a game changer when it comes to saving on transportation. I would recommend WaHu to anyone looking for a functional place to live close to downtown and UMN campus! Review from Google
Dec 2018: It is just one of the best apartments you could possibly find out there. Staffs are very helpful and friendly. By the way, go talk to Noah, he is great 👍. It is very close to light rail station which makes our way to campus EASY! Review from Google
Dec 2018: Definitely wouldn’t recommend living here. You don’t get nearly what you pay for. Also they bribe residents to get good reviews. The staff are a mix of very nice or very rude so it’s hard to pin point. The WiFi never works well enough despite constant emails of it “getting upgraded”, if something breaks (which it will) don’t expect it to be fixed unless you physically go downstairs during business hours and force them to fix it, there’s an excessive amount of homeless people who wander the building, people will keep you up with noise until 4am, and our floor always reeks of weed. This could be a nice place to live if they tried even a little bit unfortunately they don’t. They shouldn’t be charging more than $500 a month for this quality of living. Review from Google
Nov 2018: I've lived at Wahu for a few months and so far I've had a great experience! The utility cost however is unpredictable and higher than what management mentioned while signing up. Other than that, I've got only good things to say so far. Review from Google
Sep 2018: I've never lived at WaHu but I've had friends that lived there. Every time I went to visit, I wish I lived there! When you first walk in through the main doors, they have an awesome coffee machine that make you virtually anything! Not only does it actually taste good, it's free! Inside the leasing office they also sometimes have free treats from Blaze and all the staff is sooo friendly! They're really approachable and seem genuinely happy to be there to help you out! Walking up to the second floor, they have a map with pins of where everyone is from which I think adds a really nice sense of community and home in such a large apartment building. They also have really nice amenities on the second floor that are always well kept and clean. Overall one of the best apartment buildings in Stadium Village in my opinion! Review from Google
Sep 2018: I love living at this community! It is in a great location and the apartments are very nice. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful whenever I need anything. Review from Google
Sep 2018: I love living here! The staff is always so helpful, the amenities are amazing and I just really love the environment. Maintenance has always been very helpful and timely completing my maintenance requests. I will absolutely be renewing my lease for next year! Review from Google
Sep 2018: Amazing property and staff. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. The amenities and the apartment homes are so beautiful. The finishes inside the apartments are to die for. I can't say enough. If I could live here forever, I would! Review from Google
Aug 2018: I have enjoyed living here. The facilities are nice, and the rooms are clean.
Jun 2018: Arthur was so helpful and funny! He definitely made my decision easier when it came down to choosing an apartment. His customer service was sublime! I’ll definitely be signing my lease soon! Review from Google
Jun 2018: Decent amenities, but it's expensive. The management is not as bad as some people claim, some of them are very cool. But there are steep fines and weird rules. You can have a good time here if you have deep pockets. Review from Google
May 2018: Beware of the "good" reviews. Students were told they would receive gift. Where to begin... the management staff is rude and racist. They will fine you for miscommunications, which gets very expensive for a college student making ends meet. $250... $350 at a time. The pictures look amazing online, but in reality the room is dark and small. Nothing like the big windows they advertise. They charge double what they should. Pool is dirty and the printer never is stocked which causes stress when working on a college deadline! I will not renew my lease. Review from Google
Mar 2018: This apartment has everything you need. One of the most luxurious apartments with awesome staff. I really like staying here! Review from Google
Mar 2018: Wahu has been a nicer experience than I expected. A lot of the reviews on here are completely absurd and written by people that want a Hollywood mansion for $10 a month. It’s nice, has everything that I need, and the front desk people are super helpful when you’re respectful to them(what a concept!). Review from Google



UMN WaHu Student Living Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap