select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

Varsity House


Grade: of 44 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Jan 2021: This place is horrible. It’s dirty, full of bugs and the management is horrific. They do not care at all about COVID safety.
Sep 2019: great location and installations! Also the events for the residence are great and super friendly staff!! Review from Google
Sep 2019: Great location and good sized rooms. New pool furniture is really nice. Good game room and friendly staff. Review from Google
Sep 2019: I like the convenience of parking in the garage on my floor, free food at resident events and ease of access to the 33 bus route to campus. Plus SW Rec is real close and I can walk or jog over there. Review from Google
Sep 2019: Great sized bathrooms, 24/7 gym and study room.... Overall no complaints and great place to stay. Review from Google
Jul 2019: There is a complete infestation of roaches not only outside in the hallways and stairwells with the copious amounts of debris, litter, and spiders, but they have taken over my apartment. I had pest control come into my apartment one morning a couple months ago, but it did absolutely nothing. We've had to remove and throw away dishes/pans from the cupboards because of the abundance of fecal matter left behind from the roaches. We have to - quite literally - watch where we step and turn on lights at night to make sure we aren't stepping on cockroaches. No matter how much bleach we use or cleaning my roommate and I do, they have continued to grow in numbers. Because I have a dog, one of the maintenance men told me that I would have to "lock her up" for the entire day on Thursday (which is the only day pest control apparently comes) while I am at work for Orkin to enter my apartment. Unfortunately, it's been a nightmare trying to get them to come on a different day when I am not working, and I was told I would have to pay out of pocket if I chose to speak with them directly Review from Google
May 2019: took a tour with parth, he was very nice and helpful. the manager, jen- was more than accommodating. Review from Google
Feb 2019: The rooms (and bathrooms) are of great size and quality. The amenities are nice (pool, game room, study space, etc.), although I personally tend not to use them outside of the solid gym. Parking is an issue for them, as there is no guest parking, which can be frustrating to say the least. Management and the front desk are amicable, although they are sometimes hamstrung by company policy. I would recommend (and have recommended) this complex to friends.
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
UF Related Topics and Questions

How do I sublease my apartment near UF? First on the list of subleasing your apartment near UF is finding the right person. LiveSomeWhere: https://www.livesomewhere.com/UF helps simplify this process. It is the most popular site near UF for subleases (relets if you want to be...read more

How do I advertise my apartment community near UF? Advertising with LiveSomeWhere: https://www.livesomewhere.com/UF is a wonderful pay to spread the word about your apartment community. Your community will show up at the top of the site to help familiarize the student body with the...read more

Feb 2019: The area is lovely. I moved here with a boyfriend and even though that didn’t end up working out this place definitely has. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. So glad I ended up moving here. Review from Google
Feb 2019: The new management has done such a fabulous job, truly luxury living at its finest. Couldn’t have asked for a better place to live in. They care, they listen, it’s clean. Will stay here for a long time. Review from Google
Feb 2019: I've loved living at Vhouse & will be resigning! The rooms come fully-furnished and have plenty of space. The bathrooms are also spacious & the walk-in closet is a huge plus. They also added a new cafe while I've been living here that has a ton of healthy options. Review from Google
Feb 2019: Amazing property and great customer service. I recently went to take a tour and the staff was very helpful. I love the pool and cafe area, but I think my favorite is how spacious the apartments are. I also like the TVs by the pool. Review from Google
Feb 2019: The new management has really turned this place around. Lovely grounds, great city-living feel too. Love the pool. Review from Google
Nov 2018: Pros: Decent amenities (but not nearly as much as promise during tour and on move in) Big apartments and bathrooms Furnished Student residents Close to campus city buses staff is usually nice, but they don't have the jurisdiction to resolve most issues ok-ish price Cons: NO PARKING (YOU WILL BE TOWED) Building door locks are broken and unsafe (an apartment was broken into and VH didn't let the residents move off the ground floor despite them no longer feeling safe and there being available apartments) Need to walk 1 mile to throw trash away (literally a 15 minute walk with a trash bag) Maintenance requests take consistently MORE than 48 hours to complete (and they talk down to your requests and act like you're selfish for needing your AC to be fixed, or needing a bed in your room upon move in) the don't have hired janitors/cleaning service - Review from Google
Oct 2018: Amenities are the only plus to this place. Management is terrible. Nothing ever gets done on time. I had lived here for a month before they had cut the mailbox keys. The maintenance request that was supposed to take 72 hours took 2 weeks to complete and only because I raised a fuss at the front desk. My room faces the pool area and I can hear the music from the pool all day long. Sometimes they forget to turn it off and I can hear it all night long when I'm trying to sleep too. Half of the stairwell doors dont lock properly so anyone could get in your building and wander the halls. I would never resign a lease here. Review from Google
Sep 2018: BEWARE! Absolutely NO parking! You will get towed or ticketed if you try to park on the grass or on the side of the building. Cops patrol the area and wait on you to get out of your car & then give you a ticket. It happened to my roommate 3 times and myself 1 time. Building is Infested with roaches. Paper thin walls that allow you to hear every conversation your neighbor is having. I could even hear every time she flushed the toilet. Our dishwasher was broken for 3 months before they sent someone to look at it & said it was fixed but it wasn't. Someone crashed their car into the dog park area & management literally propped the gate against the fence & it has remained broken for 2 years. The siding on the building falls off anytime a strong gust of wind blows. The staff in the front office are unprofessional rude students. Review from Google
Aug 2018: Honestly, just do yourself a favor and cross this complex off your list of potential apartments. The walls are incredibly thin, I was able to hear the conversations that my neighbors were having. The trash piles up near the parking garage, speaking of the parking garage, there are around 7 parking spots for guests. They do not have enough parking spots for the people who are paying to live there. I was sent a $290 bill when I moved out and when I tried to contact the complex I was never sent an email back. I called and no one answered. Just go ahead and remove this place if you are looking for somewhere to rent. Review from Google
Aug 2018: Varsity House is in violation of Florida law requiring available parking to all of it's tenants. We are currently under council through our attorney to initiate a class action lawsuit to include all tenants who have been refused a parking space. According to their website, parking is an "ammenity" and "all amenities" are included in the rent. Please verify with Varsity House that your family member will be afforded parking as they do NOT disclose this information before lease signing. AGAIN, VARSITY HOUSE DOES NOT PROVIDE PARKING FOR ALL OF IT'S TENANTS. If your family member has a vehicle, there is NO LEGAL overnight parking available anywhere around this facility. Review from Google
Jun 2018: I love living at Varsity House because of the sense of community I feel when living here. They often hold community activities at the pool or in the main lobby such as Game nights or the occasional BBQ. Review from Google
Jun 2018: My apartment is clean and the maintenance has been helpful in a timely manner Review from Google
May 2018: RUN AWAY!!! Do not sign here. I lived at the varsity house for three semesters. Where do I start?? The place is infested with silver fish bugs, no matter how much we spray our apartment. When the Varsity House claims they have a "safety system" on their website: don't believe it. People break in all the time because the doors could easily just be jammed open. If you sign here, I hope you like the smell of weed and trash, because that's what the hallways smell like. From day one "management" has been nothing but rude and demeaning to my roommates, which I have witnessed first-hand. The previous 2 managers over the past year, have done everything they can to make us feel unwanted. Rolling their eyes, ignoring us, walking away while talking to them, etc. Note: both of them were fired after their short employment, I have doubts the next mangers w Review from Google
May 2018: Went on a tour today and the complex was really clean and nice. I love the style of the office and the way the hallways are. It looks like a safe place, you need a key fob to get everywhere. Also they informed me that there is a new manager and that he was working closely with residents in addressing their concerns. This is something I really want to have where I move in. I am looking forward in signing a lease! Review from Google
Mar 2018: Internet goes out way to often and for way too long. Internet is definitely a necessity if you're going to school here. Super thin walls as well. Review from Google
Feb 2018: I love the location of the complex, the bathroom and closet are spacious, the clubhouse is really nice and the office/maintenance staff are very friendly and helpful. However, walls are thin, parking (visitors or residential) parking can be a hassle, and the new management is not great at all. Before the new management, I would have rated more stars, probably 4. Review from Google
Jan 2018: LIVE SOMEWHERE ELSE. There is nothing stellar at Varsity House to set it aside from other complexes. For reasons I’ll explain below, your living experience could end up with you being slightly irritated 24/7 for a year. I would have rated this complex 4 stars a few months ago. After the new staff came in, the complex has been on a steady decline. I’d venture to say that most of the 4 or 5 star reviews you find are because the complex gives residents free food to leave reviews. I know several people living in the complex and all of them have the same experience. Here’s a list of some of the things you can expect: - Broken doors: The doors that lead into the buildings break all the time and they rarely get fixed. This is a security issue because ANYONE can enter the buildings. One building had no handles on the doors (and still has non Review from Google

Back to Previous

If you like Varsity House reviews or think they are acceptable, check out Varsity House ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near UF.

Page One Reviews | Next Page Reviews, Page 2





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap