select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu] The Retreat Gainesville ▷ Reviews

The Retreat Gainesville

Grade: of 81 reviews

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Feb 2019: All the positive reviews are lies! The responce to my review by Retreat was a lie! Nothing has been satisfactory resolved. Also, in addition to more fees has been charged! Office staff is completely useless and nobody knows anything. Do not rent from this complex! Review from Google
Jan 2019: Horrible Place to rent from! Be ware, what is promised, will never be delivered. My daughter moved in to dirty apartment, never cleaned prior to her move in. Since she was a returning tenant she was told there will not be a Pet fee charged, but when she turned in a move in sheet and stated all the damages, they immediately decided to charged her pet fee. I have been going around and around, nobody at the office knows or answers for anyone. What she was told is completely not what she is charged. They will nickle and dime you with you with tons of fees so be aware! Will never recommend this place. Everything is cheaply built and nobody takes care of anything. don't fall in to the bright pictures and promises the staff will make you because nobody stands behind anything! Review from Google
Jan 2019: Have lived here for 3 years and staff is absolutely horrible. They don’t do their jobs and do a horrible job when they actually do so. I’d recommend looking elsewhere for housing.
Jan 2019: Be aware if you have a dear member of your family living in this so called: "nice place" you won't be able to visit EVER WITHOUT GETTING YOUR CAR TOWED. The community has at least 750 students and ONLY 10 visitor parking spaces. This is absurd! Knocking on wood, nothing ever happens happens to my daughter because if so, I won't be able to come help her. Review from Google
Dec 2018: Landmark properties owns these properties they are Thieves google “Scott Macak arrest” he is facing felony charges in Tampa for stealing from the retreat. The staff is Rude guess who Scott was ?? Just read last years reviews of the Tampa retreat he was the property manager there having countless students cars towed. He was most likely getting a kick backs from the towing company given his felony arrest in September - just go to the hillsborough clerk of court web site search public records read the arrest report from Tampa police. This place is full of criminals. The last guy working in the office recently stole packages from students , instead of claiming it through the carrier they made an illegal insurance claim . Bunch of thieves !! Landmark properties Owns all these crooked properties Review from Google
Oct 2018: The staff are really friendly! I toured the Lumpikin, one of many great cottages. I loved the community aspect and the living situation. Review from Google
Oct 2018: This apartment is too expensive for what it offers. You pay so much money for one bedroom/bathroom in a 5/5. The apartment looks nice, but they tack on so many charges for everything. It's really not worth it. You could find a nicer apartment for cheaper. Just look elsewhere. I stayed here for a summer sublease and ran into constant additional charges. They tried to charge me $284 to replace a cheap mattress with a small water stain that I didn't even notice on it. In the end they halved that cost, but the stain was so inconspicuous I hadn't noticed it the whole three months I was there. They could have simply removed it if it was a problem, and those mattresses don't cost that much. They are also terrible at responding to the phone, emails, etc. I got a busy signal when I called multiple times and had to go into the office during business hou Review from Google
Sep 2018: I'd thought I'd take out the time to review The Retreat after living here for two years. This is my honest (opinionated) review. I understand my experience are unique and don't reflect the opinions of other current/past residents. If the things I mention don't seem like a big deal to you, then signing here is great. If you are on the fence, I suggest taking a look at what I have to say. I'll try to make it simple and to the point. Pros: *VERY close to campus (bus ride is less than 5 minutes on the way to school and 10 minutes back) *Very nice amenities (Starbuck machine, clean pool, gym, golf course simulator, printing lab, VERY nice study room) *Friendly front desk staff *Size of the rooms is spacious and the common areas are as well *The maintenance team were probably the most responsive I have ever seen. Work orders would get resolved on Review from Google
Aug 2018: Just signed my lease customer service was great I hope I have a great time Review from Google
Jun 2018: Living at The Retreat for my first year of graduate school was amazing. I chose this complex due to the proximity to campus, plethora of amenities, and the nice furniture package. Considering the size of the complex, it is way quieter than one would expect. The reason why I am not renewing is because I no longer want to live with more than 1 roommate, and I know that I can get a better deal elsewhere. Pros: Location. There are 4 bus routes in walking distance and the complex is only about a mile from campus. Friendly, helpful, approachable staff that responds quickly to concerns. Whether it was mail, maintenance, or opening my door when I got locked out, the staff was attentive and available. I never had any maintenance issues, but my roommates did and they were always handled in a week's time. I think the office may have received a staff t Review from Google
Jun 2018: wouldn't stay here. Their promoters were handing out shirts in the Marston library. Not many people were there, but they gave shirts only to the white students. I asked them why they didn't hand out shirts to any other races. They told me they were targeting blonde chicks. Discriminatory and disgusting. Review from Google
May 2018: Nice place with great staff, always improving conditions for residents. Just very expensive and poor guest parking conditions Review from Google
Apr 2018: I had to write this review of The Retreat, due to our Property Manager Sierra with her pleasant attitude and attention to detail. In this fast paced world we live in, The Retreat residents are truly blessed to have her. I have lived at The Retreat for a while now, but, it has improved exponentially since Sierra’s arrival. During the time I have lived here, Sierra is the best Property Manager The Retreat has ever had. Since Sierra’s arrival, The Retreat has undergone a complete transformation for the better. She is a multitasker who has great ideas with a personality to match. Not only is she a proficient Property Manager and individual, she actually cares, is polite and friendly. Sierra is HIGHLY knowledgeable and deserving of her job title and elevates everyone’s rental experience. Before Sierra’s arrival at The Retreat, I w Review from Google
Mar 2018: Front desk staff is super helpful and maintenance workers are super efficient and solve any problem in a very effective, timely manner. The amenities - 24/7 clubhouse with multiple study rooms, multi-tier gym, oversized pool etc - are definitely centered around the needs and wants of college students and are great! All of the rooms and bathrooms in the cottages are super spacious! Review from Google
Feb 2018: I signed my lease for The Retreat when it was still under construction and i'm so happy here that I have renewed twice already. This place is by far the most beautiful complex in Gainesville and offers the best amenities that are all included in the monthly rent. Review from Google
Feb 2018: This place is ridiculous. Have had numerous issues that took months to resolve. Last night my car was towed. My daughter lives here but I pay the rent and am the co-signer. When we signed the lease there was no restrictions on parking. They have now changed the policy twice in 6 months. They have 12 visitor spots for a complex with over 200 people. The office refused to give a special pass for two nights. I pay almost $800 a month but cannot park when I visit. Review from Google
Feb 2018: Although I don’t live here. I have trained a few dogs in this complex. Very impressed.... Review from Google
Feb 2018: Although people have been complaining a lot about the amenities, I just wanna say that the staff that works at the retreat is one of the best I have ever experienced living in any apartment complex. Shout out to the best of them, Rhea Papi, who was incredibly helpful and understanding and solved all of my problems in the friendliest of manners and without hesitation. If you did one thing right, Retreat, it was hiring amazing people! Review from Google
Jan 2018: I moved into The Retreat when it first opened in August 2016 and resigned for the following (and current) year - the apartment complex is super adorable, close to campus, spacious and great for pets but that is all it has to offer. Landmark Properties who owns this property and The Retreat management itself has ZERO regards or care for its residents at all. Google does not allow long reviews so I will cut back my review a bit but the full review is on Facebook, depending on if The Retreat Management delete it or not because this company is so fake they try to cover up and make the people they have done wrong quiet and non-existent. Simple Bills is the third-party service all residents are required to use that The Retreat uses for utility overages. Each month, they have claimed $60+ in overages on top of our $40 top from each girl living in o Review from Google
Dec 2017: Halfway through my lease here and they decided to take away your ability to have guests over. I am paying over $700 for an apartment where I will not be able to have people over, as they are only making TWELVE visitor spots for the entire complex. Absolutely a poor solution by management. And on top of that, they made this change AFTER I resigned my lease. So I am stuck living somewhere I can't have visitors. Absolutely ridiculous. I signed here specifically because they had no parking restrictions and they took that away. There's not even nearby street parking like there is near apartments closer to campus, so don't waste your money. Review from Google
Nov 2017: The worst management I have ever experienced. I would never re-sign to live here or recommend to anyone. Since I moved here in August I have experienced problem after problem, very few that end up resolved. It is student run on site and there is no management on site or that is ever available to solve problems when they arise. Noise complaints are not taken seriously, charges have been added to account two times wrongfully, assigned parking towing that I pay additionally for is not enforced, the third party utility company Simple Bills and the Retreat are each unaware of what is paid for in rent money/should be paid, maintenance does not come when you file a request so you have to go into the office to ask for someone to actually come out. Overall headache of a place to live. Review from Google
Aug 2017: The staff here at the retreat is super friendly and impressive. They are so nice and super caring. If you ever have a problem they make sure to get on to it ASAP. Reha was nice enough to hook me up with shirts just out of the kindness of her heart. Massive improvement over the previous staff and management that was once In charge. I’m so happy and excited for the events that are planned for the future. Definitely need to check this place out and ask for Rhea!! Review from Google
Aug 2017: We recently moved our student (male, Santa Fe freshman) into The Retreat. There was an issue with one of the other roommates (a returning student and previous tenant) who left for a few weeks and gave access to some unsavory types who partied/squatted in the unit for the past few days/weeks. Within 12-24 hours of being notified of the problem The Retreat had kicked out the offending tenant, cleaned out the unit, re painted, re carpeted, and bug sprayed. Although this was an unfortunate event and soured our first impression of The Retreat we could not ask for a much better response from the staff. Once the unit was move in ready it was very nice. Clean walls and carpet, comfortable furniture. Maybe not top of the line furnishings but still very clean and nice. At the end of the day it's still a college apartment not The Ritz. The club Review from Google
Mar 2017: The leasing office are great. Especially the manager XXXX,he is very kind and warm-heart all the time. If this property did not increase the rents,I would continue living here for the following two years. Review from 3/28/17 on Google
Oct 2016: I think the great reviews are from staff that work in the office. The coffee machine only worked when they first opened and hasn't worked since. They keep saying they will fix it, but they haven't. The staff in the office belong to fraternities and they have the frat parties there. This prevents the residents from enjoying the space. If you were looking for "luxury living" and "upscale social living" this is not the place. Review from 10/10/16 on Google

UF The Retreat Gainesville Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap