select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
The Village at Science Drive ▷ Reviews
Back to Previous

The Village at Science Drive


Grade: of 38 reviews 👍Highly Rated

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Jun 2019: I enjoyed living here but it is also a scam. The apartments are wildly over priced because of the recent renovations that are extremely average. You get laminate floor and new countertops but old tubs, bad paint jobs and dirty hallways. The amenities are nothing special, the pool and gym are small and underwhelming for the prices they’re charging. Not to mention that management isn’t usually helpful or nice. On the other hand there is a good variety in room and closet size. However one person will likely end with a room that is much smaller than the others and still pay more as happened with me. Its pretty safe inside but the surrounding communities are quite sketchy. There’s also nothing that is walking distance but everything is a close car ride. Also, don’t expect to pay the same rent price Two years in a row. I looked into resigning and they tried to bump my rent $40 a month for the same apartment Review from Google
May 2019: The village at science drive is the absolute worst place I have ever lived in the UCF area. We constantly get charged fees every month and the fees consist of overages that they don’t disclose with tenants of the community. This month, my roommates and I got charged for an overage when there’s only been 2/4 people living in the apartment for the past month. Coincidently, there was also a MASSIVE sprinkler system leak where water was shooting several feet in the air and the streets were getting flooded. Now my roommates and I are paying “overages” due to the incompetency of this horrible establishment. The one good thing I can say is that the staff in the front office are nice. If there’s one place you absolutely never want to live, it’s here. CANT WAIT TO MOVE OUT!! Also if you never had a pet, the raccoons here are pretty cute :) they dig in the garbage almost every week Review from Google
May 2019: Firstly, you should know that I would not take the time out of my day to write this review if I thought the UCF community shouldn't be warned about this living facility. I have lived here for a year and six months and I can honestly tell you that if you're looking to move here, don't. I have never given my business to or had to deal with such disrespectful and unprofessional employees in my life. The student workers are completely misinformed and will basically tell you anything they think you might want to hear. If you ask the same question to 3 different employees chances are you will receive 3 completely different answers. Management hides in the back of the office and when you ask to speak to a leasing manager for clarification, the student employees catch a disgusting and completely unacceptable attitude. They also have an extreme unwillingness to work, they will tell you your package isn't there but it will be, they just didn't bother to look hard enough Review from Google
Apr 2019: Very unsafe community to live in as a student. Only one security guard at night to monitor the whole complex after sunset. Also the units are very old, mold is growing in the walls causing a funky smell in units. Appliances barley work properly. Maintenance is very helpful but its frustrating when they have to come into your unit all the time to fix things. Also the people working the front desk have no clue on customer service skills what so ever. One person will tell you one response and the next person you talk to will be clueless and tell you a complete other response for issues. Renee at the desk is the only person who actually has customer service skills and will tell you the correct answers. After living at Plaza and Village i have found out if you want anything to be accomplished call corporate. Review from Google
Apr 2019: DO NOT MOVE INTO HERE. I’ve never had such a horrific experience in my life. My sister and I each pay 700 a month (now 760) to live with bugs. We filed 5 complaints about silverfish and spiders and they have not done anything to fix this until it got to the point that we found them on our beds. Safety is horrible. I witnessed a crime scene investigation happening right in front of my apartment building where a girl overdosed on heroine in her car. I even saw her dead body. These are jut examples off the top of my head. Do yourself a favor and avoid at all costs. I’m so close to filing a lawsuit against this place.
Mar 2019: This is definitely a late review- but better late than never. Just had to refresh a new landlord on some of these laws and it brought this incident up. I lived here from May 2015 to October 2015, right when I moved to Orlando. I am hoping their staff has been educated on Emotional Support Animal laws since then but just in case they haven’t... if you have one, I don’t recommend living here. Save yourself the trouble. They discriminate and are ignorant to the law. I got my ESA in October 2015, provided a doctor’s note, and was told because my roommates didn’t want the pet there that it would have to leave or I would have to move out. Under the FHA, my ESA isn’t even considered a pet. They allowed my roommates to discriminate, and did so themselves too. I wish I would have shared this right after the fact and pursued legal action. What this place did was beyond illegal. I ended up having to find a new apartment and vacate this place within days Review from Google
Oct 2018: So far I've lived here about 3 months and I like it a lot more than UHouse! The rooms are decently sized as well as the closets. The bathrooms are a little smaller and have a lot less storage than you would think. They have fake drawers which was disappointing moving in. Everything is really clean and well kept and maintenance is always really fast to fix things. The only problem I have is management, they're not great at their jobs. I ended up paying $200 for signing fees when I was told it would only be $100 and when I tried talking to management they completely brushed off not only me but my parents, it was rude and unprofessional. Prior to moving in I wanted to move in early. I ended up paying over $100 to move in ONE DAY EARLY. Literally ridiculous, on top of that they didn't tell me until the night before so everything was really rushed. Review from Google
Aug 2018: The staff is awful and misleading. We were not told from the beginning when we signed that we couldn't move in early and now last minute, days before we need to be in our apartment, they're telling us there's a good chance we can't move in early at all. This is completely unacceptable to leave residents who pay so much money to live there homeless for 2 weeks before they're allowed to move in. I have spoken to multiple managers and they all give me the same answer "I don't know" and frankly "I don't know" is not an acceptable answer when I'm paying so much to live here. Do not live here, it's not worth the trouble these people do not care about the residents they just care about the money and it's disgusting. I haven't even moved in yet and I've already had so many problems. These people only care about the money not the residents and it’s disgusting.
📃 News and FAQs Snippet

An American Campus Community, ACC where students love living The Village at Science Drive is ACC managed so will be similar to Plaza on University except Plaze is right across the street from UCF. blog-articles-about-plaza-on-university?onedesc_id=3&pb_y...read more

Which off campus apartments are affiliated with UCF? UCF has created Northview which is an apartment community, but still considered on campus as it is owned and run by UCF. True off campus apartments affiliated to UCF are knights-circle and http...read more

Aug 2018: I wish I could give this place no stars... they dont care about students all they care about is getting your money. The front office staff doesn't handle situations in a professional manner, they are very disrespectful to tenants. The maintenance on the other hand are absolutely amazing. They are so kind and always willing to help tenants when the front office fails to help accommodate students needs. I'm so happy I dont not live there anymore. Review from Google
Jul 2018: Completely unhappy with this place and I haven’t even moved in yet. The staff is completely unprofessional and doesn’t give any information at all. At this point it looks like I will be homeless for 2 weeks because I was never informed that there was a good chance I couldn’t move in early. That is completely unacceptable to not inform residents before they even sign that early move in is unlikely because I certainly wouldn’t have signed my lease to begin with. Since I signed I have been given the impression that I could move in early and now last minute they’re changing their answer to “I don’t know.” “I don’t know” is not a good answer, that is not how you run a business. The lack of concern for residents is disgusting and I can assure you I will not be renewing. Do not live here, it’s not worth the absolute disrespect Review from Google
Jul 2018: I would rather move back into my dorm than live here again. When I moved in the place was filthy, there is hair painted into the framework because that’s how little effort they put in to making this place nice. Once there was a hobo sitting outside of my unit and wandering around the property so I called the office and instead of sending someone to investigate, they proceeeded to tell me it’s probably just someone trying to solicit church information, when I knew for a fact it was not. I called within the first week of living here saying my toilet would run all the time and they said that was normal... 2 months later and it completely overflowed and flooded my entire bedroom and part of the living room. It took that situation to happen for them to listen to my concerns. They then proceeded to tell me it was my fault. The staff here is very Review from Google
Jul 2018: I loved the room(s) itself and some of the amenities are GREAT (Mac computer lab!), but as someone who's lived in 5 different Orlando apartments, GO ANYWHERE ELSE. It's not worth what you'll be paying. The staff as people are very helpful, but the organization running it (American Campus Community) cares a lot about their bottom line ($) which restricts how much help you're able to get. I felt like a walking dollar sign before I even moved in. You pay your first "installment" 3 weeks before you even move in, only to be paying your next installment 1-2 weeks after FINALLY getting to move in. Want to move in early, when you've already paid $700 to NOT be living somewhere? Better pay a couple hundred more dollars! Also, unless you enjoy constantly unplugging all your electronics and monitoring your thermostat to avoid overage fees, it's worth Review from Google
Jul 2018: As far as the rooms it's a very nice place to live. Nice furniture (other than the sharp edges) and very spacious rooms with large closets. Before I lived here the rent was reasonably priced but it continues to go up tremendously each year. I will be paying $100 more a month this upcoming year than when I originally signed. My other issue is the student staff. They are generally unhelpful and make it seem as though you are bothering them when you come into the office. Also can't count on maintenance requests to get fixed. A majority of the time we've put in a simple request we'll get a notification that it's been fixed when no one has showed up for it. Besides the student staff and cost of living here, it is a good place for students. Review from Google
Jan 2018: Science Drive is a great place to live! It was my first off-campus apartment and I love it. I’ve been here for 2 years now and if it weren’t for the fact that I’m about to graduate I’d still stay. Can’t ask for a better place. The staff is friendly and always helpful. Review from Google
Jan 2018: I have lived there for more than two years now. I really like the size and look of the apartment. It’s not as comfy as it used to be before the renovations but it looks pretty nice. The front office is very helpful but it really depends on who’s working that day. If I had to change anything about the place, I would probably add a front gate or something for better security. Review from Google
Jan 2018: The rooms are spacious, staff is extremely helpful, and community quiet. These are a few of the things I love about living at The Village At Science Drive. The apartment have been updated with hard wood floors, new lighting fixtures, and all new appliances. I've lived here for two years and would recommend this community to anyone! Review from Google
Jan 2018: Out of all four student living apartments I have lived in, the Villages on Science Drive has been my favorite. The new renovations have been wonderful and the staff is always helpful. Maintenance is super friendly and always comes fast when you need help. It’s close to campus and the UCF shuttle is always available. I would highly recommend living in this development! Review from Google
Jan 2018: Village on Science Drive is my second off campus apartment and I love it! Management is very responsive. The apartments themselves are very spacious and clean. There’s rarely a moment I regret living here. I’ve committed myself to another year to living here because it’s close to shopping, food, and campus. If you’re looking for nice off campus student housing, this is your winner! Review from Google
Jan 2018: The Villages is a great place to live. It is super close to campus and offers a shuttle service running every 15 min to take you to and from campus. The apartments are very clean and nice. I have had a great experience living here so far. Staff members are caring and there are a ton of amenities. Review from Google
Jan 2018: Living at the Villages on Science Drive has been such a pleasant experience. It is newly renovated and super cute! I never have trouble getting maintenance to come when I need help or getting quick responses from the front office. I would suggest to anyone that they should live here if they are looking for a comfortable, cozy, and safe place to live! Review from Google
May 2017: Living at the village at science drive has made my college semesters easier in that I am able to get to campus on time and efficiently using their convenient shuttle system.The amenities offered to the residents, such as the gym and pool, are great for any downtime I may have. I have renewed my lease for another year because of the beautiful renovations and wonderful roommates I have acquired this year! Review from 5/12/17 on Google
May 2017: I have lived there for more than a year now. I really like the size and look of the apartment. Right now they're in the process of upgrading their looks which is pretty exciting. I like the staff members, I always feel welcomed when I drop by the office. I've had an encounter with one of the managers and she wasn't very nice but that was about it for the negative stuff. Unfortunately this year I was paired with the loudest, meanest roommates possible but the office was extremely helpful with that situation. Review from 5/11/17 on Google
May 2017: I'v been living in village at science drive almost 2 years and I am planning to live here for rest of my college years. I really like the floor plan, it has biggest bedroom around this area and private bathrooms. Office staffs are very nice and helpful. Parkings are free!! And recently they did the overall renovation in the apartment with wood floor and new appliances makes the apartment almost new. Review from 5/8/17 on Google
May 2017: I have now lived at the Village at Science Drive for a full year and I do not have many complaints. Any issues I have had have been resolved whether it have been through the office assistants or the higher up managers. The maintenance workers are very friendly and efficient, they sometimes take a while to fulfill our work orders but it just depends on how many they have. At the end of the day the work orders always get completed and are handled very professionally. I love living here and I would change it for a thing! I love my huge bedroom and huge walk in closet! Review from 5/3/17 on Google
Apr 2017: I greatly enjoy living at the Village. The location is perfect: very close to campus, the main road (Alafaya), but set back enough so it is quiet. The staff is very helpful and friendly and make sure your living arrangements are enjoyable. Parking is right outside your room as well, which is very beneficial. Love it! Review from 4/28/17 on Google

Back to Previous

UCF Apartments List The Village at Science Drive Ads & Subleases





About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap