select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu] The Retreat at Orlando ▷ Reviews

The Retreat at Orlando

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Oct 2018: Please check other places.before coming here. They are under new management and they have no clue what is going on. Move in day was absolutely exhausting trying to get someone to help with all the problems and filth that was left behind from previous tenants. Move in day should be fun and exciting, you should not have to spend your first day cleaning the whole house to make it liveble. As of yet, they have not taken care of all the problems. Review from Google
Oct 2018: House was dirty upon moving in- food still in kitchen, dead bugs under the stove and in the kitchen sink. Maintenance enters homes constantly WITHOUT notice. Yes the lease states that they can, but it is FAR too often. All of the houses residents have been startled/ frightened by this. They bang loudly on doors with ZERO respect for privacy or the individuals living there. Work orders aren't completed in a timely manner, if at all. But they have plenty of time to walk in unannounced looking for things wrong. How about we fix the 2 month old work order??!! Multiple phone calls to the office gets NOTHING resolved. I'm a parent and I wish I never moved my son into this trailer park they call luxury living!! Cannot wait until he can move out of The Retreat.
Oct 2018: It has been discovered that there is extensive mold growth in all of the duct work of my daughters residence. In speaking with the front office staff I was advised that the problem was discovered by the New Mangement Group when they took over the property. This indicates they new the mold existed when my daughter signed her lease and never disclosed this or fixed the problem . My daughter and her roommates have been sick with upper respiratory infections since moving in which sadly I attributed to her adjusting to a new school and location . I have made several attempts to contact management with no return calls-they are always unavailable . I believe the next step will be contacting my lawyer as no attempts have been made to clean the property and this is an unacceptable living condition that could affect her health for years to come . VERY D Review from Google
Oct 2018: Honestly I would avoid living here. The other reviews are right, these units are very overpriced and the roommate matching service is not the best and if you get a terrible roommate, they will let you switch just for an extra $250 on top of your rent! It’s pretty great. While the head manager was gone for a full week there was no way for the office to dispatch their security so if you had an issue such as a noise complaint or whatever it may have been there was no way for that to be taken care of. The security that I mention, I haven’t seen once within the three months that I’ve lived here. We do have a police officer living here but I haven’t seen him do anything either so don’t let them sell you on that because they do try to use it as a selling point. I will say that the new management does seem to be trying hard to clean up what Review from Google
Oct 2018: We live in a 4BR cottage where there is serious issues with one of the roommates and have been in the office last week looking for a resolution. They have done thing and now it is so escalated that we had to make arrangement over the weekend because we don’t feel safe. On Friday office visit with the leasing manager and several e-mails were sent on Friday for them to take action and respond. Well it’s Monday morning 10:00 am and have not heard anything from them. Mind you the General Manager hasn’t even reach out to us as I understand she is busy with vendors. It seems like her vendors are more important then her residents. I am boggle by the reviews I see which they all have the same common denominator the “New management”. Will not resolve your issue on hand once you have signed a lease and moved in. I will give them t Review from Google
Sep 2018: (1/2) Value: Last year I moved into a Springmore which is a 4/4.5. To start, the house is huge. The rooms are spacious with a large walk-in closet albeit a smaller bathroom. The living room is large with a large kitchen. It’s a newer property and the house more or less reflects that. The property, however, does not. Throughout the year there was trash nearly everywhere all over the complex, which is probably reflective of how this complex being majority Greek life and the result of the frequent parties that occur here. During my tour, I was assured that there would never be overages and that it’s typically uncommon for a house to go over the utility cap. That was a big lie. Every month I got overages ranging from $5-$35. One month it was so bad management sent out a mass email (a result of probably a lot of complaints) to the residents tr Review from Google
Sep 2018: I've only been living here for a week, but let me tell you... it REALLY isn't worth the exaggerated amount of money. - The cottages are decent, at BEST, but that's after you spend hours cleaning and making sure everything is good to go. Obviously, with the amount of cottages the staff isn't going to make sure every single one is in perfect condition, but that's to be expected because.. well, college kids lived here. - The "amenities" are overrated and not worth the price. Their biggest magnet is the pool, but even that isn't deeper than 6 ft. It IS cool, but you have to keep in mind that with amenities like these there's BOUND to be parties. - Roommate matching is a joke and the "personality quiz" they give is useless, but hey the majority of residents are college kids who go crazy with independence so you don't have a very diverse pool to Review from Google
Aug 2018: When I signed on with the Retreat back in April for the upcoming school year, I was *very clear* that I would be bringing my dog with me. I mentioned it even when I was touring, and was told that this was a pet friendly community and, as long as she met the requirements (under 80 or so pounds and not an aggressive breed) I shouldn’t have a problem. Well, my dog is 30 pounds and not on the breed restriction list so I assumed I’d be fine. I mentioned it again when I signed the lease, and filled out all the paperwork to register her. Despite all of this preparation on my part, the Retreat matched me with a roommate who had a severe dog allergy. This on its own wouldn’t have been a big deal, as my roommate contacted the Retreat as soon as she learned of this (around two months prior to moving in) and told them it was going to be a problem. P Review from Google
Aug 2018: This place is a joke. Beautiful pics online from when it was first opened but now looks like a bomb had hit it. Not kept up, overpriced and they take advantage of the students living there. Stay away! Review from Google
Aug 2018: Deserves 0 stars. Will pass problems on and on, no one responsible. Mom and Dad, don't let your kid rent here! And then you respond I should come in and then you'll help resolve? Seriously been down this road and you lie and pass it on to management who claims it's the ownership. .keep passing it along hoping your client gives up due to frustration. Everyone, rent somewhere else. Review from Google
Aug 2018: Lived here for a year. Was decent in the beginning but now since I’m out I think it’s time for an updated review. Honestly this place is full of douche bag college people, who don’t take other people into consideration. People who don’t even live there come and trash the place, and people hosting the party’s don’t clean up after their guests. Honestly, don’t do it. Review from Google
Aug 2018: Okay here’s the thing. The home itself is very nice and in all honesty I have enjoyed my time living here for the most part. My biggest problem however, is that the management really and truly treats the residents like children. I’ve had issues in the past to which employees have actually responded to with ‘because I said so’. I feel the employees here have no respect for their residents or the absurd about of money we pay. Review from Google
Aug 2018: This place is a scam, if you value your money go somewhere else. My sister applied and was given a lease to sign in March, but after signing she was denied a week later. We then followed their instructions to do this "lease lock" with a cosigner, me with over 700 credit, and she was denied again. So my sister then made other arrangements and guess what... she was suddenly approved 3 months later in June and they now want 250 dollars for her to get out of the lease she signed that she was not approved for. We've called multiple times and was explained "sorry she signed a lease so if she wants out she owes us $250 and if you don't pay it she is responsible for the entire year" Well how can she be responsible for a lease that she was told she was denied for twice? Just be aware part of the application is signing the lease itself, so they can deny Review from Google
Jun 2018: Contrary to what some of these reviews may say, the time I spent living at the retreat was pretty good. From the day I moved in, to the day I moved out, my room and cottage had no issues. Maybe some minor issues in the kitchen that took 3-4 days max to get resolved after I put in a maintenance request. The people at the front desk were great - Robert, Eric, and Alex to be specific Review from Google
Jun 2018: Great place to live! I have never had a problem with management or roommates/neighbors. Pool is amazing and all amenities live up to what they are suppose to. Fun young adult/ college students community. Great place to make life long friends and be a good starter for living on your own while going to school or working full time.
Jun 2018: Extremely expensive rent for all of the "luxury amenities" that never work. The houses are always trashed, the gym equipment is always broken, and the trash service is terrible. They regularly skip trash pick-ups leaving rotten, smelly trash outside everyone's unit. Inconsistent and expensive service!
May 2018: I have nothing but great things to say about all the staff that have helped me to fill out the application form and get my son accepted to lease a room. Such friendly people and so helpful and accommodating. Thank you Review from Google
Apr 2018: I love this community and i am so thrilled to be back! the staff is attentive and the community itself is super nice. The study rooms are genuinely worth using and the pool is always clean! Review from Google
Apr 2018: The owner and management intentionally prey on vulnerable college students looking to live in a "luxury" place. Dirty, unsafe, crime ridden and they win the award for having the most ignorant office staff ever. Beware!
Apr 2018: I love living at the retreat. My cottage is spacious and I really love the clubhouse that we have especially our study room and computer lab Review from Google
Apr 2018: Slow internet, not very secure random people that don't live here are always around. The facade of it being a supper high end place quickly wears off and your stuck facing the fact that this place is slowly going down hill and you pay way to much to live here. I honestly feel bad for maintenance who are consistently being told to try and fix things that just need to be complete thrown out and new ones purchased. I know people that have lived here for four years and will not be resigning next year, I will also not be resigning next year and I feel bad for anyone that is signing. Possibly worst of all the management is run by a bunch of people that apparently have no idea how to do literally anything, if you want anything done it would be more effective to wish upon a star or write a letter to Santa. Update October 17: It has now become an ant i Review from Google
Apr 2018: I could write a bunch of complaints but rn I'm pretty heated about the garbage internet here even with ethernet connection. I just tested my internet speed and my download speed is .07 mb/s and upload speed is 18.6 mb/s. Review from Google
Apr 2018: I had a great experience as a resident at The Retreat. However, once I moved out I experienced many issues with management. First there were ridiculous charges on my move-out statement. For example, they charged me for a gate clicker when I never even received a gate clicker. It took them months to correct the mistakes they made on my move out statement and give me my deposit back. My second issue is that they continued to leave my name on the apartment subsequent to me moving out, so I was was still being charged for utilities by SimpleBills. I called The Retreat several times to resolve this issue. Each time I called they told me they would take care of it and never did. At the end of the day they are out to get and keep your money. Management moves at the pace of a snail with no regards for your time or money. Yes I enjoyed living here, Review from Google
Feb 2018: You might be like me - your friends want an apartment not a house, but you don't like the drab look of the apartments closer to UCF. You're willing to sacrifice a longer commute for a beautiful Retreat apartment. And the apartments are beautiful. But it is not worth IT. Trash everywhere. Loud music every night. Anything you keep outside is liable to destruction. I once got a flat because I ran over a vodka bottle on the road. The services are inconsistent at best, especially trash collection, which makes it even more disgusting. The gym looked good to me, until i took a closer look and realized everything was broken. Also -slow-ass internet -ridiculous rent prices -incredible staff? no. I had a staff member living in the residence next to me and he vomited all over my porch -random shady middle aged men wandering around and playing basketball Review from Google
Feb 2018: Everyone is kind and easy to work with. If found that if you ask for descriptions any fees that you may not see (if you don’t actually read your lease), they will explain them to you. I really knew what I was getting into before I singed because they weren’t afraid to tell me what I was paying for. You just have to ask the right questions, and read the documents they give you. good luck! Review from Google

UCF Apartments List The Retreat at Orlando Ads & Subleases


About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap