select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]
The Grand 1501 ▷ Reviews
Back to Previous

The Grand 1501


Grade: of 72 reviews

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Jul 2019: This place has a crazy turnover rate for employees causing a lot of confusion for the residents. The facility is sub par and in need of major improvements. There was a manager named Allyson who cared and would do everything she could to straighten the mess and take care of the residents but she’s no longer there and it seems it’s just going back to constant turnover of management. I will not be resigning Review from Google
Jul 2019: This place has a crazy turnover rate for employees causing a lot of confusion for the residents. The facility is sub par and in need of major improvements. There was a manager named Allyson who cared and would do everything she could to straighten the mess and take care of the residents but she’s no longer there and it seems it’s just going back to constant turnover of management. I will not be resigning Review from Google
Jun 2019: we have lived here for three and a half year, since it was called Briarwood, since the couples who lived here got murdered, this place started to change its names like crazy. We are pretty content person, despite the murdered case, the slow response of maintenance, a few sour staffs, crazy neighbors (I have to call 911 many times to deal with them), we managed to endure. Recently, the management has changed again, and we want to talk to the new manger about renewing our lease, we were trying to move to a bigger unit, and we asked if it is possible to keep our existing per-square foot rate, she said she need to ask her manger, and it took about a week, during that time, we called, left her massages, emailed, my wife even went to the office a few times, the staff there told her to make appointment. Were we dealing with the government official or an apartment manager? So we think, it is really is the time for us to move on now. Review from Google
Jun 2019: we have lived here for three and a half year, since it was called Briarwood, since the couples who lived here got murdered, this place started to change its names like crazy. We are pretty content person, despite the murdered case, the slow response of maintenance, a few sour staffs, crazy neighbors (I have to call 911 many times to deal with them), we managed to endure. Recently, the management has changed again, and we want to talk to the new manger about renewing our lease, we were trying to move to a bigger unit, and we asked if it is possible to keep our existing per-square foot rate, she said she need to ask her manger, and it took about a week, during that time, we called, left her massages, emailed, my wife even went to the office a few times, the staff there told her to make appointment. Were we dealing with the government official or an apartment manager? So we think, it is really is the time for us to move on now. Review from Google
Jun 2019: EDIT NEW REVIEW Just moved out last week. Honestly, this whole apartment complex was a terror to deal with. As the weeks went on, I hated living here more and more. Management changed I think... 4 times? Or more? Since I moved here in August '17. New management seems capable. I hope they upgrade the appliances (they are old and barely work, and I never got my leaking fridge repaired after months of asking.) It's pretty dangerous around here, and I don't feel comfortable walking around alone at night. I think the complex has a lot of potential, but I can't give it a high rating as of now. It was an okay place to live fresh out of college, but it's not a permanent home. It was priced fairly, but I don't think I'd deal with them again Review from Google
Jun 2019: My sister and I lived here for 2 years and throughout the two years the management changed 4 times. We have since moved because they kept messing up our monthly payments and kept trying to charge us hundreds of extra dollars and we had to almost go to court to get things resolved. DO NOT LIVE HERE! If you want to constantly be fighting with the office over what you owe them then live here. We did summer storage where we would vacate the apartment and not re enter until our leave allowed up to again the following school year, when we left maintenance went in to do work and cranked the AC down and tried to charge us a $1500 electricity bill. It took the entire summer to get this issue resolved and the problems just kept poring in. Again don’t live here, the apartment was nice for the price we were paying(has since gone up) but that was about the only nice thing about living here. Review from Google
May 2019: (Mane) What can I say, in spite of reading all the bad reviews. I moved in this place anyway, and you know that sheet of paper they give you the fill out, when you first move in, so you can let them know what's wrong with the apartment. So they can fix it. Well on my day one fix it sheet, I let them know that the bathtub paint was peeling on the inside. Sounds easy enough to me, sorry Mr. Bausley that unit wasn't ready we'll move you over here. But no it's been two months and I am still in the same apartment. I've been here for 2 months and can't take a bath because the paint is peeling on the inside of the tub. Review from Google
Apr 2019: New review: These apartments are no longer worth living in. They fired the only maintenance worker who was even halfway decent at his job. They refuse to do anything about a pest problem they were told about half a year ago, and the mailboxes are now being vandalized on a semi-nightly basis. Old review: The majority of the negative reviews I'm seeing on here are from people who either don't know, or don't understand that the ownership of the property has changed hands. The water issue was incredibly unusual, and was caused by the prior owners who did not care to fix it since they were selling the property anyways. I've never waited more than 24 hours for maintenance that was actually required here. Review from Google
📃 News and FAQs Snippet
General Topics and Questions

What is individual leasing? With Individual Leases, YOU are only responsible for YOUR (or your students) rent. You arent liable for your roommates rent at all! Unlike a traditional lease or a joint lease, if your roommate transfers, graduates, or fails to pay his...read more

Cheaper On or Off Campus? The question if it is cheaper to live on or off campus comes up all of the time. The general answer is off campus. While price wise off campus is almost always is cheaper, you must keep in mind what you are giving u...read more

Mar 2019: I have lived here for a year, excel properties use to own it and now it’s owned by ConAm. Absolutely no concern for tenants. Management is perfectly fine with people smoking in their places even though the walls are paper thin and the ventilation system is shared. I don’t wanna come home after a long day to a damn ash tray of a house, or leave for work in clothes that reek. The smell is God awful and it’s making my girlfriend incredibly sick. I called the office to complain and the manager told me, “yeah that’s fine, we aren’t a non smoking complex and if it’s really bothering you, put something in the vents to block it” What kind of solution is that? I haven’t felt that dismissed since grade school. This is no way to treat renters. Second hand smoke is dangerous and so is third hand environmental contamination. They do not care about tenants at all! Do not rent here unless you love second hand smoke and being talked to like you’re a first grader! Review from Google
Oct 2018: I lived in there for 1 year. Staffs are always rude except for one man. I felt they are not willing to be at work. Please educate with staffs how to treat and deal with people, customers with smile and greeting. You are the person working in service field. Review from Google
Jun 2017: Is or was owned by BH Management, at this point we can't tell. They have completely abandoned this apartment complex. They shut down the website, made it hard to pay bills or even know what we owe on utilities, made it impossible to contact maintenance even with an emergency. I never really had a problem with this apartment all year, you do certainly get what you paid for, I'm under the impression my problem is squarely with BH Management, I'll never stay in one of their properties again. Review from 6/13/17 on Google
May 2017: My roommate and I are easy to get along with, don't cause trouble, and can deal with most things, because that's a part of life. BUT THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. It all started before we even moved in. We were about to move in, and the paperwork wasn't finished. What? They assumed the lease was finished, but it wasn't. The place needed to be cleaned was well, which should have been taken care of before we moved in. There was a small hole in the front door and wood from the bottom of the door had curled up. Ok, they'll fix it, they said. 2 weeks they said. It was more like 3 months. If the contractor you usually work with can't do it at that time, then hire someone else. The apartment also smelled like smoke (neither my roommate or I smoke or appreciate the smell) for a good 2 months after we moved in. Review from 5/8/17 on Google
May 2017: It all started before we even moved in. We were about to move in, and the paperwork wasn't finished. What? They assumed the lease was finished, but it wasn't. The place needed to be cleaned was well, which should have been taken care of before we moved in. There was a small hole in the front door and wood from the bottom of the door had curled up. Ok, they'll fix it, they said. 2 weeks they said. It was more like 3 months. If the contractor you usually work with can't do it at that time, then hire someone else. The apartment also smelled like smoke (neither my roommate or I smoke or appreciate the smell) for a good 2 months after we moved in. This place is old and has old place problems. Maintenance was okay for most other things though, responded in a timely manner to leaks and such. don't rent from a place that thinks they can paint over their problems. The wall
Dec 2016: I had an amazing experience with the staff in the office. I was greeted as soon as I walked in the door by a leasing agent named Taylor! She was super helpful and showed me around the place. Ended up signing a lease! Kim the manager was super helpful also! Highly recommend you to deal with either one of them! Review from Google
Nov 2016: Worst apartment ever the staff at the office is so rude never want to help with anything . The grounds are nice and it stays pretty quiet but there are always cops being called for something . Overall it would be great with a new office staff. Review from 11/19/16 on Apartment Ratings
Nov 2016: The complex has tennis, volleyball, and basketball courts and on-site maintenance staff. The bust runs every 7 minutes. It is pet-friendly and the rent includes Internet and cable. (Resident review 11/9/2016)
Nov 2016: I had the worst experience with office personnel at plantation oaks. They beat around the bush, were very vague with me and my roommate and basically tried to screw me into paying 2X what I would have normally paid for rent. I'm a sophomore in college with very little experience in renting apartments. The office used my lack of knowledge to their advantage and even lied to me and my roommate. They WILL try to intimidate you if they know you're young like me. One manager even got quite an attitude with me while discussing an issue over the phone. I would not recommend this place to anyone. If I were to rate this place 1-10 it would be a .2. Review from Google
Jun 2016: The management of plantation oaks is terrible. Do you know how they make money? Not just from the rents, but also from many different types of unexpected fees. Trust me, even if you make the payment on the first day every month. They are still able to add unexpected and unreasonable fees in your account. What is more, they usually fake your signature on the lease in order to "save some time" (adding additional $10~$20 to your monthly payment without telling you.) There are also many hidden deadlines. Since they never send you any earlier notice, they will directly charge you for "violating the deadline" (as if you are at fault or something). In fact, most residents will get many unexpected charges when moving out. Review from Google
Jun 2016: I currently live here and just renewed my contract because I don't want to move. Here are a few good things and bad thing about the apartment, at least for what I experienced for past one year. Good things: 1. Staff are kind, especially maintenance people. Quick response to the problems and professional fix. 2. Leasing office opens seven days a week. If you are busy like me, barely have time during the weekdays, you can do your business on weekends. 3. Efficiency type is good for singles. Now the bad things: The apartment is old, and this bring series of problems. 1. Electricity bill is high due to poor wall insulation. 2. Water leaks every two three months. Once in a while I get a puddle of water on my floor. 3. AC unit for efficiency type has a dumb controlling system. Review from 6/9/16 on Google
Feb 2016: DO NOT MOVE HERE! i have lived here for 3 years and the staff comes and goes. and most of there are rude and act like they dont wanna be at work. i have had drunk neighbors try to walk into my apartment and the office acted like they didnt care. i have had a pitbull attack my husband and pitbulls are not allowed? so it would seem rules dont apply to everyone. the pipes under my sink have leaked on 5 different occasions and all that was done was a temporary fix. when it rains it come in under the door and floods my living room. while the maintenance staff is friendly some act like they truly dont know what they are doing. the pool is almost always closed during the summer because they are maintained. Review from 2/25/16 on Google
Oct 2015: Very friendly staff, on the University bus route. For short stays they provide fully furnished apartments all bills paid. Plenty of parking space. Some traffic noise is heard inside. Laundry facilities are clean and have plenty of capacity. Review from 10/7/15 on Apartment Ratings
Sep 2015: When I first moved in, I was quite satisfied with this apartment. But now I don't recommend it. The biggest problem is the communication. Office staffs are not very nice and not very helpful either. I would move to another place, if my contract was finished. Review from 9/25/15 on Apartment Ratings
Sep 2015: Just moved in, it is good so far. I Would expect the office team to be more responsive. The community has all the amenities but are not in good condition. The gym lacks many weights and workout equipment, and one needs to be very resourceful to get their workout done. Review from 9/1/15 on Apartment Ratings
Jun 2015: Even giving them one star is more than they deserve. I currently live here and I WILL NOT renew my lease. Starting from the first day I moved in 06/01/2015 it was a puddle of water in my bathroom floor because the AC in the ceiling leaks. Next the insulation SUCKS! Whatever the temperature is outside.. Times that by two and that's the temperature in your home. I was NEVER at home during the summer time because I was at work and my AC was only turned on when I got home... Which was after 6pm and turned off around 5am and some kind of way my bill was always $200. No matter how much I DIDNT run the AC. There are dogs that are not allowed... Are indeed on the premises. EVERY MONTH the water is turned off for some type of maintenance going on and it's turned off for the entire day! Not cool when it's 100 degrees outside. Review from 3/15/16 on Google

Back to Previous

TAMU The Grand 1501 Ads & Subleases





About Us | Premium Ads | Sitemap