select
college
Post An Ad
or Sublease
[help and menu]

Apartment Reviews

on LiveSomeWhere.com



Back to Previous

Gateway at Tempe


Grade: of 44 reviews

If 👍positive review, suggest some similar apartments if any.

If 👎negative review, please suggest others that people can check out.

🤖 Check I'm not a robot

Hi, Loading...

Aug 2020: My son paid his move in rent, a security deposit to start his senior year at ASU living at this complex. He arrived to a room with a gross stained mattress, unsanitized dirty bathroom, missing closet rod, and old belongings from the previous tenant. Absolutely unacceptable especially during this pandemic where health and safety is priority. He obviously couldn’t move in and had to sleep in his car!!!! Numerous complaints to management And formal complaints on the student portal with pictures to prove. No one in the leasing office to help on premise. Next step is calling our attorney. School starts on Thursday and my son is now displaced with no accountability from Gateway.
Sep 2019: Only bad things to say about our “new” apartment, most amenities are either scratched or broken and there are layers of dust covering the edges of the entire apartment in every room. To name some flaws, fan and light for stove are broken, fridge rubber sealant is broken, microwave is extremely worn down and does not cook thoroughly, 2 lights in the living room area do not work, and there was garbage left behind the washer and dryer. My room does not lock, someone came up to fix it and it was not fixed at all. They had also said that someone would come up and clean our apartment but no one came and nothing else has been done about this problem. I have put maintenance requests in and no one has showed up within a week. Photos are shown below. Review from Google
Sep 2019: Stay away from this place at all costs possible. Management has no idea what's going on here. The maintenance team, when you can finally get them to come to your apartment, doesn't actually fix anything; they just put a bandaid over the wound and go on their merry way. We were without hot water for 10 days before we could get maintenance to come fix it. When they finally did, the hot water continued to go out. Their solution? Teach their tenants how to reset the breaker for the water heater since corrosion on the water heater causes the breaker to trip every few hours. It was more than a mistake signing a lease with this apartment community. Review from Google
Sep 2019: I am currently living here for two years, There were two packages that I have sent to the office. The office notified me by email and phone that the packages were arrived but keep claiming that the packages did not exist, and there is nothing they can do about it. After this they just written down in the system that I have successfully received the package without my acknowledgement. I've strongly believe that they receive the package because the carrier notified me that I have a packaged delivered and after that day I received the phone message from Gateway at Tempe. They must've put the delivered packages in the wrong place. I don't blame the employees working at the counter because they are just being paid to do their work, but the service at Gateway at Tempe is really bad, and employees are very irresponsible. Review from Google
Jul 2019: their pool is dirty - they dont clean it. young people always are partying hard and loud at the pool. hot tub jets dont work. several tenants have asked office to fix -never gets done. Review from Google
Jul 2019: -----DO NOT LIVE HERE------ This property management team is a bunch of crooks who will screw you any chance they get. Highly advise avoiding this trap. Review from Google
Jul 2019: -----DO NOT LIVE HERE------ This property management team is a bunch of crooks who will screw you any chance they get. Highly advise avoiding this trap. Review from Google
Jun 2019: I have just signed and lease But I am thinking to cancel it for several reasons. They will ask you to sign a lease of 12 months but actually you will be allowed to live only for 11 months. your lease will start on 08/18/2019 and will end 07/25/2020 and you will pay for 12 months which is weird. You will probably be homeless for more than three weeks to start your new lease 08/18/2020. It sucks. The staff seems to be nice though. The amenities are fine. Review from Google
📠 Office Pricing and Availability

📈 Market Trends

📃 News and FAQs Snippet
ASU Related Topics and Questions

I am a transfer student to ASU, do I need to stay on campus? No, as a transfer student, you can live off campus. As long as you have enough credits, you are given the choice....read more

Where are water, TPs, and sanitizers? Please help others. Hi everyone, https://www.livesomewhere.com/communities/uploadedpbi/fl/2013-jul-21/cr10/pb20/sec421/21587njpg To help minimize people driving to stores and it already sold out, if you or someon...read more

Jun 2019: Air conditioning has been malfunctioning in 100 degree weather so I put in a request and maintenance still hasn’t came. I was also getting bed bug bites and talked to Melanie from the front desk but she was very unprofessional and never wrote it in the system so I had to wait days for the bug guy to come. The only gates that work are the ones you drive through and those are broken half the time. I’ve been told many wrong/different answers to the same question by staff. They also bribe residents for 5 star reviews so keep that in mind when reading these. Good things include the pool is nice (when it’s open), pet friendly, location, and price is decent. Review from Google
May 2019: I've emailed numerous times to get assistance and they never respond. They also bribe residents with stuff to leave good reviews so take that into consideration when reading the 5 stars. There are thieves all over this complex to. Gates broken. They never given out the gate code which makes delivery hard to come by. They say they only give out to employees but that's bs... parents do your kids a favor and stay away. When first moved in I put in a request for new carpet as the room had burn holes and stains on it. They changed the flooring in every other room but the one requested. Remodeled cabinets are just the old cabinets painted dark brown with new doors on them. And for at least a year the gates to the back park have been broken and are left unsecured allowing any of the many homeless or druggies at the park behind us to come in freely. Just don't move here is my piece of advice, nothing but headaches and regrets. Review from Google
May 2019: I've emailed numerous times to get assistance and they never respond. They also bribe residents with stuff to leave good reviews so take that into consideration when reading the 5 stars. There are thieves all over this complex to. Gates broken. They never given out the gate code which makes delivery hard to come by. They say they only give out to employees but that's bs... parents do your kids a favor and stay away. When first moved in I put in a request for new carpet as the room had burn holes and stains on it. They changed the flooring in every other room but the one requested. Remodeled cabinets are just the old cabinets painted dark brown with new doors on them. And for at least a year the gates to the back park have been broken and are left unsecured allowing any of the many homeless or druggies at the park behind us to come in freely. Just don't move here is my piece of advice, nothing but headaches and regrets. Review from Google
May 2019: Dont move here if you plan to use the pool. It's always closed for one reason or another. The rooms are okay for student living but you pay a good amount to have nice amenities that cant always be used. Review from Google
May 2019: Dont move here if you plan to use the pool. It's always closed for one reason or another. The rooms are okay for student living but you pay a good amount to have nice amenities that cant always be used. Review from Google
Apr 2019: Staff is friendly, which is nice. What comes really really ridiculous is “If you have a social security number, then you are not qualified as an international applicant”!!!!! Follow-up: The property just keeps calling me, which I already told them to withdraw my application twice!! I am sad that they don’t even know me. I contacted them lots of times. They should have known my situation instead just calling me for some general stuff!!!!! Review from Google
Feb 2019: Since it’s gone under new management, Gateway has improved a lot! I’ve lived here for two years and wouldn’t change my decision. Maintenance is always very fast, efficient, and friendly, and our furniture in the furnished apartment has held up really well (and beds are very comfy!). Facilities are nice with the gym and pool. It’s an old apartment so of course there are some issues sometimes, but the location is great, it’s relatively cheap, and the staff is great.
Dec 2018: I was suspicious and a little skeptical when I moved in due to the old reviews. But honestly, this was a great decision. The management is responsive and cares about residents. Friendly staff and great amenities in such a cheap price. Highly recommended! Review from Google
Dec 2018: Huge bug problem. “Itchy” is apart of my personality now. It has a nice pool. Management is awful. They never answer their emails or help you with any issues. Maitence guys are the sweetest. The prices might seem appealing, but it’s not worth it. Review from Google
Nov 2018: If you're Amish this is a great place to live! Never any pesky internet connection to worry about. would recommend if you like homeless people wandering around because the gates never close and there's a great community of cockroaches and stray animals! Review from Google
Nov 2018: Do not live here! There is a huge bug problem -they will offer a bug terminator to come spray though this will not get rid of the bug problem in these units. There are more places worth your money and comfortability in the area. The electricity bill is distributed evenly between roommates and still comes out to the same price as an actual decent apartment. These 5 star reviews are a joke. Review from Google
Jul 2018: This place is an over priced garbage complex. My roommate and I both pay almost $900 per month for an apartment with 2 leaking sinks, a dryer that doesnt work properly, and cabinets that are falling apart. the carpets and cabinets look like they havent been renovated in 10 years. You can vacuum a hundred times (i even used carpet cleaner all over my room) and the floor is still disgusting. When new management took over, they did a walk through of our apartment and asked if there was anything that needed to be fixed. I specifically told them about the dryer and the leaky sinks. She assured me something would be done about it but nothing ever was. They won't give you the gate code so if you have friends or family coming to visit you, you literally either have to walk all the way to the front to let them in or they have to just wait for someb Review from Google
Jul 2018: This is a very nice place to live. I have only been here a month and I really like it. Manager Jose and his assistant Nicole do a very good job running the place. Its clean, very affordable, safe and close to the light rail. Pool, computer lab, gym, and pet friendly. Review from Google
Jun 2018: If you read my original review I apologize. Since they have changed management this place is now amazing. Jose (the property manager) Alex at the front desk, and Zack are amazing. They have improved this place so much and deserve credit. Don’t listen to the bad reviews. The new staff is great and I wish I could live here again! Review from Google
Jun 2018: Can’t believe this even earned 2.8 stars. I’ll make this as short as I can with hitting all the points. Moved in: first thing I saw was our patio filled with all the old couches and boxes since ours was “renovated.” Walk in cockroach crawling across the sink, crumbs on the table in the living room. Half of the cabinets were missing, we had no blinds, gates were broken open for the first three months. Air conditioning stopped working for a few days in August when it was over 110 degrees outside. Didn’t have a microwave which is supposed to be included so if I wanted to heat something up I had to wait until the front office opened every day. Told them three times and they did nothing. Finally I called my mom and she had to drive 45 minutes to bring us one just so we could eat. First time we tried to use the drying machine it caught on Review from Google
May 2018: Great place to live while going to school. Close to the Tempe campus, orbit shuttle and bus stops within easy walking distance. Gated access, utilities and internet included. Maintenance team is quick to respond to work orders. Highly recommended. Review from Google
Mar 2018: Changing my review to 3 stars. Maybe 3.5 if I could. Since the change in management I think they're starting to get a grip on things. It takes some persistence to get something done if it's urgent, but that's somewhat characteristic of most apartments. Especially student ones. If you are really unhappy with your experiences, and are justified in that, they will do what is reasonable to fix it. ***Really go through everything when you move in and get everything that's gross/broken replaced or noted! CHECK EVERYTHING!!! Literally pretend you are a spy and check every crack and corner. I found a horrendous amount of lint (or something) in my bathroom wall cabinet in the cracks of the corners because it isn't flush to itself. But if you get on them about an issue they'll get it fixed in a reasonably timely manner. Jose, the property manager, is h Review from Google

Back to Previous

If you like Gateway at Tempe reviews or think they are acceptable, check out Gateway at Tempe ad or sublease descriptions.

If you would like to see other apartments or properties before making a decision, check out these apartments near ASU.

Page One Reviews | Next Page Reviews, Page 2





About Us | For Apartment Managers | Sitemap